Plus Pilots: Why Learn Wildlife Tracking?

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well done A well made teaser that is still packed with interesting and usable information. If you don't produce it, I will search for a video course by this teacher. Well done. Hope to see the full version in the future. I think a video class would obviously be the best format.
Date published: 2021-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More please Would greatly appreciate the expanded course; this is not a topic covered elsewhere
Date published: 2021-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome way to experience the outdoors. Must see for anyone wanting to embark on a skill improvement journey. I enjoyed this primer and would like to see a lot of these. Rarely, when I have been hiking I might see a particular animal, such as a fox, however, with the skills outlined here a wider understanding becomes apparent.
Date published: 2021-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great program. Very interested Would really like the full series. Meaningful to entire family
Date published: 2021-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent introduction I found this to be a very interesting introduction to the subject, and I hope this is expanded into a full course.
Date published: 2021-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would like more I agree strongly with other reviewers that this content should be expanded into a full course with plenty of graphics. Excellent presenter!
Date published: 2020-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really hope this goes beyond a pilot episode Some say the pace was too fast. I disagree. I wouldn't change anything. This series would be very relevant to me. Make this series happen!
Date published: 2020-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please continue !!! As an introduction this lecture was wonderfully full of information, hoping for the full course to come out soon, as far as the speed, I enjoy a lecture without fluff. I can always watch a lecture twice and prefer that to falling asleep or being bored waiting for relative information. Great start.
Date published: 2020-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why Learn Wildlife Tracking? This is an excellent addition to our course selections. I hope that there will be more episodes of this program.
Date published: 2020-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Agree with the previous review that slowing down might be helpful. Since this was an introductory overview that's okay. Hopefully future lectures will go more in depth on various things covered. It would be even better if the Great Courses invested in good graphics for this course - not just still pictures but multiple distances and angles as that can change how a track is viewed and is what one does with an actual track.
Date published: 2020-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed topic and information I really enjoyed the topic and information, but have one critique. Please slow down a bit, and take a breath, to allow your statements to "sink in". I found myself backing up the program a few times, just to allow myself to digest the information.
Date published: 2020-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Intro! Where’s the rest of this course? 26 minutes is a good start. Hoping they make more lectures on this subject available. Very well presented and very informative. Let’s see more!
Date published: 2020-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pilot Review: Excellent Very interesting. Good presentation by a qualified Professor. Content is apropos to me as I live near Yellowstone Park. Looking forward to the full course.
Date published: 2020-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very descriptive I enjoyed the lecture very much; it was illuminating and I would love to see the rest of the course. Such an interesting topic!
Date published: 2020-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tracking Excellent course, looking forward to learn more and to put into use
Date published: 2020-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinating Really interesting introduction to this topic - a whole new way to look at the natural world and how to "open one's eyes" to be more aware of the life that surrounds us everyday. I hope this pilot is developed into a full lecture series - this has wetted my appetite and I want to learn more!
Date published: 2020-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around good material and presentation Excellent! The instructor has passion and apparently deep knowledge and gives an engaging presentation.
Date published: 2020-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yes, Please, More! This subject is very interesting to me. I would love to learn more. The presentation was engaging and skillful. The pilot left me wanting more!
Date published: 2020-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent new focus for Great Courses! I really enjoyed the pilot episode about Learning to Track Animals. It was a departure from what I've come to think of as standard "great courses" material -- and I really appreciated the freshness of the topic. The lecturer was excellent and engaging, and the only thing I wished for was to be able to jump right into the meat of the course, not have to wait for more episodes. Please get the rest of the course to us soon. Thanks.
Date published: 2020-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very interesting topic. I watched this tracking lecture and it left me wanting more. I would definitely watch a full series of lectures on this topic.
Date published: 2020-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great subject and skillfully presented. Lived in the mountains for 10 years and enjoy wildlife and being outdoors.
Date published: 2020-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great introduction I enjoyed the pilot. The instructor easily kept my attention and I would enjoy learning more on this topic.
Date published: 2020-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why Learning Tracking I just finished viewing the Pilot lecture which I very much enjoyed. I have lived in rural Alaska and British Columbia all my 84 years and notice animal tracks every day, but pay little attention to them. I sometimes guess what they are, but would not want to be critically questioned about them. I can positively identify a snow show hare though. The Pilot lecture has aroused my interest to learn the many signs and tracks I see every day so I intend to purchase this course.
Date published: 2020-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I learned a lot in 30 minutes I really hope to see more courses like this. It is obvious the professor has a passion for the natural world. I look forward to the full course. I would love to see more on foraging of wild plants and mushrooms too.
Date published: 2020-12-11
  • y_2021, m_2, d_28, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_32
  • loc_en_CA, sid_90088, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4.85ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Why Learn Wildlife Tracking?
1: Why Learn Wildlife Tracking?

Professor Casey McFarland opens your eyes to the ease and accessibility of wildlife tracking—no matter where you are or your experience level. As he’ll demonstrate, all you need is a bit of curiosity, a small amount of wildlife knowledge, and a developing eye for where and how to look.

26 min