The Power of Body Language

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Practical Course I'm glad I purchased this course. "The Power of Body Language" does a good job of combing what we currently know about the subject of body language into one comprehensive course. This is an especially good resource for those entering the business world, or who are unfamiliar of the science of body language. Of all the instructors I’ve seen, Vanessa is one of TGC's most dynamic and engaging. Hopefully we'll see more courses from her in the future. Something that I liked was the use of audience questions to clarify various points--its very effective. One drawback is the brevity of the guidebook. I would have preferred a longer, more detailed coursebook. Also, viewers should be aware that the research done by Amy Cuddy on power posing (a source for some of the information in this course) is somewhat controversial. Criticisms aside, this is a good resource for business professionals, or anyone who has to make a lot of presentations--making it one of TGC's more practical offerings. This course combines a lot of useful information in a nicely presented format. As a last note, one section I especially enjoyed was the chapter on photography.
Date published: 2020-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Entertaining and enlightening I've been studying negotiating techniques and realized how important body language is to every day communication. I also realized how little I knew about how body language is perceived and how I can use it to influence and communicate my point of view. I did really enjoy this course and learned a great deal of useful information. I also felt like that the advice was evidence based and not just popular opinions. In the end I was rooting for the students in the class and thought that their participation added more depth and understanding.
Date published: 2020-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Distracting and superfluous The smarmy couple monitoring the chat comments interrupt the flow of Vanessa's lecture. No topic raised by online participants demonstrated anything other than a lack of attention to the topic at hand. The disruptions distract dramatically and provide little beside camera time for earnest little paramours.
Date published: 2020-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinating and Worthwhile (Be aware that this course is produced by CreativeLive, not by The Great Courses. This in no way diminishes its excellent quality. The difference is, this course is more casual than most TGC offerings, and the instructor answers questions from the live audience, and uses audience members to demonstrate many of her points.) This is an outstanding course in all respects. Ms. Van Edwards is highly knowledgeable, enthusiastic, clear, well-organized, and fascinating. I had no problem maintaining focus. She is also excellent at responding during the non-scripted audience question times, and when using the audience members to illustrate her teaching. I particularly appreciate her using only actual research findings rather than intuition as the basis for the course, as well as making it clear when she is only giving an opinion, and especially being honest when she does not know the answer to a question (which does not happen often). Remarkably, our instructor describes herself as "a recovering awkward person." There is certainly no trace of that here. All of us have some basic familiarity with body language, just from living around other people. But I was amazed at how much careful research has been done in this area, and at how much there was to learn which I had never considered before. Aside from being inherently fascinating, the material is potentially helpful to all of us in our day to day interactions. This course focuses on the business environment, but the vast majority of the material is also applicable to social and romantic relationships. I only wish I knew how to get my brain to remain aware of all of this information while at the same time actually dealing with others! Hopefully this will come with practice. I have no significant criticisms. If you have any interest in this area, or any interest in interacting with other human beings, you will be glad you have taken this course - as well as have fun watching it. Enjoy!
Date published: 2020-02-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheaply made, not filmed by The Great Courses. The DVD's cause my DVD player to seize up, requiring that I unplug it to enable the eject button to function. It's immediately apparent that the course was not filmed by The Great Courses. Of the several dozen courses I've purchased from them, I've never encountered that before. Plus, the supplier they bought it from cheaply packaged it, cramming six DVDs onto one post in the single DVD case.
Date published: 2019-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Far MORE useful information than expected ….and after 70 years I thought I knew this stuff. If you think you can just MIRROR the body language of someone else, well HA! -- everybody does that (and it’s a joke). How about learning some REAL substance instead? I’ve learned that “beauty & brains” are nice – but can sometimes be boring. However with added personal warmth, organization & charisma – that describes Vanessa. She’s beyond awesome. I’d give her course 6 stars. This classroom setting with lecture, questions and participation from the audience was the reason I took 25 pages of notes. WOW – it made me realize where I’d blown it in the past, plus answered [superbly] some personal situations years back. This is one of those courses so crammed with information that intellectually – you can’t just give it mental ascent. Instead, you have to WATCH it (visual, you know?) many times over to SEE (and practice) it yourself. Take note TGC: Yes – I’d buy ANY course from this teacher.
Date published: 2019-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never the same The review by 'The Professor Michigan' is spot on. The is the best course I have seen by the Great Courses. The instructor teaches the theory or research, give concrete examples of what she is covering, and gives practice doing and evaluating what she has covered. Using the students in her class she shows the development and progress they have made. You will never be able to go into a social situation again, after viewing this course, and be unaware of what is going on non-verbally. This is a great course taught by an excellent instructor who models everything she is teaching.
Date published: 2019-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a MUST See Course!! OUTSTANDING!! The Power of Body Language is a course/training session which is a must see for everyone; not just in a business setting but for life. The instructor, Vanessa Van Edwards, is riveting and an absolute pleasure to watch and present a topic I have studied for decades; reading peoples body language. You will not find an instructor more personally dynamic and an exemplar in this area than Vanessa. This course presents a different type class setting than the usual The Great Courses lecture sets. It is very interactive with six business professionals (students) participating in personal development scenarios as Vanessa walks through the course topic for that session. The class sessions vary in duration from 14 to 54 minutes, with the typical session about 30 minutes. Key areas of discussion were, micro expressions, lie detection, creating your own personal elevator pitch, non-verbal cues, negotiation tips, and many others keys to reading peoples reaction to your personal communication. Vanessa also provides her website to gain more topic insights and a lengthy bibliography for additional study. There are ZERO negatives about this course. If one was to thoroughly dive into this course and master the knowledge, they should be able to understand and influence personal/business interactions. I have used these methods for almost 40 years in law enforcement, as an adjunct professor (125 classes) (leadership, ethics, management, homeland security..). This course is Outstanding!! I have purchased over 300 Great Courses lecture sets and this is in the top 5%!
Date published: 2019-10-14
  • y_2021, m_4, d_19, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_16
  • loc_en_CA, sid_9025, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6.28ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
The Power of Body Language
Course Trailer
Body Language Quiz and First Impressions
1: Body Language Quiz and First Impressions

Body Language Quiz and First Impressions

37 min
Elevator Pitch Clinic
2: Elevator Pitch Clinic

Elevator Pitch Clinic

45 min
How Body Language Changes Perception
3: How Body Language Changes Perception

How Body Language Changes Perception

24 min
Microexpressions: Decoding the Face
4: Microexpressions: Decoding the Face

Microexpressions: Decoding the Face

45 min
Microexpressions Continued
5: Microexpressions Continued

Microexpressions Continued

37 min
Discovering & Addressing Emotional Needs
6: Discovering & Addressing Emotional Needs

Discovering & Addressing Emotional Needs

37 min
Questions & Self-Diagnosis
7: Questions & Self-Diagnosis

Questions & Self-Diagnosis

14 min
How Your Body Reacts
8: How Your Body Reacts

How Your Body Reacts

20 min
Power Body Language
9: Power Body Language

Power Body Language

54 min
Lie Detection Challenge
10: Lie Detection Challenge

Lie Detection Challenge

21 min
Perfect Elevator Pitch
11: Perfect Elevator Pitch

Perfect Elevator Pitch

36 min
Elevator Pitch Mistakes & Fixes
12: Elevator Pitch Mistakes & Fixes

Elevator Pitch Mistakes & Fixes

27 min
Elevator Pitch Practice & Critique
13: Elevator Pitch Practice & Critique

Elevator Pitch Practice & Critique

34 min
Networking Body Language Tips
14: Networking Body Language Tips

Networking Body Language Tips

48 min
Increasing Income with Nonverbal Actions
15: Increasing Income with Nonverbal Actions

Increasing Income with Nonverbal Actions

36 min
Nonverbal Sales Pitch
16: Nonverbal Sales Pitch

Nonverbal Sales Pitch

44 min
Reading Their Cues
17: Reading Their Cues

Reading Their Cues

39 min
Verbal Mirroring & Sales Mistakes
18: Verbal Mirroring & Sales Mistakes

Verbal Mirroring & Sales Mistakes

30 min
Human Lie Detection Steps 1–3
19: Human Lie Detection Steps 1–3

Human Lie Detection Steps 1–3

44 min
Human Lie Detection Steps 4–5
20: Human Lie Detection Steps 4–5

Human Lie Detection Steps 4–5

49 min
Human Lie Detection Steps 6–7
21: Human Lie Detection Steps 6–7

Human Lie Detection Steps 6–7

38 min
Putting Your New Skills to the Test
22: Putting Your New Skills to the Test

Putting Your New Skills to the Test

29 min
Your Nonverbal Brand
23: Your Nonverbal Brand

Your Nonverbal Brand

43 min
Body Language for Photographers
24: Body Language for Photographers

Body Language for Photographers

23 min
Body Language Hacks
25: Body Language Hacks

Body Language Hacks

19 min
Negotiation Tips
26: Negotiation Tips

Negotiation Tips

35 min
Students Pitch with Their New Skills
27: Students Pitch with Their New Skills

Students Pitch with Their New Skills

24 min
Vanessa Van Edwards

You can’t succeed in business, life or love without mastering people skills.

INSTITUTION

CreativeLive

About Vanessa Van Edwards

Vanessa is Lead Investigator at Science of People. She is the bestselling author of Captivate: The Science of Succeeding with People. Her book has been translated into 15 different languages and more than 20 million people watch her on YouTube.

Vanessa shares tangible skills to improve interpersonal communication and leadership, including her insights on how people work. She’s developed a science-based framework for understanding different personalities to improve our EQ and help us communicate with colleagues, clients and customers.

She works with entrepreneurs, growing businesses, and trillion dollar companies; and has been featured on CNN, BBC, CBS, Fast Company, Inc., Entrepreneur Magazine, USA Today, the Today Show and many more.

Millions visit her website, scienceofpeople.com, every month for her methods turning “soft skills” into actionable, masterable frameworks that can be applied in daily life. Hundreds of thousands of students have taken her communication courses on Udemy, CreativeLive, LinkedIn and her flagship course People School.

Vanessa is renowned for teaching science-backed people skills to audiences around the world including SxSW, MIT, and CES to name a few. Her groundbreaking and engaging workshops and courses teach individuals how to succeed in business and life by understanding the hidden dynamics of people.

She regularly speaks to innovative companies including Google, Facebook, Comcast, Miller-Coors, Microsoft, and Penguin Random-House. She has been a spokesperson for Dove, American Express, Clean and Clear and Symantec.

Also By This Professor