Plus Pilots: The Science of Cooking

Rated 5 out of 5 by from More of this course please! I found this really useful and hope to see more courses like this!
Date published: 2021-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More, please! Definitely want to see more of this course. Understanding the process, beyond just following a recipe, really makes for better results in the kitchen.
Date published: 2021-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for I like the cooking courses available, but this is exactly what I was hoping to find on GC+: a course that tells me what's happening in the pan and why we use the ingredients that we do. I hope this is expanded to a full course, and would definitely watch more lectures with this particular focus.
Date published: 2021-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent course- please add more this is a very good scientific explanation of the chemical and physical processes ocurring in making a roux. Please expand this pilot and turn this into a full course.
Date published: 2021-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from theres a lot to a roux being from Louisiana, I've made rouxs all my life both stove top and oven based. but i learned a lot about using each properly in this class. i love learning the science behind cooking. looking forward to more classes.
Date published: 2020-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly Describes the Material I have taken other Great Courses Plus cooking courses. Those courses are directed to masking a particular dish. I was very pleased with this course because it talks about the science involved in a particular cooking process. I would watch more lectures such as this if they become available.
Date published: 2020-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Engaging and instructive The course helped to demystify the whys of cooking without being too simple nor complex. Love the way the instructor clearly explained the scientific underpinnings by demonstrating the entire process via the making a roux. Can't wait for the full course!!
Date published: 2020-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Subject I have always enjoyed cooking and most of my learning took place watching someone perform but without the Why. I am not satisfied with just following recipes any more and really want to learn how to experiment with method as opposed to just experimenting with ingredients. I loved the content and would only suggest as others have that presenting the demonstration and how it is used in a finished product would be useful to the overall understanding. That might have to do with my lack of knowledge but that is why I have subscribed, to bridge that gap.
Date published: 2020-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really hate cooking, but I really LOVED this course pilot show. Please… PLEASE … make more!
Date published: 2020-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting! First episode I've watched. Enjoyed it very much! I'll definitely be considering these concepts the next time I cook.
Date published: 2020-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truely Learning the Basics of Cooking I loved this pilot! I already feel more knowledgable and empowered in the kitchen. I just finished making mac and cheese from scratch leveraging the roux base and we were stunned at the results. Never going back to a box. I really hope they make this a full course!
Date published: 2020-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More please! I was sad to learn of Bill Briwa's death, and that certainly explained why there had been no new CIA/GC in a while. Having watched everything from Chef Briwa a couple of times over, I was excited to see this Plus Pilot on the science of cooking show up on the list. It is interesting and engaging. There's just enough science explained to appeal to my geeky little heart, and just enough cooking to appeal to my inner Julia Child. Please develop this into a robust series as you did with the CIA lectures.
Date published: 2020-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVED Excellent presentation. I enjoyed all of it. I walked away feeling edified and excited about the subject. I would very much like this to be a robust course with many classes.
Date published: 2020-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finish with an example recipe! Interesting lecture. I definitely learned something new and practical. This could easily be a full course that I would enjoy. To make it even better, I would have loved to see an example or two of a finished sauce at the end, even just highly abbreviated. In other words, I would love to finish watching a class and get cooking - not just a sauce base but a full dish.
Date published: 2020-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Beginning to the science of cooking Excellent Beginning to the science of cooking. It is easy to follow and modify recipes but, understanding the why brings your understanding to a higher level. Looking forward to a whole series of lectures.
Date published: 2020-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Clearly explained and demonstrated I agree with another review that it could have been tightened up a bit, but it was very interesting and I learned some things I never knew before. I look forward to future videos on various topics and concepts.
Date published: 2020-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very interesting topic I am looking to learn the basic cooking techniques that I see on the TV cooking shows but i never learned at home. This was a good video and introduction to the science behind the recipes. The video could more a bit quicker and be about 10 minutes shorter but overall very good. I hope there are more in the series.
Date published: 2020-09-07
  • y_2021, m_4, d_18, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_25
  • loc_en_CA, sid_90022, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3.72ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
The Science of Cooking
1: The Science of Cooking

Cooking can sometimes seem like magic. You mix things, stir things, heat things, and viola! All things transform to different things! It’s not magic—it’s science. Looking at the components in a simple roux, Chef Ted Russin of The Culinary Institute of America explains how each ingredient combines with another—while heat changes the consistency and flavors—and demonstrates principals of chemistry at work while teaching you how to make the base foundation of many popular soups and stews.

43 min