Effective Communication Skills

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely useful for everyday talk with others. I loved the Great Courses! So far on lesson #19. The professor is incredible and I'm so glad to take the time to go over this material. I work as a service agent in insurance and I've been married for over 7 years. The information in these lectures are not only useful in my daily interaction with colleagues and clients at work, but I can also apply what I learned in my relationship with my spouse. . Highly recommend the course.
Date published: 2020-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something everyone should know I wish this was required learning in the schools for everyone.
Date published: 2020-01-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Joy of Math It's a little over my head, but I'm glad that I can go back over some material on the disk to help me understand. Thanks for having college level courses that don't have a Final and that beer is optional.
Date published: 2019-08-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dry presentation on a good topic Th presenter was very knowledgeable, unfortunately he taught like me- barrel through lots of information and hope something sticks. He had good material but rather than use visual aids and play acting of situations, most of the examples were simply charts with bullet points.
Date published: 2019-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! I wish I had watched it long ago...! Very well researched and brilliantly delivered by Professor Kehoe.
Date published: 2019-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Useful course I purchased this course in September 2018 and play it on a television DVD player. • The sound is muddy, which may be attributable in part to my impaired hearing. (I do wear hearing aids.) However, in comparison, other CDs play with a clearer, crisper sound. • To compensate in part for my hearing deficit I rely on subtitles in addition to electronic ear trumpets. The television indicates track numbers but there are no lecture subtitles. Consequently, it can take several lecture iterations and copious note taking to render the subject matter accessible. • The lecture text is not included in the accompanying booklet nor anywhere else I’m searched. • As the course subject matter is Communications, I find this somewhat ironic.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth studying I first borrowed this course on CD from my local library and found it to be so worth repeating that I bought the CD set for myself. It contains knowledge that I believe will be extremely useful in many situations, yet knowledge that requires a lot of practice to truly acquire and put into practice. If some conversations do not end satisfyingly, and you are willing to learn how to do them better, this is a great start.
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best teachings on Communication This is a fantastic course on effective communications. I'm an executive coach and use this material on a regular basis with my clients. I highly recommend it!
Date published: 2018-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective Communication Skills One of the very best from my Great Courses collection, this explained why communication is much more complicated than it appears, with the assortment of expectations and desires we each bring to a conversation. Besides the explanations provided, the instructor does a fabulous job of providing practical advice to improve communication in every facet of our lives -- including our personal and family relationships as well as those in the workplace, and addressing difficult interactions. The instructor explains how effective communication can leave everyone feeling like a winner. I've bought a couple dozen Great Courses, but this is the only one that I bought extra copies to give to friends and family.
Date published: 2018-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is truly an Effective Practical course My husband and I are doing the course together and we are both finding it very relevant to our needs. Very helpful in the techniques, but also in the explanations so we can appreciate what is happening to us in a difficult communication situation.
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very happy it's a great course I'm very happy :)
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with the course. Dr. Kehoe was very clear and well organized.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It open my eyes how often people are miss understood. its a great course to review how you communicate with your peers.
Date published: 2017-06-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fine course; beware of GC if you don't like spam. DVD course was what I needed, but they send an insane amount of spam email with only 1 out o every 5 or 6 having an unsubscribe button (which doesn't appear to do anything). My company purchases large quantities of educational/wellness material. I thought I had found my new source, but after dealing with junk mail over and over, their email is now going to my spam folder, and I will purchase elsewhere in the future.
Date published: 2017-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Helpful Being a Minister I communicate with people a lot. This course has provided me with very helpful understanding, guidelines and excellent tools to improve my skill with relating to others. As benefit to my life of service I think this is the best course I have taken from Great Courses.
Date published: 2017-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from really more of a 3.5 Bearing in mind my comments and reservations below, I recommend the audio version of this course since The Great Courses is so amazing at allowing returns if it doesn't fit your needs/likes. This course is listed as a Professional course, but is a better fit as a personal development course in the Better Living category. Most of the content is based on good research and interpreted well for the learner, except when the content is applied to the workplace. In particular, Professor Kehoe's interpretations of some of the research he mentions are suspect. For example, in Lecture 23 he states that high ratings on certain Gallup Employee Engagement Survey questions indicate a manager is doing well. That is not true for all of the survey questions he mentions. Employees provide high ratings on some of those questions and yet are very unhappy with their managers. An additional reason for my 3.5 rating is that Professor Kehoe's delivery style in the video version started out as distracting and ended up being quite annoying. I stopped watching and only listened after about two lectures. Unfortunately, his voice was not very pleasing so I ended up having to take long breaks (days or weeks) between listening to the lectures. And lastly, there were too many points where he came across as being preachy. On the plus side, the lectures are well organized, build on each other, and cover the full range of personal communication topics. He discusses much of the most important research in the personal communication field. Overall, if you don't mind his presentation style and/or voice, the course is quite useful as either an introduction to effective personal communication for the beginner or a well-organized review for those with deeper knowledge (which is what I used it for).
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great confidence builder Purchased a month ago . Course is well structured in manageable lessons to be completed in a reasonable time. Recommend.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from had good information and was provide in a very structured way building on each chapter.
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! I love to cook again! Thank you Bill Briwa for your patience and wonderful explanations and I would love a second edition of everyday gourmet!
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EFFECTIVE! ! Thank you Dr. Dalton Kehoe! I do not generally write reviews; HOWEVER, I felt required to say Thank you to Dr. Kehoe -whom I do NOT know personally. This course helped me learn how I could improve, change my behavior, to equip myself to communicate more effectively with my many siblings, their spouses-and their adult children!. Dr Kehoe in this course made a significant contribution to bridging our family's communications gaps. Thank you! Perhaps, someone may read this and be moved to invest the time to LISTEN, learn, and benefit from his presentation of EFFECTIVE COMMUNICATION; To adapt these SKILLS to their lives and benefit as I have -and will for the rest my communicating life. I highly recommend Dr Dalton Kehoe's "Effective Communication"... I have listened to it once and intend to listen-study-it again! It was most helpful and timely! Perfect -for me! I gifted one to my entrepreneurial sister, 3000 miles away, to give her the advantage of Dr. Kehoe's insignt. It has provided me and our large diverse family thoughtful working tools to HELP us towards our goals and to more effectively communicate and understand one another and foster harmony, unity and fellowship. I hope this helps in your decision making. Thank you for reading.
Date published: 2017-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Concepts I Can Implement Now The professor is an excellent communicator, is impressively knowledgeable and an unusually good teacher of complex ideas.
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth the time and money Too much fluff and very little practical and useful content.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous presenter I hope I have now improved my communication skills.
Date published: 2016-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, though Some Psychology Review The professor is insightful and presents a number of great ideas and concepts as he discusses the possible barriers to effective communication. There is, however, a lot of review of the concepts that I have learned in my undergraduate degree in psychology, such as the parenting attachment styles of Ainsworth and Bowlby and theories of personalities, and various studies that I have heard about previously. I don't deny that he presents these materials very well, but my background makes some of it repetitive. Still, I definitely recommend the course.
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from applicable anywhere Such useful and fascinating information that can be applied in personal and professional life-- he neatly wraps up the key research in communication in a wide variety of fields and gives the viewer tools to improve communication skill... Loved it.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pass on this one I was disappointed with this course. I just finished the Art of Negotiating which I thought was excellent. i thought this course would complement what I had learned there. But the speaker just didn't draw me in nearly as much. I was rather bored from the beginning and I ended up just skimming through the reading and picked a few topics to watch that I thought was more practical near the end. While the subject matter is fairly practical and important , the professor's lecture content is more theoretical and intellectually presented. He does provide some examples and notes, but they are presented in a dry and stale format. Like in many of the courses, this professor tries to use his arms as body language to communicate his message, but all he is doing is flailing his arms around. Actually that should be a topic for effective communication in a future series. i did pick up on a few topics of interest to improve my supervisory skills, But in general i knew and understood these things beforehand and just needed a refresher. I also knew a great deal more about the Myers -Briggs temperament model than was discussed, which i enjoyed learned very much to learn initially, but in listening to his presentation i found myself falling asleep. So I recommend the Art of Negotiating and finding some other fun tools to improve communication skills than use this particular course.
Date published: 2016-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Conversational mechanics masterfully explained 'Effective Communication' examines our unconscious and conscious thought processes and how we can better support our relationships with our speech. It provides greater insight into how we judge others, how others judge us and how we can work to reconcile the issues that can result from our differing styles and sensibilities. The first half of the course explains our growth, development and indoctrination into our environment and how this fundamentally shapes how we perceive and interpret information. The second half reinforces these lessons and provides guidance with diffusing conflicts. A wide range of research studies and personal anecdotes are used throughout to reinforce these key concepts. These lectures are loaded with information and Prof. Kehoe speaks with such vigor that I watched many of the lectures twice in order to fully grasp the material. As others have remarked, the guidebook is rather brief and could use a few more of the charts and graphics shown in the video format. On the whole, this is a well researched and well presented course on the skills we can acquire and enhance to improve the relationships in our lives.
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Should be called "Psychology of Communication" This course is not what I expected or wanted. I was expecting/wanting a "small talk, dinner/party conversation" course... information on how to effectively communicate everyday ideas and thoughts. This was not that course, though much of what is presented could help in that regard. After completing the course, I again read the lecture headings and feel it's only by hindsight that I realize the course really wasn't what I was looking for. This course, I feel, could better be titled "the Psychology of Communication" and is geared towards work place and personal relationship issues and conflicts. The course delves heavily into psychology. We found the information interesting and potentially helpful. My husband and I are retired so, thankfully, no longer have to deal with those concerns. Nor do we have personal relationship issues. We found much of what Mr. Kehoe says is akin to reviews of the leadership courses we attended during our careers. Again: Interesting information. If you're having communication problems in your personal relationship(s), or work as a supervisor and need to communicate more effectively with employees and/or employers, by all means watch or listen to this course. We watched the video series, and found the presenter engaging and relaxed, without (too many) annoying or distracting habits. Overall we found the content interesting and informative. We were well pleased to have the opportunity to learn new things.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Course with lots of good material I have found the presenter to this course very knowledgeable and he presents the information in a logical orderly fashion. Lots of examples are giving and interesting social experiments are described in detail backing up the themes of the course. If communication is one of your interests this course is a good choice.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very interesting I have only made it thru the first two CD's so far, but I am finding the material to be very enlightening.
Date published: 2016-01-21
  • y_2021, m_5, d_8, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.15
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_111
  • loc_en_CA, sid_9331, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4.65ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Effective Communication Skills
Course Trailer
The Magic of Everyday Communication
1: The Magic of Everyday Communication

An introduction to our "taken-for-granted" model of everyday talk reveals why you talk and the problems caused by underlying assumptions about the exchange. There are, as you learn, vital tools you can use to avoid these problems.

31 min
The Complex Layers of Face-to-Face Talk
2: The Complex Layers of Face-to-Face Talk

Explore what really happens during face-to-face conversation by examining the conversational model developed by communication researchers. Discover that any two-person conversation really includes six people, and how different categories of "noise" dramatically affect the transmission of meaning.

28 min
The Social Context That Shapes Our Talk
3: The Social Context That Shapes Our Talk

How you understand the messages sent to you is shaped in large part by your culture and subcultures-the contexts in which you learned "normal" ways of seeing and hearing the world around you. Grasp the key dimensions along which cultures can be compared.

32 min
The Operations of the Cognitive Unconscious
4: The Operations of the Cognitive Unconscious

Learn how a part of the brain unavailable to the conscious mind actually processes the vast majority of the information you take in, using a vast array of techniques to guide how you use that information, especially during face-to-face interactions.

31 min
The Conscious Mind in Perception
5: The Conscious Mind in Perception

Take a key step toward talking more effectively by analyzing how you see things-the brain's "reality management" process of selecting, organizing, and interpreting incoming data. Grasp the pitfalls inherent in the brain's reliance on existing schemas and even stereotypes to make the process more efficient.

30 min
The Conscious Mind in Using Language
6: The Conscious Mind in Using Language

How do you interpret the information you take in, especially during conversation, when cognition must operate much more quickly? This lecture delves into the many pitfalls inherent in conversation, including the judgment tools we all use and the dangers in them revealed by Peter Senge's iconic "inference ladder."

30 min
The Conscious Mind and Emotion
7: The Conscious Mind and Emotion

As a society, we talk about feelings constantly. Yet at the individual level, our awareness of our feelings and ability to discuss them varies significantly. Learn how naming your feelings and describing them accurately to yourself and others is central to effective communication.

29 min
The Development of Our Sense of Self
8: The Development of Our Sense of Self

How does your sense of self emerge and shape your relationships to others? What are the factors that differentiate one personality from another? Examine one model-the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator-and gain invaluable tips on how different personality types can communicate successfully with each other.

30 min
Self, Attachment, and Self-Esteem
9: Self, Attachment, and Self-Esteem

Using both attachment theory and a self-awareness model called a Johari window, consider how self-esteem develops and how it can be characterized to reveal the emotions it embodies. Learn how we manage self-perceptions and self-presentations to preserve our self-esteem in daily interactions.

29 min
Protecting the Self in Face-to-Face Talk
10: Protecting the Self in Face-to-Face Talk

Every conversation has the potential to either enhance your sense of self-worth or undermine it. Explore the techniques we all use to protect ourselves, with particular focus on the psychological defenses identified by Freud and the conversational model of Parent, Adult, and Child voices set forth by Eric Berne.

28 min
Conscious Self-Talk and Self-Management
11: Conscious Self-Talk and Self-Management

You don't have to allow effective communication to be sabotaged by those automatic and often self-defeating defenses your mind puts in motion to "protect" you. This lecture offers practical techniques for creating positive internal dialogues and for being heard, understood, and accepted by others in difficult situations.

29 min
Challenges to Effective Communication
12: Challenges to Effective Communication

Professor Kehoe discusses several practical ways to turn what you have already learned into better communication. Learn the positive impact of concepts like mindfulness and appreciation, as well as how using meta-communication techniques can prevent a dangerous climb up the "inference ladder" during difficult situations.

28 min
Talking to Connect and Build Relationships
13: Talking to Connect and Build Relationships

Begin your introduction to the professor's own model of human communication. In this lecture, learn the basics of "connect talk" at each of its stages, grasping the significance of procedural and ritual recognition talk before moving on to small talk and deeper levels of conversation.

29 min
Differences, Disagreement, and Control Talk
14: Differences, Disagreement, and Control Talk

Understand what happens when "control talk"-the mode we use to influence or persuade-powers the conversation. Learn the difference between the light control that may well be useful in certain situations and the heavy control, driven by intense negative emotions, that rarely contributes to a positive outcome.

28 min
Commands, Accusations, and Blame
15: Commands, Accusations, and Blame

Plunge into the zone of escalation, where light control talk becomes competitive, tactics harden, and the battle of heavy control talk begins. Learn some useful techniques for managing your emotions and bringing your voice back to a level from which progress is possible for both parties.

29 min
Healing Relationships with Dialogue Talk
16: Healing Relationships with Dialogue Talk

Gain an understanding of the only mode of talk that is not automatic. Instead, it requires choosing to be a mindful and emotionally generous meta-communicator, even in difficult situations, producing results that can be far more positive than those "achieved" through the win-lose, right-wrong, control talk model.

27 min
Focus on the Other-The Heart of Dialogue
17: Focus on the Other-The Heart of Dialogue

What kinds of questions get people to talk openly? Learn how to ask these questions, and also gain listening and response techniques to keep them talking by showing your understanding of what they are trying to communicate.

29 min
Assertive Dialogue to Manage Disagreement
18: Assertive Dialogue to Manage Disagreement

We all have to deal with difficult behavior, and doing so successfully requires being assertive, which is far different from being aggressive or using control talk. Here, gain valuable tools for asking for what you want with courage, calmness, and clarity.

32 min
Compassionate Confrontation
19: Compassionate Confrontation

Sometimes a negative behavior persists despite repeated requests for change. When that happens, it may be time for "structured dialogue," a slowed-down and opened-up form of dialogue talk. Absorb the steps needed for a process that can be very effective, but demands time, focus, patience, energy, and self-management.

28 min
Communication, Gender, and Culture
20: Communication, Gender, and Culture

Whether you are male or female affects how you communicate and use language. An exploration of what men and women actually mean when they speak-and why this is so-offers useful lessons on how best to hear and be heard by the opposite sex.

30 min
Talking Our Way to Lasting Relationships
21: Talking Our Way to Lasting Relationships

Researchers have gained a knowledgeable grasp of why relationships develop and endure. Whether a relationship is one of friendship or romance, there are things you can do to not only enrich them, but make necessary repairs if they begin to either stagnate or fragment.

30 min
Leadership, Appreciation, and Productivity
22: Leadership, Appreciation, and Productivity

The relationship between managers and employees is the bedrock of survival and success for all organizations. Learn how the quality of this relationship can be shaped by the quality of the communication between them-beginning with tools you can use as a manager.

33 min
Dialogue and Appreciation-Engaged Employees
23: Dialogue and Appreciation-Engaged Employees

Complete your understanding of the critical two-way interaction that determines a successful workplace as you look at the employee's role in building successful workplace communications. Grasp the techniques that make a practical difference in the success of both employee and employer.

29 min
Dialogue-Ethical Choices behind Our Talk
24: Dialogue-Ethical Choices behind Our Talk

Listen to a summary of what you have learned, this time from the perspective of effective communication as a profoundly ethical process, and not merely one whose value lies in practicality. The goal is to speak in ways not only good for us, but for others, as well.

32 min
Dalton Kehoe

Like all teachers, I believe in the power of every person to remember, to learn from that memory, and to choose more wisely the next time.

ALMA MATER

York University

INSTITUTION

York University

About Dalton Kehoe

Dr. Dalton Kehoe is Senior Scholar of Communications at York University in Toronto, where he earned his doctorate in social psychology. A teacher and organizational change practitioner for more than four decades, Professor Kehoe specializes in both interpersonal and organizational communications. In addition to being honored for his teaching-with the York University Teaching Award, recognition at the national level by both University Affairs in Canada and by The Chronicle of Higher Education in the United States, and being named one of the province's top 30 professors by Ontario's public educational network-he is a senior partner in a consulting firm that specializes in teaching organizations how to reengage their employees. As a public speaker, he presents seminars to organizations throughout North America on both the use of technology in teaching and on leadership and employee engagement. Professor Kehoe is an expert not only in face-to-face communications but in the use of modern technologies such as video streaming for effective teaching. His recent publications include Communication in Everyday Life (2nd Edition) and Communicating in Organizations: Complexity, Constraint and Creative Choice.

Also By This Professor