Plus Pilots: What We Know (and Don’t Know) about the Big Bang

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to understand but very enlightening thanks for the existential crisis Great Courses Plus
Date published: 2020-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Clear explanation of important topic Yes. Do a course on cosmology. There is so much to be discussed.
Date published: 2020-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very interesting subject and clear presentation It would be great if The Great Courses Plus could have more Cosmology courses. By the way, do I understand it correctly, that Pilot means a complete course will be available here soon?
Date published: 2020-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I enjoyed it ... Clarified a lot of the myths and misunderstandings often propagated about the Big Bang theory.
Date published: 2020-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Enjoyable, Informative, Easy to Understand... Difficult topic make more understandable. The table illustration (near the end) could be make into a more engaging graphic. I watched the entire portion... keeping my eyes closed minutes at a time to determine if it works on Audio... it does. Visually.... the suit looks awkward. Embrace the pony tail hair style... clean it up... it's kool to have a tail like he has and talk physics. But the suit is visually distracting... consider a better fitting jacket/tie (or abandon it all together)... makeup to limit the shine / sweat... I enjoyed it... I don't know what other topics can be added to this lecture to make up 12 or 24 lectures... there are plenty of hot topics to discuss... the current "Crisis in Cosmology" (there are many of them)... The "are we living in the Matrix" makes more sense when applied to cosmology... whoever wrote this simulation really spent little time making the distant galaxies make sense... like the backgrounds of HALO (video game)... they're just there to give the impression of depth... don't study them too long/hard... Physics breaks down farther and farther out... who can make sense of it all? Verdict: Yes! Critic: Excellent material, visual presentation needs work.
Date published: 2020-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well done. This lecture was presented logically and understandably. I EAGERLY look forward to the remaining lectures. Please release this course soon.
Date published: 2020-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very understandable I thought this was a great lecture and would like to see more from him. He explained the Big Bang in a clear, concise manner and added really good details about what is going on now and in the future as far as we currently know. He is easy to listen to and highly engaging as a speaker. Please add more from him.
Date published: 2020-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Explanation of What we know and Don't about t This is a good introductory session about the Big Bang and our current knowledge of the state of the universe. Was concise and careful in claims about what is known. Would be interested in how this pilot woul dbe expanded into a full course.
Date published: 2020-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a Course I would Take! I liked this. I would take the entire course if/when available. The material was not too technical and the instructor had a good delivery. It was akin to watching something on PBS NOVA TV show. Graphics, imagery and video is important to any lecture otherwise I become bored - as with someone standing at a lecturn lecturing! I am a visual learner.
Date published: 2020-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now I Get It! Professor Felder has finally given me an explanation of the Big Bang that makes sense and doesn't rely upon my already knowing a lot of Physics like so many other lectures. I recommend this to anyone interested in the fundamental facts about the Big Bang, and hope that Professor Felder will be given the opportunity to expand upon this brief introductory lecture.
Date published: 2020-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Title hooked me and delivered honestly. A worthwhile experience. Perfect balance between breadth of subject matter and detail of explanation. Understandable by viewers with a broad range of technical expertise and aimed especially at those of us who are not elite astrophysicists. I look forward to more lectures in this series.
Date published: 2020-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent - go to full course! Excellent excellent excellent lecture. Engaging, easy to digest explanations for the lay person (which is HARD with this topic), and mindblowingly fascinating + sparking of a desire to keep learning more about the Big Bang and the origins of the universe! Great presenter all around - please go to full course!
Date published: 2020-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very interesting I enjoyed the presentation and would like to hear more. I would watch the series if it becomes available.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent lecture!!! Great lecture!!! The professor, Gary Felder, is excellent in communicating the key points. He gives clear and easily understandable presentation of a complex subject. Please make this pilot course one of your regular courses, and/or add this professor to your regular professor list. Thank you very much.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent presentation and interesting topic I found the presenter's presentation comfortable to watch, easy to follow, and look forward to the next lecture.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please continue producing this course. I have taken several other courses offered by Great Courses on similar topics and have learned much. Professor Gary Felder, in this one lecture he has cleared up some questions I still had. His style was interesting, concise, and easy to understand, because he used good analogies and the information was given in an order which was easy to follow. I would like to hear more in depth information about the topic.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Bang Terrific presentation. Looking forward to the the complete video.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent all-around! Excellent presentation, engaging presenter, fascinating subject. Go, go, go!
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big bang theory and God As one who believes God is the center of the Big Bang theory, I was curious how this scientist would integrate my God-centered beliefs with science - which is possible. Dr Felder does an excellent job in presenting science for not just the lay member but a faith minded person as well.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eye opening The professor is engaging, spoke very clearly and enthusiastically about his topic, which was almost all new to me. He used graphics well and I liked the slides with headings to know what is coming up next, the introduction to state what he will discuss and the review at the end. I would recommend the course.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professor Gary Felder is very clear on his explanations on the Big Bang. He even explained why (if it would happen), A Universe heat death would not be the Universe death of high temperature. Another point, the Professor is very interesting.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Informative This was an excellent short lecture. The professor explained everything really well. The only problem is it is so short and would be really nice to see a full series of the topic.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent lecture on an such a difficult subject I would certainly watch the complete series if produced. So very interesting!
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good down to earth description I would view a full course on this. The Big Bang Theory is a mystery to most of us, even retired engineers like me. This was an interesting explanation that was understandable, credible and interesting to watch.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinating Excellent description of the possible fates of the universe for lay people.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lecture Outstanding presentation of the Big Bang theory. This first lecture covered a lot of ground. Would recommend taking this from pilot to main stream.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clear and concise, easy to understand Professor explains concepts in terms easy to understand. I learned a few things even though I have watched many of the Great Courses astronomy courses.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I would definite watch an entire course by this professor. This was one of the clearest explanations of the implications of the Big Bang I’ve seen.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great update on Cosmology My knowledge of the Big Bang goes back over 50 years.I was amazed to find out what little I know about the current state of theory.
Date published: 2020-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What We Know about the big Bang. Excelente and very clear. Waiting for Lectures 2, 3. 4................
Date published: 2020-09-01
  • y_2021, m_1, d_21, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_50
  • loc_en_CA, sid_90041, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3.72ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
What We Know (and Don’t Know) about the Big Bang
1: What We Know (and Don’t Know) about the Big Bang

Chances are, what you think you know about the Big Bang is not accurate. Professor Gary Felder takes you on an eye-opening journey through time and space to reveal what we know about the Big Bang, the expansion of the universe, the possible futures for the universe, and the important way in which our understanding of the future of the universe has changed in the last few decades.

27 min