The Apocalypse: Controversies and Meaning in Western History

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Revealing the meaning of Revelation I could not stop listening to the lectures. It is a great presentation, treating fairly all of the various methods of interpretation and providing a literary sense of the writing. It was so good I purchased Koester's book, titled Revelation.
Date published: 2018-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Methodical & Grounded I appreciated Professor Koester’s methodical approach to explain the book of Revelation and grounding it in the context of the time in which it was written. I learned a great deal, including some “fun facts” like the book of Revelation is the origin of the Hallelujah Chorus (which was new info even for a friend who is an Episcopalian priest). Professor’s presentation style flows easy. And the graphics added to the presentation.
Date published: 2018-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an excellent study and presentation. Very informed, culturally and historically. Gracious and reasonable approach with helpful graphics. Really appreciate the scholarship and humility involved in the learning experience.
Date published: 2018-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Apocalypse: Controversies and Meaning in Western H Our Bible Study group has enjoyed the DVD. We've had in-depth conversations and look forward to the next sessions. .
Date published: 2018-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Informative The lectures are informative and the lecturer speaks from his broad study of the book of REVELATION and much to do with it, especially its outworking in Christian history. He does DWELL on points that he makes and labours them too much at times. He sees HORRORS and TRIUMPHS of hope alternating in the book over and over again as being intentional in the vision. To me the book's vision was addressed to a readership of its time about the state of believers and about "things which must shortly take place" (Chapter 1 Verse 1). Chapter 1 Verse 3 one must accept as a reason to take the book very seriously, but it has puzzled many great minds for a long time. Perhaps the vision is addressed in places to the reader's subconscious.
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Valuable Addition One of the most valuable additions to my library. His treatment of Revelation is unique in the material covered. The background on the Apocalypse is rarely found in most similar books. Granted, I have not listened or read (I recommend the full transcript) to the last of three sections, but am sure it will also be above the standard. I enjoyed some of his explanations, such as the identity of the writer, John. IAlso, I will look for the author's separate book on Revelation.
Date published: 2018-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from helpful to my descision I liked looking at the historical perspectives and not just specific doctrinal biases
Date published: 2018-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Material on Revelation There is a lot of material on this biblical book, but this is the best lecture series I have ever heard. Dr. Koester gave powerful examples of the impact of this first century apocalypse on music. I also appreciated references to other examples of apocalyptic literature.
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great overview of the text and its history This marks the second time I have listened to this course and I also now bought it for a friend. The course organization is especially helpful. You get the text under your belt first and then turn to the history of its interpretation. The professor remains faithful to the text. He does not stray into idiosyncratic or agenda driven readings of Revelation. His overview of the history of the interpretation of the text really helped me to put the apocalyptic fervor of the mid-20th century into its broader context and to dissect Revelation from the doomsday prophecies so often attached to it. For those looking for a richer understanding of the text and its theological content, this course will not disappoint.
Date published: 2017-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting course This is an interesting topic and the prof did a great job explaining different positions.
Date published: 2017-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Inspiring and changeling! I was not sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised! The lecturer is great and very easy to understand. He has the ability to make the subject come alive. Very detailed and thorough.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very good course! Well worth your time.... I have purchased more than 30 great courses.... but this s is my first review.... For those who look for predictions in Revelation, this might not be the course for you.... but for the rest of Revelation 's fans this is truly a GREAT course... if for nothing else than the pleasure of listening to the rich timbre of the professor's voice I loved the basic organization of the course... discussing what an apocalypse was, what John's first listeners would understand, what is actually written in the book, and finally its multiple impacts through subsequent generations.... The lecture describing the Apocalypse 's influence on western music caught me totally off guard.... I already knew that most of these works were either inspired by the book or directly quoted it.... but hearing this music in this context was quite simply overwhelming.... this experience ALONE was worth the price of the course and certainly every second I had invested in listening to it..... I've already listened to the course in order at least three times on my commute.... but I've lost count of the number of random lectures I just hit while negotiating interstate 880..... If the Bible is of interest to you, you would do very well with this course... run, don't walk, to your audio download button..... Jeff
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from discouraging disappointing and has and annoying manner of speaking
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Making Sense of Revelations Once again the Great Courses shines light into the dark recesses of my knowledge base. Revelations always seemed like a spooky if not outright crazy book in the bible. Professor Koester brings sense and clarity to this mysterious work. If you have ever wondered about Revelations and what it might mean beyond late night evangelical preachers, then this is the course for you.
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clarifying the nonesense For so long I have heard every possible story about the apocalypse and always with completely conflicting opinions. This course was so incredibly thorough and enlightening that I bought a bible and read revelations through. It finally made sense. And what was fun, a few days into the course, I ended up in a conversation about Revelations and was able to make some good points and reasonable arguments. Felt great!
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good examination of the Book of Revelations I can agree with some of the lower ratings but still found this course of excellent value. It does point out the ways Apocalypse can be interpreted even if not examining all the ways. The discussion of how the book has impacted culture, such as music and art, was very enjoyable. Although the presentation is slow at times Professor Koester's presentation is very clear, concise, and easy to understand.
Date published: 2017-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Apocalypse Review The professor does a great job of explanations without adding opinions and sticks to the facts known to us from various periods of time. He doesn't talk down to you, is clear and concise. A good course for bible study.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally it makes sense! I had not delved too much into the book of Revelation because it always just seemed fantastical and irrelevant. Through this course I am learning that it is fantastical - by design - and what that fantasy meant to the original readers, readers throughout history and to me, the contemporary reader.
Date published: 2016-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Revealing Revelation This course not only makes the book of Revelation understandable, it links it to prophetic literature and early Christian thought. And as if that weren't enough, the professor examines its impact on history and music. Good illustrations, and a professor with a no-nonsense approach. The very best of all the great courses I've experienced.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Expected More Started out slow and though it picked up a little bit when the professor began discussing the impact of the book on western civilization (and the various antichrist predictions) I was never able to fully get into the professor’s style and the course just didn’t engage me. I was hoping the professor would've spent more time discussing the narrative of the book in some type of chronological order. Instead, in each lecture he would seem to pick one event from one of the chapters and spend substantial time analyzing how it may be relevant to today and how there is hope behind even the worse sounding things instead of how it fit in with the other events in the chapter or the overall book. On the surface that doesn't necessarily mean his approach was bad. What was off putting was how he would take that one event and find a way to tie it to a core Christian theological doctrine to the point where most lectures ended with it feeling like he had wrapped the entire conversation into a sermon and I was left wondering: was this just really about the book of Revelation? For example in the lecture in which he was discussing the woman in the wilderness and the dragon he took one line about how Satan was kicked out of heaven and used it to preach how God is always in control and evil's power is limited. It is a good point to make but he spent so much time on it that by the time the lecture was done I had forgotten about the story of the woman in the wilderness, what it really meant, and how that event fit in with the book of Revelation (what preceded it and what came after it?). The sermon feeling did recede when the course entered its third section: the book’s impact on western civilization. There was no sense of how all of these singular events fit in if you are looking to study the book as a full story. In fact he doesn’t even cover the events of some chapters at all. The professor also had a strange style I could only describe as passive-aggressive. He came off as very pleasant and like one who was a bedrock of solid old-school values. Yet there was a condescending tone in his analysis of some peoples’ interpretation of components of the book. I actually agreed with him on his assessments but the way he stated his disagreement was bizarre. Why not just come out and state it plainly rather than try to soften your statement? The tone of his voice betrayed him. If you are a believer and are interested in how the book of Revelation is actually more about hope than an apocalyptic end of the world and want to know how it relates to today (or even what the author was trying to convey to readers of his time) then you could very well love this course. Especially if you're interested in how to pull Christian doctrine and theology from cryptic events in the book. However if, like me, you purchased this course expecting a review of the events in each chapter and how they all fit together (treatment of the book of Revelation as a literary work) I don't think you'll come away satisfied. Since I know a lot about Christian theology already, I was more interested in discussion about the contents of the book itself and the story they tell than sidebars and sermons.
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Revelation is a message of hope! I have studied Revelation many times, from many prospectives, and with many teachers. This is, by far, the best and most meaningful study I have ever done. This study with Professor Koester brought all of those studies together, added a prospective that I had never even considered before, and gave me a huge, "AH HA." I now believe that, "I get it" -- it truly is a message of hope! Professor Koester is one of the best teachers I have had the privilege of studying with. Please, please, please, have him do more Great Courses.
Date published: 2015-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent content. Over the years I had read the book of revelation several times and also came across some interpretations of what the content's message is. It is my opinion that this interpretation is excellent and reflects the presenter's deep understanding of the subject..
Date published: 2015-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Enlightening Course on a Compliated Topic Dr. Koester's presentation of material dealing with the Apocalpyse is both clear and detailed. This topic, by its very nature, is controversial and his findings (nor those anyone else) will be universally embraced but Dr. Koester does an excellent job of brining out the historic background of the topic. I found his approach refreshing and fair to the numerous viewpoints that surround both the Old Testament prophets and the writings of the New Testament. At the end of the day I felt as though Dr. Koester had covered the topic well and planted the seed for further study. For this I am most appreciative.
Date published: 2015-01-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too little respect The instructor interprets The Revelation from a purely historical point of view. As should be the case for all of the Bible, no book should be interpreted out of the context of the rest of it. It seems as if Revelation is nothing other than political commentary/satire/cartoon. There is absolutely no effort to present the spiritual message. it certainly cannot be exclusively a commentary on the corruption of Imperial Rome, although this could be part of it also. Place it in the context of Genesis where God created the world, people declined to obey God and were thus separated form God. Reunification with God was made possible through the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ, but the Creation is still suffering. Revelation brings the Biblical narrative to a logical spiritual conclusion. Believers spend and eternity with God, unbelievers spend eternity without him, just as they want. Creation is regenerated into something good again, without suffering and pain. The instructor does not appear to believe Christianity has a spiritual message, only a psychological and historical message. All it can do is encourage us to become better people, but God has no power. Material on the way society interpreted Revelation through history was good, and in keeping with his views that it can only be interpreted from an historical perspective. It is too bad there is no respect for religion as truth here.
Date published: 2015-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Done This is no ordinary course. Mr. Koester is one of the top scholars in his area of specialization. He wrote the Yale Anchor Bible Series commentary on Revelation. It is clear he has thought through the ideas in his lectures over many years. In addition, Mr. Koester is an excellent speaker and very well organized. You will learn a lot.
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Course! I would recommend this course for anyone who has been trapped in the fearful wild speculation that goes on about the Book of Revelations and the Apocalypse. While not holding pat answers to everything, he presents logical answers to things that I have not only wondered about, but things that left me in fear. This is a really great course for those who need it.
Date published: 2014-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from better than I expected some of the reviews were a little toxic about this so I wasn't entirely sure how it would go. I am a 58 year old professional, happened to be a religion major in college (concentrated on eastern Religion); studied the Book of Revelation once; i'm an agnostic and Jew. So that's my background. I thought this was pretty good overall. I thought the professor was pretty animated, pretty focused; the content flowed well. I didn't entirely agree with some of his interpretations, but he's a scholar and I'm not, and I'm not bound by much of the exegeses about Revelation. I thought it was an interesting and well done approach - basically you have to interpret the Book in the context of the history and the time. I think that has merit, although I don't entirely agree. Furthermore, I thought the format of the course - the first half was more or less devoted to reviewing the actual history and text, and the second half devoted to reviewing the how the book was interpreted and how it influenced subsequent history and civilization -e.g. Revelation and music, revelation and slaves, revelation and social change in the 20th century....was an interesting take. Ths is not comprehensive, and he obviously has his own bias, but I thought this was worthwhile and recommend it.
Date published: 2013-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding The material here is outstanding. I have studied theology for 4.5 years, and have two master's degrees, and this is one of the finest courses I have ever taken. Dr. Koester does an outstanding job of giving background, and explaining the meaning of revelation to its original readers, which was the reason the book was written. He is an great New Testament scholar, and this course helped me better understand the context of the book, its meaning for its original readers, and its usefulness today to the church. I am very grateful for the course. I am about to finish a Master's in Theology at Duke, and plan to quote Dr. Koester in my thesis. I would gladly listen to any of his courses. I want to read his book on Hebrews also. He communicates very clearly, and has a great balance between the ancient background and the meaning of all the complex images, making it easily comprehensible. Highly recommended!!!
Date published: 2013-11-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Controversies I had previously read "Revelation and the End of All Things" by Koester. I wasn't very impressed by the book, but I couldn't resist 12 hours of lecture on one of my favorite topics. There are three parts to the series. He examines apocalypse in Judaism and Christianity, the text itself in a political sphere, and its impact on western history. Koester acknowledges that Revelation has been looked at in basically two ways, spiritual and historical. By historical he means those who have looked at Revelation as an unfolding of earthly events of the past that usually culminate in the interpreters own time or near future. He notes that historical interpretation has never proved right, but he opts for that method himself by using methods developed in early 19th century Europe. The difference is that Koester doesn't believe the events are happening in his own time, but were part of the first century Roman political situation. It seems unlikely to me that Revelation was written with 19th century theories in mind because the early Christians didn't interpret the Old Testament that way, and they were more concerned with correct doctrine and behavior than with outward persecution. The is evident in the writings of the New Testament and the early church fathers. Early Christians compared scripture to scripture while looking to the Holy Spirit for guidance (Act 17:11, John 5:39). In his interpretation Koester relies heavily on the idea that the beast of Revelation 17 is Rome be cause of ancient medallion that portrays Rome as a woman on seven hills. Technically, Rome never ruled over all the kings of the earth and, Revelation doesn't say seven hills but seven mountains. You'll see that is the way most translations give it. Daniel's beasts have seven heads (ch 7), and the book of 1 Enoch (ch 18, before 200 BC) also has seven mountains associated with the same type of symbolism given in Revelation. It is unlikely that these refer to the city of Rome. The first person to directly associate the woman in purple and scarlet of Babylon with Rome was Hippolytus, and he said the seven heads referred to seven ages. A hundred years before him Hermas said one of the aspects of the tribulation beast was a progression of ages. So we can't assume early Christians identified the seven mountains with Rome. The first Christian writer to identify the seven hills with Rome was Victorinus in the fourth century, over a hundred years after Hippolytus. Koester also blames early church fathers Irenaeus and Hippolytus for the modern understanding of antichrist, but research doesn't bear this out. Justin Martyr (c. 100 – 165 AD, Dial. c. Trypho, cxx. 14, 15), who wrote before Irenaeus, mentions the Martyrdom of Isaiah, an earlier Christian writing with an apocalypse section. In it the author ties together the writings of Paul, Daniel, the Gospels and Revelation with the Belial/Beliar tradition to describe an evil antichrist type ruler. 1 John 2:18 says that christians were already expecting antichrist before John contrasted the idea by saying there were already many antichrists and a spirit. The church historian Eusebius (Theophania IV.35)confirms that the apostles were expecting an antichrist which Jesus spoke of (John 5:43) and it was the same one Paul spoke of (2 Thes 2:3). Overall I enjoyed listening to the lectures, but I don't recommend the course for accuracy.
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REvelations/Apocalypse This man is very good . He presents the information in an easy to understand format. We are currently doing this course as our adult education at Church and are ready for chapter 9. It has really given us adifferent perspective and understanding of what Revelations is about. A new way of looking at and understanding its meaning. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2013-04-30
  • y_2021, m_1, d_21, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_62
  • loc_en_CA, sid_6433, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5.21ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
The Apocalypse: Controversies and Meaning in Western History
Course Trailer
Revelation and the Apocalyptic Tradition
1: Revelation and the Apocalyptic Tradition

Professor Koester introduces one of the most discussed books of all time: the book of Revelation, also known as the Apocalypse. Learn the original meaning of "apocalypse" and the importance of the apocalyptic tradition. Also survey the three-part structure of the course.

32 min
Apocalyptic Worldview in Judaism
2: Apocalyptic Worldview in Judaism

Investigate the world of the Hebrew prophets, whose writings deeply influenced the author of the Apocalypse. First, focus on the themes of evil and hope in such works as Ezekiel and Isaiah. Then, see how these themes are taken up in the Dead Sea Scrolls and the apocalyptic book of Daniel.

30 min
Apocalyptic Dimension of Early Christianity
3: Apocalyptic Dimension of Early Christianity

Consider how the apocalyptic worldview, with its strong sense of conflicting powers, was taken up and transformed by Christian writers in the New Testament. Apocalyptic themes had an important place in the early church, creating the religious matrix out of which the book of Revelation arose.

30 min
Origins of the Book of Revelation
4: Origins of the Book of Revelation

Begin your close study of the text of the Apocalypse by looking behind the legends to surmise what can be said about its origins and author, identified only as John. Also examine the peculiar quality of John's Greek, which is not apparent in most translations.

29 min
Issues Facing Revelation's First Readers
5: Issues Facing Revelation's First Readers

The first two chapters of Revelation discuss the issues facing the Christian communities that first received the book. Delve deeper into the experiences of the men and women addressed by John. What was the nature of the persecution and other problems they faced? Who was this book written for?

30 min
God, the Lamb, and the Seven Seals
6: God, the Lamb, and the Seven Seals

John's distinctive images-his "word pictures"-have captured the imaginations of readers for centuries. Plunge into some of John's most vivid scenes, including the breaking of the seven seals, which unleashes the four horsemen and other startling visions.

31 min
Seven Trumpets, Temple, and Celebration
7: Seven Trumpets, Temple, and Celebration

Analyze the middle section of the Apocalypse from two contrasting perspectives: first, from the futurist view that Revelation is a book of ominous predictions; then, from the literary perspective that seeks to understand how John organizes his details into a narrative that is surprisingly hopeful.

31 min
The Dragon and the Problem of Evil
8: The Dragon and the Problem of Evil

Turn to some of the most dramatic scenes in the Apocalypse, which deal with the problem of evil, personified by Satan, the great red dragon. John's account draws on an ancient fascination with stories of good battling evil, but he gives a bold new interpretation to the conflict.

32 min
The Beasts and Evil in the Political Sphere
9: The Beasts and Evil in the Political Sphere

Trace John's depiction of evil through the images of the two beasts. The beast from the sea, whose name equals 666, works in the realm of politics. The beast from the land supports the beast from the sea through practices that serve worldly empire.

30 min
The Harlot and the Imperial Economy
10: The Harlot and the Imperial Economy

Encounter Babylon the harlot, one of the most remarkable figures in the Apocalypse. She symbolizes the city of Rome in all its ancient opulence. Two literary forms useful for understanding John's metaphor are satire and the obituary. John is both satirizing Rome's decadence and sounding its death knell.

32 min
The Battle, the Kingdom, and Last Judgment
11: The Battle, the Kingdom, and Last Judgment

Revelation's final chapters feature scenes that have had a powerful effect on the modern imagination, ranging from the battle of Armageddon to the final defeat of Satan and the Last Judgment. Learn the ancient context for these images, which mark the climax of God's battle against the forces of evil.

31 min
New Creation and New Jerusalem
12: New Creation and New Jerusalem

Conclude your close reading of the text of Revelation with John's vision of the new creation and the New Jerusalem. Professor Koester explores this triumphant ending, which is the source for the popular image of the pearly gates-along with so much more.

32 min
Antichrist and the Millennium
13: Antichrist and the Millennium

Start a new section of the course in which you probe the impact of the Apocalypse on Western history. Study the early debates about the nature of the Antichrist and the Millennium, two ideas that drew heavily on writings outside of Revelation.

32 min
Revelation's Place in the Christian Bible
14: Revelation's Place in the Christian Bible

How did Revelation get into the Bible? Discover that, although it is unlike any other book in the New Testament, the Apocalypse met three broad criteria that early church leaders used to determine which books were authoritative and which were not.

31 min
The Apocalypse and Spiritual Life
15: The Apocalypse and Spiritual Life

By the 4th and 5th centuries, leading Christians were reading the Apocalypse for its spiritual truths, rather than what it had to say about coming events. Explore three topics that were especially important to this view: Revelation's symbolism, internal repetitions, and timeless message.

31 min
The Key to the Meaning of History
16: The Key to the Meaning of History

Trace medieval responses to Revelation through the ideas of several influential thinkers, including the controversial monk Joachim of Fiore, whose struggle with the Apocalypse led him to the mystical insight that it was the key to the meaning of history since the Creation.

31 min
Apocalyptic Fervor in the Late Middle Ages
17: Apocalyptic Fervor in the Late Middle Ages

See how certain followers of St. Francis of Assisi carried Joachim's ideas even further, styling themselves players in an apocalyptic drama and predicting that the present age would end in the 13th century.

31 min
Luther, Radicals, and Roman Catholics
18: Luther, Radicals, and Roman Catholics

Move into the world of the Reformation, where a renegade monk named Martin Luther first rejected Revelation but later used its imagery in his controversy with the papacy. During this period, Catholics discovered much of their standard iconography for the Virgin Mary in John's text.

31 min
Revelation Takes Musical Form
19: Revelation Takes Musical Form

Explore Revelation from a completely different perspective: its rich musical heritage. There are many songs within Revelation, and much music has been inspired by it. Examine Handel's Messiah, the hymns compiled by Charles Wesley, and gospel songs such as "Shall We Gather at the River?"

32 min
Revelation in African American Culture
20: Revelation in African American Culture

The Apocalypse has played a vital role in African American culture. Its visions of hope inspired the spirituals sung by slaves in the American South and the Dixieland favorite, "Oh when the saints go marching in." Scenes of New Jerusalem caught the imagination of Sojourner Truth and others who worked for social change.

31 min
The Apocalypse and Social Progress
21: The Apocalypse and Social Progress

In the 18th and early 19th centuries, many Americans believed that Revelation outlined a progressive social destiny pointing to the great millennial age of peace on Earth. Meet leaders in this movement, including Jonathan Edwards, Charles Finney, and Julia Ward Howe, who wrote "Battle Hymn of the Republic."

31 min
Awaiting the End in 1844 and Beyond
22: Awaiting the End in 1844 and Beyond

Chart a pivotal end-times crusade in America led by William Miller, who drew on the Apocalypse and book of Daniel to predict that 1844 would see Christ's Second Coming. The heirs to this movement include the Seventh-Day Adventists and Jehovah's Witnesses.

31 min
Rapture, Tribulation, and Armageddon
23: Rapture, Tribulation, and Armageddon

Turn to today's most popular futuristic perspective on the end times, Dispensationalism, held by those who believe that all true Christians will be spirited up to heaven in an event called the Rapture. Examine the origins of this view, its connection to Revelation, and its mix of literal and symbolic interpretation.

31 min
The Modern Apocalyptic Renaissance
24: The Modern Apocalyptic Renaissance

Finish the course by meeting some of the contemporary theologians who show how dynamic and engaging the study of Revelation continues to be. The book has an unparalleled ability to both challenge and encourage, proving that the Apocalypse is as powerful today as it was 1,900 years ago.

32 min
Craig R. Koester

What I enjoy most is inviting people into a process of discovery. Asking good questions is central. Questions open paths to explore and enable people with differing views to engage the Christian tradition in meaningful ways.

ALMA MATER

Union Theological Seminary

INSTITUTION

Luther Seminary

About Craig R. Koester

Dr. Craig R. Koester is the Asher O. and Carrie Nasby Professor of New Testament at Luther Seminary. He attended St. Olaf College and Luther Seminary, then earned his Ph.D. from Union Theological Seminary in New York before returning to Luther Seminary to teach. He has been a visiting professor at the University of Pretoria in South Africa, a scholar-in-residence at the Center of Theological Inquiry in Princeton, New Jersey, and a guest lecturer at universities in Europe and the United States. Professor Koester has written numerous articles and essays as well as the popular work Revelation and the End of All Things. He is also completing a major commentary on Revelation for Yale University Press, and he translated Revelation for the Common English Bible. Among his other writings are a landmark commentary on Hebrews and Word of Life: A Theology of John's Gospel. Professor Koester is known for interweaving the study of biblical texts with their impact on art, literature, and music. A frequent presenter at conferences in the United States and Europe, he has also appeared in series for popular audiences, such as The Life of Apostle Paul with travel writer Rick Steves.

Also By This Professor