Books That Matter: The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gibbon's " Decline & Fall of the Roman Empire" Magnificent analysis of Edward Gibbon's "The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire". Professor Leo Damrosch reveals how the Enlightenment of the 18th Century influenced Gibbon's view of the Roman Empire and places the book in its time. Nice summations of many chapters of this massive work. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2020-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific! What a terrific, balanced, thoughtful and thought-provoking course. Definitely one of my favorite Great Courses so far. It really deepened my understanding of both the Roman Empire (etc.) and Enlightenment thought. "Decline and Fall" covers such a large period of history, the course can't really go in depth in covering all of it, so it would likely be difficult to digest everything if you don't have some grounding in at least some of it, but the course did give me some incredibly valuable perspectives that I deeply missed in many of the more standard history courses. It was a pleasure from beginning to end. I would love to see more courses from Damrosch.
Date published: 2020-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great overview of an important book Great and thorough oversight of a classic book, giving you the man and his opus. I learned a lot, particularly as to why Gibbons' book was so anti-Christian.
Date published: 2020-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was a History major many years ago, but never had a chance to Really get into Roman history. Now I do. Great Course's DVD and small book with it are bringing in an immense amount of detail that I never knew about this part of the world. Thank you, Great Courses. I'll always be buying your various subjects, but especially, History.
Date published: 2020-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from History as Literature Professor Damrosch provides an overview of Gibbon as a person and as a historian that helps orient us to the way Gibbon approaches -- and interprets -- his effort to cover more than 1,200 years that spanned the "golden age" of Rome to the final fall of the Eastern Roman Empire late in the 15th century. His lectures make it clear that Gibbon was a remarkable writer whose language repeatedly enchants and draws in the reader. I confess that I am now actually inclined to read the work for myself, despite the fact that it is thousands of pages long. After all, I am currently slogging through the thousands of pages of Livy's History of Rome, and I have read -- and deeply enjoyed -- the 11,000 page history by Will and Ariel Durant, "The History of Civilization." I have avoided doing so before this because I was under the (mistaken) impression that many of Gibbon's interpretations had been exposed as biased by later historians. Professor Damrosch does not shrink from speaking of the inevitable shortcomings that Gibbon, indeed, any writer inevitably brings to the table -- points of view, even prejudices, that -- common to a specific time and place -- are somewhat invisible to the writer. Thus Gibbon, very much a child of the Enlightenment, joins his personal inclination to regard "history" as primarily the story of what great leaders and generals have accomplished (he writes relatively little of the common person nor of larger cultural developments, for instance). He also, like many of his educated colleagues, regards "religion" as generally a weakness, one that not only reveals the superstition(s) of the believer but which also, all too frequently, lamentably causes waves of persecutions against those that some regard as "heretics" or "infidels." It is also very clear, however, that so many "religious" figures throughout history have behaved abominably, even towards many of their co-believers, and the period covered by Gibbon's work includes many of the worst examples of these. Nonetheless, with these and other reservations allowed for, Damrosch convincingly insists that Gibbon's work remains a towering work of both history and literature. Gibbon worked tirelessly to establish the factual basis on what he wrote, and willingly quoted earlier writers whom he regarded as trustworthy in their account of their own times. Lastly, I concur with Damrosch's closing comments in which he said that the decline and fall of the Roman Empire (east and west) was both a transformation and an ending. Many of the invading tribes in the West did settle down and maintain many of the administrative and cultural aspects of the former empire, thus becoming inheritors of much that the empire represented. But it was also a time of definite changes that marked significant endings: dramatic decline in trade and literacy, increased instability and violence, and vast dislocations of whole peoples. For anyone interested either in Gibbon's masterwork or in the period, I highly recommend this course.
Date published: 2019-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great presenter I have many, many Great Courses. This one, as many others, is so fine. I love his presentation of information! So much great text and maps, and an English major’s mind. So fine.
Date published: 2019-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Triumph This course is a triumph. It is brilliantly conceived and executed. Gibbon’s “Decline and Fall” is one of those books that every educated person has heard of but few have read. I myself simply do not have the time or the motivation to read all six volumes, but I wanted to have some sense of its majesty and importance. Several years ago I read an abridged, one volume condensation of it and was able to get a sense of Gibbon’s incomparable style and erudition. This course fills in all the gaps for a pseudo-scholar like me. Professor Damrosch gives us the background of the book, a biography of the remarkable and quirky man who wrote it, and a very clear guiding hand through its thousands of pages. Along the way he points out Gibbon’s biases, comments on his use of sources, explains the late eighteenth century context of Gibbon’s British world, defines some of the terms he uses, and, of course, summarizes the events Gibbon catalogues. This course is far superior to one of the other “books that matter” items in the Teaching Company catalogue. The course on Augustine’s “City of God” was a huge disappointment as discussed in my review of that course. Since Professor Damrosch is a scholar of eighteenth century English writers, I would love to see him do a course on Edmund Burke’s “Reflections on the Revolution in France.” That is another famous work of that period that I have tried to read but had trouble making my way in it. I think Professor Damrosch could make it understandable even to me.
Date published: 2019-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from one of the best the Great Courses offers I've listened to about 50 sets of Great Courses lectures on history, and this is my favorite. The subject matter is inherently interesting: an overview of the one of the greatest works of history and literature by a master stylist about the most interesting story in Western Civilization. Professor Damrosch's lecturing style is mellifluous, with a dry wit appropriate for discussing Gibbon, and he does an excellent job of excerpting, selecting, and condensing a voluminous work. The criticism that this is not focused on the historical details is unfair in my view. I've listened to some excellent lectures about Rome by Professor Fagan and others, but these lectures are attempting to do more than that. They are appreciating a witty and learned work which presents a very big picture of Western history. It's impossible to do that and provide the comprehensive detail that some other lectures provide. Both approaches are valuable. If these lectures don't inspire you to spend a significant chunk of your life reading Gibbon, listening to them is the next best thing. On the perennial question of format, I listened to these lectures on audio CD, as I like to do driving. They worked great. I don't see the need for DVD's unless you prefer watching lectures on television. If some maps are provided, and I don't know because I haven't watched it, they're really not necessary if you have basic geographical literacy.
Date published: 2019-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thoroughly enjoyable and informative I am more an enthusiast of history than a student of it. I simply want to say that I was enjoyably entertained not just by what I learned about Roman history, but also by what I learned about the historian Gibbon and some of the colorful people around him. Lastly, although Professor Damrosch's visible (bodily) presentation style was one of the least active I can recall seeing (but not detrimentally so), his vocal style and use of visual aids were distinct value-adds to the course. Many thanks to him for sharing his enthusiasm for Gibbon and his book with those of us fortunate enough to have purchased this course.
Date published: 2019-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent classes It keeps an old man’s mind active & expands my interests.
Date published: 2019-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent review of the work. Enjoyed the course thoroughly. I have read the first volume of Gibbons work and now excited to read the rest.
Date published: 2019-02-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Glorified Book Report The professor simply gave a "book report" on a book written by Gibbons. He added very little of his own knowledge. I have taken many course from The Great Courses and this was the only one I was disappointed in.
Date published: 2019-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It truly is a book that matters This course is excellent. It's clear that Professor Damrosch has studied Gibbon and The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire in depth and he conveys his insights well. He makes a fair and balanced presentation.
Date published: 2019-01-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from history of the decline and fall of the roman empir too academic--like college lecture. expected more 'history channel' type presentation. returned (with no problem)
Date published: 2019-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great compacting of a massive work Leo Damrosch takes one on an admirable jaunt through the massive, and depressive, Decline and Fall. I found most helpful his successful attempt at recreating Gibbon's own viewpoints and attitudes towards the different subjects and peoples he covers.
Date published: 2018-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb course Professor Damrosch is a superior lecturer. He is engaging and brings the course to life. This was a topic of which I thought I was familiar but the amount of knowledge I learned from this course was immense. I particularly liked the way he was able to clearly demonstrate how Gibbons literary talents were essential to gaining a clearer understanding of the history. Highly recommended! This is one of the best of over 100 Teaching Co. Courses I have taken.
Date published: 2018-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent presentation Well researched and presented in an intellectual and interesting fashion. Would recommend this to anyone who wants a summary of the Decline and Fall without reading the text and also to get additional opinions about the author and the importance of the work.
Date published: 2018-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great overview with right amount of depth Completed 1/2 of course. Excellent presenter. I am thoroughly enjoying this course and am now ready to read my father's copy of Decline & Fall of the Roman Empire.
Date published: 2018-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from History and literature by through teacher the professor provides a great, in-depth look at Gibbon's classic work, looking at it as literature and a work of history. If Prof. Damrosch is not the most exciting lecturer, he is through, balanced and eminently listenable. I appreciate the summary chapter; too many course, in my view, simply end without a summing up. Prof. Damrosch admirably summed up Gibbon's great work and put it in a modern perspective.
Date published: 2018-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great course for Roman Empire buffs I read "The Decline & Fall" many years ago, so this course was a review. Prof. Damrosch has an interesting presentation style that made my revisiting of the subject matter very enjoyable. Also, I appreciated the commentaries of other historians that he presents and discusses, most of which I was not aware of. As is now accepted, no one has done the decline and fall better than Gibbon, and Prof. Damrosch shows why.
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inspiring presentation. Upped my interest in the subject to verging on passion. After 6 decades of threatening to read The Decline and Fall, it shall now become a fact.
Date published: 2018-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Literature and History in One In my youth, I relied on “Classics Illustrated” to catch up on books I didn’t have the time (or inclination) to read. Now, in my decline, I rely on The Great Courses. Although I own a beautiful Folio Society set of Gibbon, I have not yet gotten beyond the occasional perusal of a page or two. Professor Damrosch has done me a favor by surveying Gibbon’s masterwork in 24 lectures, providing biographical information on the author, context for the work’s publication, and best of all, a summary of the contents. So in essence, this is both a literature and a history course. The Prof discusses Gibbon’s strong points and also his blind spots, and peppers his lectures with quotes that provide a good idea of Gibbon’s mastery of English. (His comparison of Gibbon to Churchill’s histories made me realize where Winston had learned his craft.) I followed the audio version of the course, which seemed perfectly adequate to me. The professor’s delivery was easy to follow, and his style was pleasant to listen to. I may actually give old Gibbon a try one of these days, using Prof. Damrosch’s course book as a guide.
Date published: 2018-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Understanding European History Beginning with the Antonines in A.D. 96 and continuing through the Council of Constance in A.D. 1417, Professor Damosch illuminates Gibbon's "The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire." Not only is this a grand review of Gibbon's books, but it traces the formation of modern Europe from the expansion of Roman states and civilization of the Huns, Goths, and Vandals by the Romans and in conflict with the Romans. Gibbon devotes much of his writing to the formation of the Christian Church through the conversion of Constantine, and the formation of Islam through the visions of Mohammed. Many names of characters of history became real through Gibbon's descriptions of the persons and their activities. Formation of the Byzantine Empire is one of the central features of the book; the Crusades are described in an understandable way. From the title: "Decline and Fall..." Gibbon traces the gradual collapse of the greatest empire to exist after the Egyptian and Greek civilizations. The Roman Empire flourished because of strong leadership; the Roman Empire declined and collapsed because of lack of talented leaders, and extending its boundaries beyond the ability of the Empire to support armines and supplies, and assimilation of different peoples into the Empire. Gibbon's book has contemporary relevance. One has to ask about successful assimilation of different people into the United States and countries in Europe. One has to ask about expanding a nation's influence into other countries that have different values, ethics, religions, and cultures. Professor Damrosch presents the material in a compelling way. He is articulate and knowledgeable of his subject. I did not want this course to end. The course guidebook is one of the best I have used with a Great Course. It can be a stand-alone reference on the subject.
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from History of the Decline & Fall of the Roman Empire I have watched the video, but haven't completed the reading yet. I got the book, not only the one that goes with the video. I am enjoying both. I like to read, so that's why I got the big book for $25. The author, Gibbons, has certain biases, which does make me wonder how honest the whole thing is. For example, he obviously hates Christianity, especially the Catholic Church and the Pope. One might almost believe during that part of the lecture that Gibbons blames the fall of Rome on the Church. I am a Catholic myself and am very fond of the Pope, but in some ways, I can see Gibbons point. It's the control thing. Who's in charge? Also, early Christianity was very biased. If not a Christian and later a Catholic, one was in serious trouble in the Roman Empire. The lecturer, Professor Damrosch, makes this exceedingly clear. He also goes into Gibbons' other biases. It's worth the read, even if it takes me awhile.
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A master of the content and context This was my 64th "Great Courses" class. (Really!) I have taken several on the period of history covered by "The Decline and Fall" by Gibbon, so I knew the underlying history pretty well. Professor Damrosch is a master of both the history and the book - so much so that he is at ease with the material, and can pause at any moment to add insight. The professor did a great job explaining why the book mattered so much then, and why it still does today. I think people should listen to this class if they are interested in the historical period that is covered, and especially if they have even the slightest interest in the book itself.
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Concisely well exlained! After finishing this course, I purchased whole books of Gibbon's Roman History from Amazon (hard cover 6 volumes) set and also Kindle books. So, it was good introduction to me. Professor convinced me that this classic worth to read completely. He was so good, so I purchased his 3 other biography books.
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good way to prepare to read Gibbon's masterpiece Gibbon’s epic work is still considered one of the most important works and this course tells you why. Profesor Damrosch did a good job at trying to compressive the six volumes in Gibbon’s series. It is a lot of information and time for him to cover but the professor only cherry-picked certain moments that best shows of Gibbon’s work as a writer and historian. I had only read an abridged version of Gibbon’s work so this course exposed me to the work as a whole. I wanted to watch this course before I read the entire series. I feel that this course has prepared me for that eventual goal of mine and I recommend anyone else who wants to try it as well.
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Six Star Course. Five is inadequate. Superb. Best of the eight or so I've gone through so far. Wide ranging, deep, smart, a "heavy," in the best sense. Rich and packed with...everything...by a master. No wonder the Professor gathered in many awards. Great Courses was lucky to get him, and I was lucky to hear him. A Six Star course, as I said above.
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Couldn't be much duller I read The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire years ago. I bought this course hoping for something a lot livelier to engage my mind. Since this course is so academic, a review should include a grade. My grade is a D. I'm not surprised that a Harvard prof is academic in the worst sense. Leo Damrosch is a poor public speaker, droning on intellectually. The presentation has lots of text on the screen, with a disembodied voice reading aloud. I think every viewer wants to experience some sense of history as it happened, not a dissertation. The professor could have TRIED to be dynamic. Wearing a few Roman costumes would have been much better than having to stare at his shirt and tie all of the time.
Date published: 2018-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Insightful, well delivered, it was truly a great course. Not to miss if you are interested European history.
Date published: 2017-12-17
  • y_2021, m_4, d_21, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_75
  • loc_en_CA, sid_3450, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6.59ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Books That Matter: The History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire
Course Trailer
The Greatness of Gibbon's Decline and Fall
1: The Greatness of Gibbon's Decline and Fall

Ground your understanding of Gibbon's masterpiece with this helpful introductory lecture. Why was Rome so important to Gibbon and his readers? What makes the periodic style so essential to the Decline and Fall's accessibility? Why should we want to read it today in the 21st century?

32 min
The Making of Gibbon the Historian
2: The Making of Gibbon the Historian

Follow Edward Gibbon's intellectual development: his childhood obsession with reading, his military service, his disappointed love, his social circles, his personal politics, and his life as a "gentleman scholar of leisure." Your primary source for this biographical study: fragments from Gibbon's posthumously published Memoirs.

29 min
The Empire at Its Beginning
3: The Empire at Its Beginning

Before plunging into the Decline and Fall, which starts in the second century A.D., you need a little background in early Roman history. Professor Damrosch reviews the Empire's important provinces (including their strange names), the excessive influence of the Roman military, the emergence of imperial dictatorship, and other facts Gibbon's original readers took for granted.

30 min
The Theory and Practice of History
4: The Theory and Practice of History

It's no accident that the Decline and Fall survives as a great work of history. Here, explore how Gibbon understood the role of the historian; consider what he thought of Hume, Voltaire, and other Enlightenment writers; and discover how he revolutionized the use of extensive documentation in his work.

29 min
The Golden Age of the Antonines
5: The Golden Age of the Antonines

Meet the Antonines: the subject of the first three chapters of the Decline and Fall. From Nerva to Hadrian to Marcus Aurelius, these "five good emperors" ruled "the only period of history in which the happiness of a great people was the sole object of government."

30 min
The Hidden Poison Begins to Work
6: The Hidden Poison Begins to Work

After the peace of the Antonines, things quickly began to fall apart. Describing the horrific reigns of emperors like Commodus, Caracalla, and Elagabalus, Gibbon illustrates the "hidden poison" by which one-man rule produced a vicious cycle of incompetent, power-corrupt emperors.

30 min
Diocletian and the Triumph of Constantine
7: Diocletian and the Triumph of Constantine

Get a close reading of Chapters 8 to 14 of Gibbon's masterpiece. In these pages, follow the first assaults of the barbarians who would eventually bring the Empire to its knees: the Goths. Also, meet two emperors who would radically reshape the structure of the Roman Empire: Diocletian and Constantine.

31 min
Enlightenment Skepticism
8: Enlightenment Skepticism

Consider just how dangerous Gibbon's sociological treatment of Christianity in Chapters 14 and 15 (while grounding the faith in extremely detailed historical analysis) seemed to most of his readers. Rather than focusing on divine providence, the Decline and Fall documents the human causes behind Christianity's evolution into the dominant ideology of the ancient world.

32 min
The Rise of Christianity
9: The Rise of Christianity

Continue your look at Chapters 14 and 15 of the Decline and Fall. In these pages, Gibbon takes up five causes for Christianity's success, including proselytizing zeal the promise of a future life in heaven, but also unprecedented organizational ability. What Gibbon leaves out, however: any imaginative empathy with religion.

30 min
Constantine and Athanasius
10: Constantine and Athanasius

Chapter 17 is the major turning point in the Decline and Fall. What are Gibbon's thoughts on the transferring of the capital to Constantinople, and on Constantine's famous vision of the cross? Why does he give so much attention to theological controversies, and why was he so impressed by Athanasius, the archbishop of Alexandria?

31 min
Julian and the Return to Paganism
11: Julian and the Return to Paganism

Paganism in the Empire didn't go down without a fight. Enter Julian the Apostate, who tried to reinstate the Olympian gods. Here, study Chapters 22 to 24, which are devoted to this last dying gasp of paganism-struck down by Julian's death during an ill-advised military campaign, and afterward by pushback from the Christians.

30 min
Barbarian Advances and Theodosius
12: Barbarian Advances and Theodosius

In the wake of Julian's death there was great confusion, which occupies Chapters 25 to 28. Topics covered here include increased barbarian threats from in Britain, Germany, the Middle East, the Danube, and North Africa; the "chaste and temperate" rule of Theodosius; and Gibbon's intriguing thoughts on Christian veneration of saints' relics.

31 min
East and West Divided
13: East and West Divided

With Rome's fracture into eastern and western camps, the story of the empire's decline begins to get complicated. Learn how to navigate the tricky waters of Chapters 29 to 33, which examine cataclysmic events including the sack of Rome in 410 A.D. and the loss of North Africa to the Vandals.

31 min
Huns and Vandals
14: Huns and Vandals

Professor Damrosch guides you through successive waves of barbarian invaders, beginning with the assault of the Huns, led by Attila. You'll also get Gibbon's insights on the development of barbarian kingdoms, a sequence of nine Roman emperors in just 20 years, and his biased views on the growth of monasticism.

30 min
Theodoric and Justinian
15: Theodoric and Justinian

The first was a Gothic king; the second Rome's eastern emperor. Theodoric and Justinian (along with his general, Belisarius, and his wife, Theodora) dominate Chapters 39 to 44 of the Decline and Fall, which also examines Constantinople's massive building program (including the Hagia Sophia) and the codification of Roman Law.

31 min
The Breakup of the Empire
16: The Breakup of the Empire

After the fall of the empire in the West, how did Byzantium in the East persist for another nine centuries? Start with this look at Chapters 45 to 47, which cover the consolidation of France under Clovis, the establishment of the papacy as the center of Christendom, and a new swarm of religious heresies.

31 min
The Byzantine Empire and Charlemagne
17: The Byzantine Empire and Charlemagne

Turn now to the fifth volume (of the original six) of the Decline and Fall, where the narrative starts to speed up. In addition to covering historical moments like the reign of Charlemagne and the Comnenian dynasty, you'll also consider the implications of Gibbon's "great man" approach to history from the 7th to 11th centuries.

29 min
The Rise of Islam
18: The Rise of Islam

Step back in time to get Gibbon's account of the rise of Islam. Occupying Chapters 50 to 52, this narrative emphasizes how, in Gibbon's view, Islam arrived at a fortunate historical moment when it faced only weak opposition from surrounding powers; he also pays warm tribute to Muhammad's qualities of character.

30 min
The Byzantine Empire in the 10th Century
19: The Byzantine Empire in the 10th Century

At the end of the Decline and Fall's fifth volume, you'll survey the ever-shrinking form of the Byzantine Empire (Chapter 53), early Russians (Chapter 55), Norman conquests in the Mediterranean (Chapter 56), and the expanding dominion of the Turks (Chapter 57).

32 min
The Crusades
20: The Crusades

Gibbon's account of the Crusades focused on the way religion was used to rationalize European military and territorial aggression. Learn what this master historian has to say about the rivalry of Richard the Lionheart and Saladin, the birth of the Crusader States, and military orders like the Knights Templar.

33 min
Genghis Khan and Tamerlane
21: Genghis Khan and Tamerlane

Unpack another turning point in the Decline and Fall: Genghis Khan and the dawn of the Ottoman Empire. Central to this lecture is another of Gibbon's charismatic figures: Tamerlane (known as the "scourge of God"). Then, end with Gibbon's account of the discovery of gunpowder-which would forever change history.

30 min
The Fall of Constantinople
22: The Fall of Constantinople

Chapters 66 to 70 chronicle the final defeat of Byzantium. Topics you'll explore in this lecture include the exiled papal court at Avignon, Mahomet the Second's capture of Constantinople, and the Great Schism from 1378 to 1417.

31 min
The End of Gibbon's Work
23: The End of Gibbon's Work

How did Gibbon keep the Decline and Fall from simply petering out in its final chapter?What were some of his assumptions about the "darkness and confusion" of medieval Europe? See how his visit to the physical ruins of Rome inspired Gibbon's final thoughts on the collapse of the empire and helped to bring his great work to a close.

29 min
Decline and Fall in Modern Perspective
24: Decline and Fall in Modern Perspective

Professor Damrosch ends his course with a reflections on the Decline and Fall in the 21st century. You'll consider why some historians reject the term "fall" in favor of "transformation," together with insistence by recent specialists that there truly was a fall; and also three major blind spots Gibbon exhibits in his history: toward religion, toward Byzantine civilization, and toward the persiste...

33 min
Leo Damrosch

I think the greatest novels make you all too conscious of people's limitations and wounds.

ALMA MATER

Princeton University

INSTITUTION

Harvard University

About Leo Damrosch

Dr. Leo Damrosch is the Ernest Bernbaum Professor of Literature Emeritus at Harvard University, where he has been teaching since 1989. He earned a B.A. from Yale University, an M.A. from Cambridge University, where he was a Marshall Scholar, and a Ph.D. from Princeton University. At Harvard, Professor Damrosch was named a Harvard College Professor in recognition of distinguished teaching. He has held National Endowment for the Humanities and Guggenheim research fellowships and has also directed National Endowment for the Humanities summer seminars for college teachers. Dr. Damrosch is the author of several books, including Tocqueville's Discovery of America, Samuel Johnson and the Tragic Sense, Symbol and Truth in Blake's Myth, The Imaginative World of Alexander Pope, Fictions of Reality in the Age of Hume and Johnson, and The Sorrows of the Quaker Jesus: James Nayler and the Puritan Crackdown on the Free Spirit. He also published a biography, Jean-Jacques Rousseau: Restless Genius, which was one of five finalists for the 2005 National Book Award in Nonfiction, and won the PEN New England/Winship Award for best work of nonfiction.

Also By This Professor