Chemistry, 2nd Edition

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too much arithmetic This is the only Great Course I have taken that is mostly problems to be solved. Perhaps great for struggling high school chemistry students, but not very interesting for the typical adult. The lecturer is, however, very communicative.
Date published: 2020-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for starting from zero. I've never took a chemistry class or even graduated from highschool. I used the GC to study math for my GED and it helped a lot. I got this course on sale and it is worth it. The teacher is very funny and makes chemistry enjoyable. He is very clear as well. Again, this is a very good course if you are starting from zero.
Date published: 2020-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant coverage of Chemistry at the Entry Level I purchased this with a couple of objectives in mind. I wanted a solid review of the basic subject, having completed Chemistry "back in the day" because it has become interesting again. Secondly, I wanted to be able to convey to the young people I get to care for, how interesting the subject is. Knowing Chemistry well enough to complete college is a very different thing from being able to explain it someone else. Professor Cardulla is a master at educating as well as a master of Chemistry.
Date published: 2020-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased I bought this (and the Davis) course so I would be in a position to offer reasonably intelligent assistance to my daughter in her chemistry class. It has enabled me to do exactly that. I’m very pleased and recommend this course to anyone who wants/needs to learn the basics.
Date published: 2020-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Coverage of Basic Chemistry Problems Mr. Cardulla does a very good job explaining basic chemistry problems. This course is best taken in conjunction with an actual class as it is more about problem solving. While he does a good job for the most part in explaining the problem and solution, he tends to throw in irrelevant and in a few occasions confusing and misleading explanations. He also strays from chemistry to make irrelevant pedantic remarks which are best suited for juveniles.
Date published: 2019-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Should Have Been Called High School Chem I bought it expecting to get a college level course. However, the instructor is awsome and the material is great for a high school level.
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good first time introduction to Chemistry! Although I am taking AP(or Advanced Placement) Chemistry at the moment, I have not taken a beginner level Chemistry class. These videos really helped me to learn the basics of Chemistry so that learning the difficult material was easier.
Date published: 2019-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you Study Chemistry YOU NEED THIS Professor Cardulla put his heart into these lectures. I owe him everything because he really helped me get ready for test, and YOU owe this to yourself. Also see Dr. Ron B Davis' lectures with "Chemistry and Our Universe."
Date published: 2018-09-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Chemistry The professor teaches well. He speaks clearly. However, most of the contents are about how to solve Chemistry homework or test problems. It should be helpful for high school students especially for those without good arithmetic training. The title of the course probably should be adjusted to reflect better the contents.
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No wonder STEM courses aren't popular with kids When I ordered this I failed to notice that it was intended for high school students. This course would probably help a high school student "pass a test" of one sort or another, but does not communicate the awe and wonder of the topic. It does a good job showing how to solve particular problems, step by step. Would probably be good in tutoring a high school student having difficulty with chemistry, but it would not inspire anyone. E.g., it explains how to solve equilibrium problems but does not communicate how important a concept "equilibrium" is in chemistry (and physics and thermodynamics.) It does not emphasize broad conceptual thinking that makes STEM subjects exciting. The course is very good at doing what it sets out to do--helping high school students solve chemistry problems.
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High School Chemistry I sure wish that I had Professor Cardulla when I was in high school. I'm way past those years and never had chemistry but I feel like I could have done it quite successfully! Thank you Frank Cardulla! You are a wonderful teacher!
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I never took chemistry in high school. Decided, why not? This course and the instructor are well worth the time and effort.
Date published: 2017-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Strong focus on problem solving I bought this for my son, who is almost 11, because he loved "The Nature of Earth: An Introduction to Geology" and wanted to understand the chemistry aspect of mineralogy better. He specifically asked for a "Great Courses" Chemistry class. Because he is not yet 11, he doesn't really have the mathematical background to manage all the problems without lots of help from me, but he is understanding a lot, and he's determined to keep working through the course even when he finds the math frustrating. The professor's fun examples help keep him engaged, and although the course isn't chiefly "eye candy", there is enough to excite him. The strong focus on problem solving is really stretching his math skills, and I imagine he'll go through the series more than once and get more out of it each time. I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5 because, for my son, a more conceptual approach would have been better, but if you're in a high school class, the general problem solving concepts given would be helpful.
Date published: 2017-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gift I bought it as a gift for my granddaughter in Anchorage, AK.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chemistry, 2nd Edition I sat in Frank Cardulla's chemistry class and his advanced placement chemistry classes my sophomore and senior years at Niles North High School in the 1970s. He was far and away the best teacher I had in any topic, all the way through undergraduate and predoctoral training courses. I decided take this chemistry class to see what I remember, and also to see how he would go about teaching this topic all these years later. He does not disappoint. I strongly recommend you take this class. Mr. Cardulla teaches not just chemistry but more important teaches you how to learn. His class will lay the foundation for learning and help you learn not just chemistry but any science our engineering courses you may take in the future.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perspective from an adult learner I have a background in mathematics and physics but recently caught the chemistry bug. Purely for the fun of it, I purchased a more advanced chemistry course from TGC but realized I needed a more basic introduction to fully appreciate it. This course seemed ideal. However, the first 12 lectures or so seemed very easy and I wondered if the course was TOO basic, but by the end I had been fully stretched and only managed to answer one of the three final challenge questions completely correctly. The course instructor was fantastic. Professor Cardulla is a born educator and I was very touched by his heartfelt comments right at the end of lesson 36. Lucky indeed the students who had him as a teacher. My procedure was to listen to a lecture, pause at the questions, try to solve them on my own first and only then look at the solutions. By the time I'd done the accompanying handbook problems I felt I had a decent grasp of concepts and techniques. The course could have covered more material: there's very little on bonding, for example, but realize that many high school students need lectures on more fundamental material that an adult learner might already know. Overall, I have been very satisfied by this course and I am happy I purchased it.
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Than I Expected I took this course to refresh my basic chemistry from decades ago in preparation for the course on organic chemistry. I found much more than I expected! If you are in high school and taking or planning to take chemistry, this course is the clearest presentation of the basics that I think one could find. If you do well in arithmetic and early algebra but "word problems" blow you away, this is the course that will help to clarify the way to handle such problems. Professor Frank Cardulla has obviously taught more than a sufficient number of students to understand where their thinking and approach to problem solving are inadequate. And he has the patience to explain what needs to be done to understand the problem and then choose a proper route to the solution. So for the student or the parents of a student, this is a good choice to make in preparation for taking chemistry - and really preparation for handling those awful "word problems". And the course gave me what I needed to continue my "studies". Win - win.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I liked very much chemical-equilibrium lectures I originally purchased this course for my daughter. However, being a chemist myself, I decided to take this course as refreshment. I was greatly surprised of the clarity of the explanations of difficult concepts in chemistry, such as chemical equilibrium, including Le Chatelier’s principles. This course is not only excellent for high-school students, it is also great for understanding advanced courses on chemistry (analytical chemistry, physical chemistry, among others).
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Okay Frank, Let's Have Part 2! I enjoyed this class very much in spite of it being geared to the high school level. Cardulla has a way of making each and every chemistry problem easy to understand and solve. Excellent. I remember being taught many of these concepts when I was in school and being completely baffled by many of the problems. It seems we were taught the hard way to do everything. This course is a step-by-step course that will make many other science courses easier because Cardulla so clearly explains every concept in real terms. I love that aspect of his teaching. If I can 'see' a problem, I can work it out. When he holds up the box to show molar volume of gas, it gives a very good picture that can be mentally referenced for thinking about future problems. I can't look at a nickel without thinking about...(take the course) This is a high school level course designed to help students with chemistry problems. It serves that function brilliantly. When I went a bit deeper in the course on thermodynamics, the volumes of gas and molar volume concepts were a snap. In other words, the material is highly transferable even if you don't solve chemistry problems. There is a problem. I want more. I hereby ask that Frank be recruited to produce a Chemistry Part 2 which focuses on chemistry sans the math---chemical properties, reactions, interactions, energy, etc. Wouldn't that be great? I'd love to understand more about the chemicals I encounter every day, how those chemicals were discovered and how they are made. There are chemical processes that occur in cooking. I'd love to know more about those processes. This is a great course. Keep in mind that it's designed for high school and the focus is on problem solving. That assumed, it's a great course indeed. I highly recommend this course even if you don't want to get involved in problem solving. There is application in most of the other science courses offered here. Build your foundation.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy this course I was optimistic when I bought this course. I've had great experiences with many other courses the Great Courses offers and give 5/5 star reviews on... but this one reeeeeally falls short. 1. The professor talks too fast. 2. The problems are not explained very well and the process to solve the practice problems are confusing. 3. I've had to seek out tutoring on Youtube just to figure out how to solve the practice problems in the accompanying workbook. 4. The answer keys at the back of the book do a very poor job at explaining how answers were figured out. Don't buy this course. Spend the money on a chemistry tutor at your local school instead.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent This is quite easily the best learning experience I have ever had, and that includes a BSc in Electrical Engineering. Thank you Frank, you are an inspiration! Chemistry is easy, well I think it is now at least! Buy it, you won't regret it
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! Without question, the best teaching experience I have ever had. Science or otherwise. Professor Cardulla breaks down General Chemistry in a way that is fun, understandable and engaging. If you have a high school student who is going into chemistry, or just want to brush up on your fundamentals - this is a must-have! Thank-you for helping me to fall in love with both chemistry and the necessity of intuitive understanding. I'll be sure to put "Force Koran" on a whiteboard and to strand as many people as I can on a desert island with various fruits.
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chemistry Revisited and Rivised. A most enjoyable course superbly taught and presented. Stunning graphics, animations and video clips. Strongly recommended.
Date published: 2015-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from thank you Prof Cardulla! I bought this course for my older son like two three years ago. He never found the time to watch it. This past summer, I tried my daughter (now a junior High). As I expected, she accepted to watch it. Yet, for more fun, she suggested to watch it together with me. I said "ok, lets watch and review some chemistry together". Amazing! what a great decision! My daughter and I, not only reviewed the basics of chemistry, but bonded together over a wonderful, organized and well-constructed course. I would like to congratulate Prof Cardulla and the GC team for the fine job they did by putting together this course, and reducing chemistry to a such a lovable and doable subject. Back in time, in my days as a student, I don't recall an instructor as engaging and clear as Prof Cardulla. His long years of study, practice and teaching really paid up. Only one caveat: the first DVD, the first 6 lessons are not really chemistry and you can start the course on lesson 7.
Date published: 2015-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must for H.S. students taking any science class. I watched this course as a refresher on chemistry since I haven’t used this material in over 20 years. The professor is very animated and I’m sure he will keep my kids engaged when I have them watch this course. For me, the beauty of this course is how well the math is presented. The first half of the course really focuses on problem solving and the necessary critical thinking involved when setting up a science problem. I believe that any student taking physics for the first time would also benefit from the information in the first half of the course. As for the chemistry concepts, I think the course is a great introduction for high school students, but will probably fall short for adult learners. There are other courses like the fabulous “The Nature of Matter: Understanding the Physical World” that adult learners should take with this course to really round out a modern overview of chemistry. Please, do your child a favor and buy this course for them if they haven’t done much applied math or high school level science. And please encourage them to work the problems while watching. The extra effort will pay off for them.
Date published: 2015-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As advertised: A high school chemistry course I had inorganic chemistry many years ago, and I bought this course to prepare as a tutor for high school students. I was delighted with the course as it comes to the heart of difficulty some students have with chemistry: solving mole and equilibrium problems. The first 10 lectures are basic. They present the fundamentals of SI notation, unit conversions, the Periodic Table of Elements, and calculating atomic and molecular weights. The subsequent 26 lectures present a progressive approach to problem solving with increasingly complex problems. The course is concluded with solving problems of partial ionization of competing ions given only such data as pH, solubility constants, or concentrations of compounds. In the final lecture, Professor Cardulla finishes the course with the same advice he would give his classroom high school students at the completion of his course. It was easy to tell that once he has invested his time with a student, and the student has worked with him, there is an emotion of separation, but a sense of accomplishment on the part of both. Professor Cardulla teaches thinking. He does not teach rote memorization of formulae or equations. For whom is this course suited? High school chemistry students who need further explanation for calculating chemical processes. High school students who are self-motivated to prepare for the SAT exam or an AP chemistry course. Parents who want to help their students. People such as I who want to review chemistry, or who want to help younger students. Finally, I think current high school teachers could learn from his energetic, knowledgeable, clear approach to the subject.
Date published: 2015-03-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for adults or bright school kids I am really not sure how many stars to give this course because it was so utterly inappropriate for me or anyone I know. I wanted a good review of the chemistry I learned in high school 50 years ago, but found this course far too basic. I would say that if the course has any value, it would be for high school chemistry students who struggle with the most basic arithmetic and are hopelessly lost in their chemistry class. I listened to the first four lectures, all of which seemed to cover little more than the basic idea behind basic division; like 30 students per classroom, or 60 miles per hour, or so many grams per liter. Next were two lectures dedicated to SI units. There was nothing here that I had not fully mastered by the 5th grade. By this point, a 36 lecture course on chemistry was down to just 30 lectures to deal with the actual subject matter, and the professor had already mentioned that "obviously" a complete high school course could not be covered in 36 lectures. I skipped about 10 lectures ahead to one of the substantive lectures to see if there was going to be something of value for me after all. In the first 5 minutes, nothing was mentioned that I had not learned by the time I completed the 6th grade, so I gave up and exchanged this course for something else. On the other hand, this is an award winning high school chemistry teacher with many years experience, and I have no doubt that there are many remedial students at his high school and elsewhere who need this level of treatment. For those students, no doubt his approach is excellent.
Date published: 2015-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent high school chemistry source Mr. Frank Cardulla did an excellent job with the chemistry, 2nd edition. He explained each concept in chemistry very clearly.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a wonderful course and instructor Being an environmental professional in the field I often buy courses from this company for refresher and update courses. Its much cheaper than going to a local college and auditing courses. I really thought this course was awesome. It was presented so well and the teaching style and the way it was all brought together was wonderful! I really enjoyed the way this course and the style of the teacher that brought no pressure and no one fails mentality to the course. I know I am going to have my son who is in high school and a daughter who is in college chance to each take this course! To the teacher I say: thank you thank you a thousand time for this wonderful course!
Date published: 2014-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Touchdown Chemistry Wow chemistry is one of those courses my girls dreaded. They did very well and this course sure helped them out a lot. Each of my girls took 2 years of high school chemistry and this video sure helped them. Any parent with a high school student facing chemistry should spend a few dollars and run a video each evening before the chemistry term begins. Your child will walk in class with more confidence. My girls did.
Date published: 2014-08-06
  • y_2021, m_4, d_19, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_72
  • loc_en_CA, sid_1012, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4.18ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Chemistry, 2nd Edition
Course Trailer
Introduction and Philosophy
1: Introduction and Philosophy

In this first lecture, Professor Cardulla explains how any student can find success in chemistry by cultivating a meaningful understanding of the concepts and quantitative thinking operations that underlie this often challenging area of study.

32 min
Basic Concepts of Quantitative Reasoning
2: Basic Concepts of Quantitative Reasoning

Introductory chemistry is not mysterious: It requires simple quantitative reasoning that comes naturally to most students. You learn about the types of numbers involved in chemistry and how to solve problems commonly encountered in high school chemistry.

30 min
Quantitative Reasoning in Everyday Life
3: Quantitative Reasoning in Everyday Life

Only a handful of important ideas must be mastered in order to be successful at solving chemistry problems. In this lecture, you review some basic guidelines for approaching any chemistry problem and try out your skills on a few sample problems that demonstrate how you can use everyday reasoning in your chemistry class.

31 min
Quantitative Reasoning in Chemistry-Density
4: Quantitative Reasoning in Chemistry-Density

Building on the ideas explored in the first three lectures, you examine a fundamental quantitative measurement in chemistry, density, and explore the real-world meaning of this measurement. You then solidify your understanding of this concept by working some basic density problems.

31 min
The SI (Metric) System of Measurement
5: The SI (Metric) System of Measurement

Next, you continue to lay a strong foundation for your understanding of chemistry by learning about one of the key tools you'll be using: the International System of Units (SI), or the metric system. This lecture explains why this system is so useful to scientists and lays out the prefixes and units of measurement that make up the metric system.

29 min
Converting between Systems of Measurement
6: Converting between Systems of Measurement

Now that you have established an understanding of the SI system, put your knowledge to work as you practice converting units from one system of measurement to another. You hone your conversion skills by working several sample problems.

29 min
Elements, Atoms, and the Periodic Table
7: Elements, Atoms, and the Periodic Table

In the next three lectures, you cover some fundamental topics that you'll need before you can launch into your study of chemistry. You examine the basic building blocks of matter-elements and the atoms that constitute them-and you learn how to interpret the information about elements presented in the periodic table

30 min
Ions, Compounds, and Interpreting Formulas
8: Ions, Compounds, and Interpreting Formulas

Learn about protons, electrons, and neutrons; how ions are formed from atoms; how these ions can combine to form compounds; and how you can determine the formulas of these compounds. Some molecular substances are discussed and you are introduced to the final number associated with every element-its atomic weight.

32 min
Isotopes and Families of Elements
9: Isotopes and Families of Elements

Discover how isotopes, which are different atoms of the same element, can actually differ in their weight because they contain different numbers of neutrons in their nuclei. Also, learn how different kinds of elements are grouped into both general categories (such as metals and nonmetals) as well as specific chemical "families," which then are arranged into the periodic table.

30 min
The Mole
10: The Mole

One of the most important concepts to master in an introductory chemistry course is the concept of the mole, which provides chemists with a way to "count" atoms and molecules. Learn how scientists use the mole and explore the quantitative definition of this basic unit.

29 min
Solving Mole Problems
11: Solving Mole Problems

By solving problems involving moles, you refine the quantitative techniques introduced in earlier lectures while increasing your familiarity with this important chemical value.

31 min
Avogadro's Hypothesis and Molar Volume
12: Avogadro's Hypothesis and Molar Volume

After mastering the mole, you move on to a related concept: the "molar volume," or the amount of space occupied by one mole. You apply this understanding of molar volume as you examine Avogadro's Hypothesis, a principle concerning the molar volume of gases.

30 min
Percent Composition and Empirical Formulas
13: Percent Composition and Empirical Formulas

In this lecture, you encounter two "classic" types of chemistry problems and learn the basic characteristics of each. The lecture concludes with several practice problems to help you master the skill of solving percent composition problems.

29 min
Solving Empirical Formula Problems
14: Solving Empirical Formula Problems

Continue your consideration of "classic" chemistry problems with a look at empirical formulas, and examine how empirical formulas relate to molecular formulas

30 min
Writing and Balancing Chemical Equations
15: Writing and Balancing Chemical Equations

What happens when you combine two or more elements? Through a variety of practice problems, you learn to identify when a chemical reaction has occurred, how to write chemical equations, and how to "balance" equations to conserve the atoms.

30 min
An Introduction to Stoichiometry
16: An Introduction to Stoichiometry

What are the quantitative relationships between the substances in a chemical reaction? The study of stoichiometry shows you how to apply your ability to balance equations to solve problems involving chemical reactions.

31 min
Stoichiometry Problems
17: Stoichiometry Problems

You extend your study of stoichiometry to consider more complex problems involving volume, molecules, and energy.

30 min
Advanced Stoichiometry
18: Advanced Stoichiometry

As you move on to more advanced stoichiometry problems, you see that they can be solved using a very simple approach. You encounter three terms often applied to chemical reactions: theoretical yields, actual yields, and percent yields.

31 min
An Introduction to Molarity
19: An Introduction to Molarity

One important idea to master in any introductory chemistry course is the concept of concentration of a solution. Here, you explore this concept, the components that make up a solution, and learn about a basic unit of measurement for concentration, molarity.

30 min
Solving Molarity Problems
20: Solving Molarity Problems

Extend your understanding of molarity by solving some typical problems encountered in the high school chemistry classroom. To foster your understanding of these problems, you are asked to draw upon the quantitative reasoning skills you previously used.

29 min
Advanced Molarity Problems
21: Advanced Molarity Problems

You are asked to take the concepts you learned about molarity in the last two lectures and apply them to a number of unfamiliar problems. These problems offer an opportunity to test your comprehension of the concepts you've been exploring.

30 min
Basic Concepts of Chemical Equilibrium
22: Basic Concepts of Chemical Equilibrium

Continue your study of chemical reactions by examining an important new concept: the equilibrium system. You start by looking carefully at the difference between reactions that "go to completion" and those that are "reversible."

30 min
An Introduction to the Equilibrium Constant
23: An Introduction to the Equilibrium Constant

By tracking and graphing a hypothetical reaction as it approaches a state of equilibrium, you gain a deeper understanding of the essential characteristics of equilibrium systems. Then, you're introduced to the single most important expression used to solve equilibrium problems: the equilibrium constant.

31 min
Interpreting an Equilibrium Constant
24: Interpreting an Equilibrium Constant

Your examination of the equilibrium constant continues. Learn exactly what the numerical value for an equilibrium constant tells and doesn't tell you about an equilibrium system.

30 min
Le Chatelier's Principle-Concentration
25: Le Chatelier's Principle-Concentration

Before you can solve equilibrium problems, you need to understand what happens to an equilibrium system when conditions are changed. You learn about a fundamental idea-Le Chatelier's Principle-which lays the groundwork for a broader understanding of equilibrium.

31 min
Le Chatelier-Pressure and Temperature
26: Le Chatelier-Pressure and Temperature

Having established a basic understanding of Le Chatelier's Principle, you explore how this principle plays out in a variety of situations in which an equilibrium system is changed.

30 min
An Introduction to Equilibrium Problems
27: An Introduction to Equilibrium Problems

You use your basic understanding of equilibrium systems to try to solve some problems. You tackle two kinds of equilibrium problems: ones in which you are asked to calculate the equilibrium constant for an equation, and ones in which you are asked to find the equilibrium concentration of a reactant or product.

31 min
The Self-Ionization of Water
28: The Self-Ionization of Water

After examining how different substances may behave when dissolved in water, you learn about the self-ionization of water and use this knowledge to solve problems. The lecture ends with a brief introduction to the pH of solutions.

30 min
Strong Acids and Bases-General Properties
29: Strong Acids and Bases-General Properties

You return to the topic of pH and learn about how pH relates to two kinds of compounds: acids and bases. Through an introductory problem, you explore the relationship of various ions within these compounds.

32 min
Solving Strong Acid and Base Problems
30: Solving Strong Acid and Base Problems

You gain a deeper understanding of acids, bases, and pH by working several sample problems. These exercises help clarify the difference between strong and weak acids and bases and between the idea of a "strong" concentration versus a "strong" acid or base.

27 min
Weak Acids and Bases
31: Weak Acids and Bases

Look at weak acids and bases, compounds that are only slightly ionized in water-based solutions. You learn how to solve the "classic" weak acid problem and apply the same approach to weak base problems.

32 min
Titrating Acids and Bases
32: Titrating Acids and Bases

Here, you explore "neutralization": the idea that if you add a base to an acid, it will tend to destroy the properties of the acid, and vice versa. You examine this reaction through demonstration of a laboratory procedure called titration.

31 min
Titration Curves and Indicators
33: Titration Curves and Indicators

Acid-base indicators, which change color when a solution switches from acid to base and back again, provide a striking demonstration of the transformation that occurs during titration. Learn how to use these indicators to determine the equivalence point of a titration, and examine what happens when you graph these reactions.

30 min
Solubility Equilibria-Principles, Problems
34: Solubility Equilibria-Principles, Problems

After learning about equilibrium systems, you move on to a particular type of system: "solubility equlibria," or the equilibria found in saturated solutions of slightly soluble ionic solids. You explore this concept as you practice solving a variety of related problems.

31 min
Solubility Equilibria-Common Ion Effect
35: Solubility Equilibria-Common Ion Effect

Your study of solubility equilibria continues with some advanced practice problems. Here, you encounter the last major type of equilibrium problem. To solve these problems, you revisit Le Chatelier's Principle and learn about some of the pitfalls to avoid when dealing with these kinds of equilibrium systems.

31 min
Putting It All Together
36: Putting It All Together

In this final lecture, you tackle problems that require you to pull together all the knowledge you've acquired. Through these challenging problems, you build confidence in your ability to unravel new problems and pursue more advanced levels of chemistry.

32 min
Frank Cardulla

I hope you choose to join our family of students in high school, college, home school, and those who want to learn just for learning's sake. Helping students has been my life's mission and I'd love to try and help you as well.

ALMA MATER

University of Illinois

INSTITUTION

Niles North High School

About Frank Cardulla

Professor Frank Cardulla taught at Niles North High School in Skokie, IL, from 1964 to 1999. He subsequently taught at Lake Forest High School and Libertyville High School. Professor Cardulla earned both his B.S. in Teaching of Chemistry with honors and his M.S. in Teaching of Physical Sciences from the University of Illinois. He has received the National Catalyst Award for Outstanding Chemistry Teaching, a Presidential Award for Science Teaching, and the National James Bryant Conant Award. Additionally, he has received citations from institutions such as MIT and the University of Chicago for being named most influential teacher" by attending students. He has taught a wide variety of high school science courses

Also By This Professor