Medical School for Everyone: Grand Rounds Cases

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Diagnosis This course really delivers!!! Highly entertaining and informative Helps the layperson to better understand how a doctor thinks while at the same time presenting the interested student a diagnostic challenge! I am a retired Middle School teacher, a
Date published: 2020-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very interesting I truly enjoy the course. It shows that to be a good physician, you need to be a good detective. It gave me an insight of how most doctors think, and I feel it will help me communicate better next time I see a physician. The one thing I wish we had, (not just with his course), is the ability to have some sort of practice test for every lesson to test if you truly understood the material. Just make it available for whoever wants to take it. Other than that, outstanding job.
Date published: 2020-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Informative, but the title is misleading Very interesting case histories of various patients and diagnoses. Not medical school, but instead, a window into the practice of medicine
Date published: 2020-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent course..talented instructor. This is a fascinating course. The doctor is an outstanding lecturer. I have greatly enjoyed working my way through each case. I will gladly take the pediatrics case next
Date published: 2019-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Practical medicine well explained The grand rounds approach covered important topics very well. The material was intermediate in depth coverage and not much beyond a lay person's understanding. In some topics, there could have been a more detailed discussion and the different drugs that would be applicable. Wish there were another 50 grand round cases.
Date published: 2019-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fasinating Course on How Doctors Think Although the various diseases/ailments in each lecture are rather common, what is utterly fascinating is the logical inductive reasoning doctors employ to determine the diagnosis of each disease/ailment. We learn briefly about anatomy and physiology too. We also see how important it is to the diagnostic process for doctors to be empathic to the concerns of their patients. And in the process, it is highly interesting and educational to find out what each disease/ailment is not. So for example, if the lecture turns out to be the diagnosis of the flu, you will also learn about the 5 or 6 possible diseases that will be ruled out. This is all presented in a clear and easy to follow format by the doctor. Professor Benaroch also makes asides about how the psychology of doctors and patients can make medical diagnosis and treatment a fallible human endeavor. This helps personalize and bring the whole scientific process down to earth. All of this makes 'Grand Rounds Cases' one of the best lecture series that I have seen (out of dozens).
Date published: 2019-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly enjoyable Usually a read the relevant chapter in the course guide before each lecture but in this case I left the reading until after the lecture to see if I could identify the condition discussed. Was about 50/50 on that. Well presented & accessible to the layperson as well as those with some medical background.
Date published: 2019-05-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Grands Rounds here I learned very little from this course and I am a mathematician ! I also expected doctor/patient interactions but got mostly uninteresting lectures. I'm not sure who could possibility benefit from this course, certainly not med students or nurses. They already know this information. Maybe a young high school student pondering a career in medicine.
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Informative and interesting I am a nurse practitioner, and have listened to all the Grand Rounds medical courses by this presenter. I find them interesting, even when I am already versed on the topic. As in real life, there is always something to learn, as every patient is different. They are presented at a level that a layman would understand as well.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Nice Walk In The Field I am currently listening to the audio just completed the first lecture. Well I am pleasantly surprised how well this topic is presented it’s like taking a walk in the fields in Summertime. Unlike the boring lectures I had to sit through in college related to health care. I can recommend this course to anyone interested in the subject. Ed.G
Date published: 2019-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting for people with no medical training I enjoyed watching these lectures even though I have not had any formal medical training. The focus is on how doctors diagnose various conditions, and the logic behind the conclusions they reach. You won't become a doctor from taking this course, but you will have better insights into how your own doctors may be thinking as they diagnose you or your family members. I found myself trying to guess what the sickness was in each lecture, and saw how easily I could be wrong.
Date published: 2019-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Excellent This is above even the high standards of The Great Courses (TGC). It is beneficial for everyone. Each of the 24 lectures is about one medical case, like an episode of House. In each case, Dr. Benaroch describes a patient who comes to you, the doctor. Dr. Benaroch present the patient’s chief complaint, vital signs, and physical conditions. Dr. Benaroch then presents a “differential diagnosis, i. e., a list of possible causes. He then analyzes the clues and shows how the doctor determines the correct diagnosis. Obviously, this course does not qualify the student to practice medicine. However, it is very useful in qualifying the student to become a better patient by suggesting what kind of information would be help the doctor to make a sound and quick diagnosis. Dr. Benaroch is an excellent teacher. His lectures are clear and easy to follow. I took the audio version. I believe the video version would not have contributed much more than the audio version.
Date published: 2018-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Courses are Great Courses I have thoroughly enjoyed Medical School for Everyone: Grand Rounds Cases, and have learned so much from it. In addition, I have been through Understanding the Human Body: An Introduction to Anatomy and Physiology; Mysteries of the Microcopic World; and Experiencing Hubble: Understanding the Greatest Images of the Universe. I hate to say I have an addiction, but I seem to be addicted to the Great Courses products. Well done-And Thanx!
Date published: 2018-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant Brilliant narrator with a sense of humour. You will not fell asleep but learn whole lot.
Date published: 2018-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I really enjoyed this course. The doctor was interesting to listen to and I learned a lot. The case studies were intriguing, although mostly common illnesses. I enjoyed learning more about the diagnoses and would highly recommend this course to anyone wanting to learn more how doctors diagnose and treat diseases.
Date published: 2018-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than excellent Perhaps most wide-ranging of the three "Med. School" series. Supremely valuable, educational, broadening, helpful. Refreshes some things from my long-ago training and experience, expands much beyond them. gives insights and "feel" along with great asides and concepts and reminders and focus points... Highest recommendation for layman or medical pro.
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Professor! Clear, articulate and engaging presentation and discussion.
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Should have a better title. The format is great. It give one case history after another and shows how tricky a diagnosis and sometimes a patient can be.
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Medical Knowledge for the layman The Grand Round Series of individual case studies of patients is a good way to gain general knowledge and refresher or revision about a disease condition. I look forward to more of these cases as it is a comfortable armchair way to gain useful medical knowledge that provides me the knowledge to help my family members if the need arises. Perhaps, other medical reviews or studies could come from a Traditional Chinese Medicine perspective as the market for them could be significant from China.
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insight Into How a Physician Diagnoses This was a very enjoyable course to listen to even though it was not a heavily academic course. The professor is a great speaker, very easy to listen to you, and has a congenial delivery. This is not a course I will likely keep on my shelf as a reference, but it is very engaging to go through as it focuses on the systematic thinking that physicians use when presented a list of symptoms needing a diagnosis. Some of the cases were straightforward, and some required a bit more sleuthing. There is wide spectrum of conditions presented, from pediatric to emergent to psychological to routine. It gives many tips to the viewer as a patient in how to directly and efficiently communicate to one's own physicians during office visits. Plenty of medical terminology was presented with clear and understandable definitions. All in all, a pleasurable course that is just deep enough to maintain interest and learning, yet not so cerebral as to require intense concentration.
Date published: 2017-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent introduction to medical problem solving This is an unusual course for The Teaching Company. It would seem to have a limited potential audience. I am in that audience, but I wonder how many others will find it helpful. Dr. Benaroch presents two dozen medical cases and goes through them in a manner that would be typical of grand rounds in a teaching hospital. He begins with the patient’s reason for the visit to the clinic or emergency department (“the chief complaint”) and then walks the viewer through the list of possible diagnoses that would explain the problem, finally narrowing the diagnosis to one. He does this in a very logical and thorough manner, and along the way he introduces some basic medical terminology, anatomy, and physiology. He emphasizes the importance of the history and downplays the use of sophisticated technology. That is the way day-to-day medicine is practiced by experienced and well-trained physicians. Exotic lab tests and high tech equipment are invaluable in some cases, but they always have to be used against the background of a thorough history and physical exam. He also points out the all too common problems of fragmented care, poor communication among physicians, and overuse of drugs (polypharmacy). The diseases he presents are almost all common or at least not rare: asthma, appendicitis, celiac disease, massive trauma, and breast cancer, for example. While all he does is talk, with no actual patients in front of the camera, Dr. Benaroch does a remarkably good job of making the subjects of his cases seem like real people. He brings them to life by giving every patient a name and personal information. I am sure they are composites or purely made up, but he makes them seem authentic by recounting in sometimes humorous detail their mannerisms and responses to the physician. He described the supposed bickering between a husband and wife in the exam room with such realism that I had to laugh. I am a physician, but I have been a laboratory doctor for decades and do not treat patients in my practice. I found this an excellent review to help me think along with a clinical physician in areas I do not see in my practice, and I looked forward to every presentation. My wife is a nurse and also found it a useful supplement and review. I imagine any lay person who is interested in how doctors approach problems would find the course helpful. And despite the lecture-only format and specialized subject matter, it is anything but dry.
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great course This course was a fun and interesting way to learn how doctors go about diagnosing an illness and how a patient can help themselves and the doctor out by bringing up things that are going on in their life. It was kind of like listening to a mystery.
Date published: 2017-06-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Concerned about cite to narcotics study Overall the series was interesting and informative. However in the discussion of natcotics addiction he cited to "one study of 24,000 patients with chronic pain". I question whether this is in fact a reference to the study cited in a letter that was actually of hospital surgery patients. If so this confusion is part of what contributed greatly to the narcotic additions that led to heroine. If so it raises serious concerns about the quality of information in this course.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Explained a lot. It was a gift for my granddaughter who is wanting to be a doctor.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Professor presentation style, easy to watch, informative.
Date published: 2017-03-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing I am disappointed in the course. From reading the catalog I expected actual video scenes of a doctor doing rounds, with patient interaction. Instead we have a series of lectures. And, some lectures don't have anything to do with a doctor/patient situation. Lectures on the importance of being vaccinated, for example, or the lecture on how to operate an external defibrillator. Good to know but not what I expected in the course.
Date published: 2017-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth viewing It's been a year or more (at my age who knows?) since I watched this, but I watched every episode at least twice. It's on my 'look again' shelf' to see again. Having had a quasi-medical career I could sometimes guess the diagnosis, often not. How a diagnosis is arrived at is interesting, and points to the importance of honesty with one's physician, and having a physician with whom you feel comfortable. This is a very well produced course.
Date published: 2016-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Helpful I am just nicely into this course. The presentation makes very clear the methodology used by physicians as they eliminate possible sources of the presenting problem. The course helps patients to understand how important their own presentation of a problem is when they visit a doctor. The illnesses or problems presented are common experiences that many of us will encounter through life.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grand Rounds on Steroids This is without a doubt one of the best courses I have heard. As a health care professional (Registered Nurse) I was a bit skeptical of its value to me but decided to give it a try. I could not be more pleased. I just hope this guy has done more of these. I will buy them all! What a rare and wonderful treat!! Thank you!
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Grand Rounds I ordered this CD thinking that "Grand Rounds" meant making rounds and talking to or listening to various patients. Instead, the CD was just a lecture by a doctor . It taught me some things but was definitely not what I expected.
Date published: 2016-09-06
  • y_2021, m_4, d_21, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_105
  • loc_en_CA, sid_1977, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 11.21ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Medical School for Everyone: Grand Rounds Cases
Course Trailer
I Never Feel Good
1: I Never Feel Good

Start your rounds with a trip to a general clinic, where you meet a patient whose chief complaint is, "I never feel good." Along the way, you'll learn how doctors solve mysteries like this with the aid of several tools-the most important being the patient's medical history.

35 min
A Persistent Fever
2: A Persistent Fever

Go back to an outpatient clinic in 1981, where a young man's fever, cough, and ulcers led to a surprising diagnosis. This powerful lecture is an opportunity to learn more of the basic tools of medical diagnoses and to discover how doctors began to fight back against this modern epidemic.

32 min
Puzzling Pain
3: Puzzling Pain

Learn how critical a complete medical history, a thorough physical exam, and collaboration between doctors can be to make a tricky diagnosis. Your patient: "Louisa," a woman who has suffered from abdominal pain for years. Does she have irritable bowel syndrome? Is it all just psychological? Or is it something else entirely?

33 min
Just Look at Me
4: Just Look at Me

This lecture's case involves an illness that's been around for millennia but which many of today's physicians have never seen. It involves a 10-year-old boy suffering from a rash that doesn't bother him, red-appearing eyes, and a cough. And the true culprit is one that could easily have been prevented.

32 min
Headaches in Wonderland
5: Headaches in Wonderland

Your patient is back in the emergency room with another "sinus headache," but the nurses think he's just after drugs. What's the real story? In finding out, you'll learn how physicians diagnose headaches; the differences between primary and secondary headaches; red flags doctors look for when determining their severity; and more.

30 min
The Tennis Player
6: The Tennis Player

Discover how doctors diagnose a common disease that can kill a healthy 36-year-old woman in months but, in a 90-year-old, may not need to be treated at all. Through the case of a woman with increasing hip pain, you'll learn more about the genetics of this disease, ways to test for it, and more.

32 min
Sudden Collapse
7: Sudden Collapse

You're at the grocery and the person next to you suddenly collapses. What do you do? Here, learn how doctors (and laypeople) can use basic lifesaving steps to deal with a sudden catastrophe. Also, explore the methods physicians use to prevent health emergencies before they happen.

31 min
School Failure
8: School Failure

Meet a surly young man who could just be your typical teenager-or who could be suffering from an illness that's a severe threat to young adults. His story is a fascinating window into how doctors sort through myriad symptoms to diagnose and alleviate a highly prevalent-and all too serious-medical problem.

30 min
Dizzy Attacks
9: Dizzy Attacks

Tina suffers from attacks of dizziness and is certain she has hypoglycemia, but doctors should never fall into the mental trap of starting a diagnosis with a false assumption. In this intriguing lecture, Dr. Benaroch shows you how physicians make expert diagnoses when one specific test isn't available.

31 min
Weight Loss
10: Weight Loss

Charlene has come into your office for a checkup and it is clear that she's lost a significant amount of weight. Follow along as Dr. Benaroch uses his medical savvy to make a diagnosis, reveal insights into what the real problem is, and establish a course of treatment that goes far beyond just taking pills.

33 min
I Can't Walk
11: I Can't Walk

Discover how a young man's painful calves lead to a surprising diagnosis. As you'll learn, sometimes even the most uncommon of complaints can signify the presence of a fairly common illness. You'll also discover why you should never underestimate the seriousness of this particular diagnosis.

31 min
Learning from Failure
12: Learning from Failure

Sometimes doctors make mistakes. As Dr. Benaroch guides you through the diagnosis of a patient with a case of recurrent hives, he reveals several powerful lessons for both doctors and patients. These include insisting on clear instructions and remembering that treating the disease is not the same as treating the patient.

30 min
The Children Who Come and Go
13: The Children Who Come and Go

Discover how a young man's painful calves lead to a surprising diagnosis. As you'll learn, sometimes even the most uncommon complaints can signify the presence of a fairly common illness. You'll also discover why you should never underestimate the seriousness of this particular diagnosis.

32 min
Guardian's Day
14: Guardian's Day

How does a doctor get from the common complaint of constipation to a diagnosis of something much more dangerous? In solving this medical riddle, you'll learn about a particular medical epidemic so powerful and prevalent that, in one county in Kentucky, it's deprived many children of their parents.

29 min
Dickens's Diagnosis
15: Dickens's Diagnosis

At 55 years of age and quite overweight, Joe falls asleep all the time. Is it narcolepsy? Is it kidney disease? The real culprit, you'll discover, is a condition originally described by author Charles Dickens; one whose effects are more wide-ranging (and life-threatening) on the human body than you can imagine.

31 min
Shaking Sammi
16: Shaking Sammi

Meet Sammi, an infant girl who's brought to the emergency room and suddenly starts shaking right on the examining table. How do doctors act to both help her and diagnose her as the attack happens? And what are the mysterious connections between the underlying diagnosis and a critical deficiency?

29 min
Hickam's Dictum
17: Hickam's Dictum

Sometimes, a single patient can have more than one disease (a medical "philosophy" called Hickam's Dictum). This idea is illustrated by a middle-aged woman who can't stop vomiting. The road to determining her interconnected diagnoses is a harrowing story that illustrates why doctors always need to stay on their toes.

29 min
Forgetting Jerusalem
18: Forgetting Jerusalem

Explore from two perspectives the case of a patient with a mysterious illness. First, see how doctors diagnose his condition and work with the patient to prevent a medical emergency so old it's mentioned in the Bible. Then, find out what happens in the worst-case scenario, where time is of the essence in saving a life.

29 min
Sherlock's Investigation
19: Sherlock's Investigation

Step inside a university's student health center, where your patient, Elena, makes repeated visits complaining of nausea, then vision troubles, then a urinary tract infection. What's going on here? Investigate how seasoned doctors act like Sherlock Holmes to arrive at a diagnosis of a disease that predominantly affects young adults.

32 min
The Boy Who Doesn't Speak
20: The Boy Who Doesn't Speak

This lecture's diagnosis is surrounded by controversy about what causes this specific illness, how it should be treated, and even how common it is. In exploring how doctors approach it, you'll learn insights into childhood development; specifically, how to know when something may be wrong and what tests can help narrow down a cause.

31 min
Antarctic Adventure
21: Antarctic Adventure

You're on an expedition in Antarctica. You're diagnosed with a problem that requires immediate emergency surgery, and there's only one person who can perform it: you. Use this real-life scenario from the Soviet Union's Sixth Antarctic Expedition in 1961 as an intriguing window into how doctors diagnose and treat this problem in less extreme, 21st-century circumstances.

30 min
A Sunday Drive
22: A Sunday Drive

This Grand Rounds starts with you as an eyewitness to a serious motorbike accident, where the diagnosis is obvious and the story lies in what happens to the body when it's pushed to the edge of survival. Follow this patient from treatment at the site to lifesaving strategies in the emergency room.

31 min
Cough, Cough, Cough
23: Cough, Cough, Cough

Margo, a 49-year-old woman, goes to the doctor with a persistent cough. What are the common (and not-so-common) causes of persistent coughing? How do trained doctors analyze cough for clues about an underlying diagnosis? And when this particular diagnosis is reached-how is it treated in an outpatient clinic?

29 min
A Confused Father
24: A Confused Father

Dr. Benaroch concludes this lecture series with an elderly patient who has frequent confusion and forgetfulness. Is the most obvious diagnosis the correct one? Then, he sums up the many lessons you've learned throughout the course, both about being a good doctor and a good patient.

34 min
Roy Benaroch

Doctoring is about listening and paying attention. There's a lot to know, too-- but if you're not paying attention, you'll be misguided by what you think you already know. An open mind is a better diagnostic tool than one stuffed with facts

ALMA MATER

Emory University

INSTITUTION

Emory University

About Roy Benaroch

Dr. Roy Benaroch is Adjunct Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at the Emory University School of Medicine. He earned his B.S. in Engineering at Tulane University, followed by his M.D. at Emory University. He completed his residency through Emory University's affiliated hospitals in 1997, serving as chief resident and instructor of pediatrics in 1998. Board certified in general pediatrics in 1997, Dr. Benaroch practices full time at Pediatric Physicians, PC, located near Atlanta, Georgia. In his dual roles, he teaches medical students and residents at his practice and gives regular lectures to physician's assistants at Emory University.

Dr. Benaroch has published two books on parenting and pediatric health topics: Solving Health and Behavioral Problems from Birth through Preschool: A Parent's Guide and A Guide to Getting the Best Health Care for Your Child. He also has a blog for parents and health professionals at pediatricinsider.com, and he has served as a featured expert on WebMD.com. Dr. Benaroch also serves on the board of directors of the Cobb Health Futures Foundation, Inc., a nonprofit group dedicated to public health for people of all backgrounds.

Also By This Professor