Plus Pilots: Identity in the Age of Ancestral DNA

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horoscope glorified. There are two well known Retail genetic "ancestry" products that should be considered the equivalent of the horoscope: "For Entertainment purposes only." I have worked in this field and bring a skeptic cynicism to them... the first lecture of this series shouldn't be on focusing on the psychological outcomes of the tests (and I've seen some dramatic outcomes). but to Debunk most of these tests as low-resolution guesses as to your ancestry. Very low resolution. Retail tests are not very accurate at all... and the statistics provided in the Retail Reports are also routinely misunderstood. The $100 upgrades ("medical analysis") are expensive version of the better and cheaper 3rd party DNA submission services (the Retail Tests allow you to UPLOAD your results for more detailed analysis - easily found on the web). One notorious instance was a co-worker who had a "hit" for Breast Cancer on a retail test... generated tens of thousands of medical tests, etc. ... BRCA1/BRCA2 positive... which she wasn't. Thankfully talked out of a mastectomy. These are not-ready for prime-time services. They do NOT sequence your genome (a common misunderstanding). It would be premature to delve into this topic with the current state of retail genetic testing... this kind of course will not age well. And the kind of course that would age well would be tedious and boring. Having said all that, this is still an important topic... and plenty of good information could be provided... but mostly at tapping down expectations. Receiving a result that you are "8% Indigenous South American" is virtually meaningless.... people don't want to hear that.
Date published: 2020-09-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Okay Facilitator is pleasant. However the information presented is not really enlightening.
Date published: 2020-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Interesting I would love to see the full course for this having gotten into my own genealogy a few years ago (and discovering some surprises!). I find ancestry absolutely fascinating and I love learning how the results are determined.
Date published: 2020-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from simple and clear a comprehensive but understandable enough lecture. nice one
Date published: 2020-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Pilot I have been working on my Family Tree for many years, and have recently begun the DNA journey. I found Professor Anita Foeman's lecture engaging and interesting. I would love to see this as a GCP course - including topics like understanding the terms used in genetic genealogy. I think this has wonderful potential to be a full course.
Date published: 2020-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DNA Tests and the Surprises and Reactions Professor Anita Foeman did an excellent lecture on 1st lesson DNA. I already had my DNA results and an update as technology progressed. Looking forward on how far back these test potentially can reach, methods, ect. She talked of personal reactions to the DNA test and individuals being surprised of their ancestral background. Professor Foeman had a very interesting lecture.
Date published: 2020-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would watch series Engaging and trustworthy, the professor stresses that we are all 99.9% the same, shows examples of persons who are siblings but have very different phenotypes and integrates how family stories play a role all while teaching about the importance and history of generics. Great job!
Date published: 2020-09-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting topic and some interesting discussion I enjoyed the presentation but I don't see how there is enough for a whole course.
Date published: 2020-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Introduction Will watch this course as soon as it is launched. Very impressive Professor.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior educator What great teacher. Gifted. Made something that could be a little boring very fascinating.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting topic and presenter This is a course that I hope shows up in GCP...I like her presentation, use of tying data to people.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A good overview of how the process of how human genome testing works, and a decent, though brief, identification of some of the complexities of identity formation and some of the ways it might relate to genetic testing. I expected a little more of a critical attitude towards the genetic testing, particularly in a time when it has become very commercialized. What oversight is there on the companies doing the testing? Is this information actually reliable? I do not feel that that question was adequately addressed.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Draws attention to subject of wide current interes Excellent presentation, scientifically correct, professionally attrective. I plan to finish the course under the Great Courses Plus.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Insightful I hope this becomes a series. There is a lot of great information to explore on Ancestral DNA.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Honestly; I was very skeptical. Honestly; I was very skeptical of the tests and the course. The professor was excellent; really touched on the pressure points of this new science. Interested in learning more (and isn't that the whole point?).
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Geat enlightenment. This brings together my Ancestry DNA results, and what they might mean.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinating research. Professor Forman has a comfortable and engaging approach that makes you want to hear more. The research on genetic and ethnic ancestry is challenging our concepts and definitions. Thank you for this amazing work.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Introduction Looking forward to more on this subject. Hope to learn the ways DNA tests help us understand our ancestors and our history.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very enlightening! Love the lecture. Have been working on my family history and wondered if a DNA test would benefit me. I now have my answer. If there were more lessons my wife and I would start watching right away.
Date published: 2020-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Timely, Timely and always Timely Thoroughly enjoyed this and wetted my appetite for more.
Date published: 2020-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Identity in the Age of Ancestral DNA Very well presented and informative. Would be interested in the rest of the course.
Date published: 2020-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Informative and engaging talk I learned a lot and the speaker was engaging and knowledgable. The information presented was relatable and helped to explain to some of the results that I have seen from family members. I would listen to more talks given by this presenter, Professor Anita Foeman.
Date published: 2020-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Informative and Entertaining. I know almost nothing about DNA and tracing our ancestors using it. I found Dr. Foeman’s lecture entertaining and interesting.
Date published: 2020-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great idea for a course I've wondered how reliable these DNA tests are. And why don't they say Homo Sapiens 97%/Neanderthal 3%?
Date published: 2020-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Identity in the Age of Ancestral DNA I have taken several of the major DNA tests/programs including Ancestry and 23 and me. I found similar results. In both cases I found the information fascinating. I felt Professor Foeman was an excellent presenter and covered the topic in both an informative and engaging manner. I would do a larger course with her if you created it.
Date published: 2020-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent professor and subject What a great lecture. Dr. Foeman was excellent. Her style is engaging and smooth. She is obviously extremely smart and passionate about the subject. I loved how she was able to personalize the subject by citing real people and real responses. It made me want to research my ancestry further. I'm looking forward to this being released as a full series of lectures.
Date published: 2020-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Identity Post DNA The pilot lecture was very informative and presented by an engaging instructor. I would be very interested in viewing a full course on this timely topic. Having completed DNA testing by Ancestry and 23 and Me the topic is of great interest. I continue to do regular genealogy research and this has expanded my own identity and helped me have a deeper appreciation of all humanity . I believe this course would be of great interest to similarly involved people seeking to understand the commonality of our human race.
Date published: 2020-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinating insights into DNA ancestry from a knowledgeable professor.
Date published: 2020-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Informative and interesting Ms Foeman is an excellent speaker and presented the topic very well.
Date published: 2020-09-01
  • y_2021, m_4, d_19, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_37
  • loc_en_CA, sid_90065, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6.47ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Identity in the Age of Ancestral DNA
1: Identity in the Age of Ancestral DNA

Twenty years ago, the first draft of the full human genome map was completed, and consumer-based ancestry DNA kits started to get popular. Join Professor Anita Foeman to look at how—and if—these kits work, what the results mean, and the ways people have changed how they think about lineage, race, and ancestry.

29 min