The Science of Natural Healing

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Many practical examples provided This was an excellent purchase. I was lucky to have benefitted from the sale price. The content is excellent. The speaker is super qualified and gives lots of practical examples. I would not hesitate to recommend this course to anyone who is interested in improving their health the natural way.
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very interesting This is a timely topic and a good presenter. The series is at least 8 years old and some segments might bear updating, but a good series and I am glad that I listened.
Date published: 2020-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the interection of the teacher and the patience she has in explaining with great detail. very easy to understand. Thank you
Date published: 2020-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great information This was so well done and informative that I watched all 24 lectures in 3 days. The Doctor did a fantastic job of presenting this material. Our family will be incorporating many aspects of this valuable information into our lives. Thank you so much!
Date published: 2020-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Content and Impassioned Presenter This course is great! Highly recommended, providing the information which is so needed and rare to find.
Date published: 2020-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Course! With Caveats This course is not for everyone, particularly if you are leery of anything outside of the bounds of traditional western medicine. If concepts like "chakras", "biofields" or "auras" set your teeth on edge, you will most likely not appreciate this course. Although this course does address concepts like these that are outside of traditional western thought, this course is packed with useful and interesting information that speaks to healing in a preventative and holistic way. If you have an open mind, you will gain a lot of insights as you progress through the course. The information on nutrition, micro- and macro-nutrients, and food sensitivities were particularly of value to me. I began making changes to my diet immediately based upon these lectures. There were a couple of mannerisms from the lecturer that I found to be somewhat off-putting, which is why I gave the series 4 stars rather than 5. The first was a bit petty on my part, but I had a hard time getting through the lecture where she kept using the phrase "digestive track". Others have also mentioned that she speaks as though to a 5-year-old and lacks charisma. I would have to agree that she speaks unbelievably slowly and punctuates every word. It helped to get through this by speeding up the lectures to 1.5X or 2X. Setting this aside, I would highly recommend this course based upon the content presented and the experience behind the lecturer.
Date published: 2019-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I absolutely loved this lecture series! It covered a wide range of medical interventions, including less well recognized approaches to healing. Dr. Guarneri presented many very valuable insights to health with specific recommendations that can be implemented immediately. The references to scientific research and actual data for virtually all of the suggestions was very helpful. If every person were to watch this series, the world would be an entirely different place!
Date published: 2019-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great information Very well done and timely topic for my life at 57 yrs old. Information dispells many inaccuracies in health and wellness. Her voice is a bit hard to take, but knowledge, energy, information is exceptional.
Date published: 2019-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from unknown Sorry, but this course was purchased and mailed directly to my daughter-in-law residing in Germany
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb information and presentation style Love this course and have listened to parts of it several times! I found the content really interesting and the presentation style kept my attention. Would recommend to anyone who is interested in this subject.
Date published: 2019-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very enlightening I'm 69 and can appreciate all that Dr G has to teach. Most of the aches and pains come from diet and lack of exercise. I've passed this set on to several friends and hope they can see the benefits of changing their routine. I dont think I will fall 100% in the vegan court, but its worth taking a vegan cleanse to let the body get back to normal. One thing, Dr G needs more practice teach 1/2 lessons. Her experience is giving longer presentations and you can see she was being coached during many of the lessons. All in all very good
Date published: 2019-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Science of Natural Healing I bought this course to answer the tough questions regarding the integration of healthcare and what is accessible to us worldwide. The context is excellent and the knowledge is much more than just facts that everyone needs to know. This course was a refreshing motivational overview of unblocking the imagination and taking a good look at the reality of the process of wholeness regarding the human, body, spirit and mind. I loved it!
Date published: 2019-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very informative I listened to the entire lecture series once, watched a few lectures, and now listening again! Dr Mimi Guarneri is the best speaker I’ve heard! My aim is to continue learning by taking notes and expanding my knowledge about natural healing. This lecture series is exactly what the world needs to educate anyone on this extremely important subject.
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good series I have listened to four or five of the lectures and they have been pretty good, not great. She’s a good speaker, but I haven’t learned much yet that I didn’t already know. It seems these are live lectures with an audience because there is clapping at the beginning and end of each one, which I don’t like. It makes her seem more like a performer and I have a hard time taking what she says seriously.
Date published: 2019-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Science of Natural Healing explains well. I bought this and Nutrition made Clear about a month ago. I am really happy with both. I was skeptical at first or I would have bought 5 courses when on sale. I had a hard time narrowing it down to even 5 courses then narrowed down to two to try them out first. I will definitely order more in the future.
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a must watch for you and anyone you care about this course is jam packed with reasearch based information on living healthier. I have made changes because of this course and have corrected several personal health complaints. The presenter is one of the best I have seen, very engaging and knowledgable.
Date published: 2019-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More or than Expected I bought the Science of Natural Healing expecting an URL that would expire at a certain date. I got a book, DVDs that I could copy to a flash drive. Now I have the info any time any where. It is broken down into sections so when I want to review certain info it is available directly skipping everything else.
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpful The instructor is easy to watch The information is very helpful and encouraging
Date published: 2019-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I would NEVER have ordered this course had I been aware that the Dr. is promoting a vegetarian diet, and is herself a vegetarian. I think this should be prominently disclosed, so that the buyer can make an informed decision. If you feel that animal protein is important to human nutrition, you will probably want to skip this one.
Date published: 2019-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Course I am learning so much. I trust this doctor's knowledge and experience. She gives her information in great detail, but in an understandable, personal way.
Date published: 2019-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from information everyone needs The information in this course is what everyone needs to know. It could even save a life. I have given this as a gift to others and they love it. The information is given in a way that is easy to understand and give you a lot to think about. Although I knew some of what this course has in it, the depth of information I received added more details and information. It is also nice that if you have to pause the video or stop altogether it is easy to get back to exactly where you left off.
Date published: 2018-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very enlightening and impactful! This was some of the most powerful, evidence-based education/advising I have ever encountered. Mimi is a delight to listen to with and easy, approachable style. Don't be mislead. Her mastery and use of up-to-date research findings is compelling. I strongly recommend this course to anyone who is committed to living life healthier, in specific area(s) or in general. I couldn't stop listening..and it convinced me to take action.
Date published: 2018-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent course, very worthwhile ! The instructor understands and explains each lecture very well in an easy to understand manor. We felt we learned a great deal about a number of important health issues based on scientific studies.
Date published: 2018-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great course Bought a couple weeks ago and has given me lots of good information
Date published: 2018-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of great nutritional information! Like I said, lots of great nutritional information! Needs to go a little more in depth in the areas of alternative healing techniques, like theraputic touch, reiki, chakras, accupuncture and so on, showing examples. But a great intro to those choices!
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Early review Just started the course. Unfortunately there were problems with the first disc (pixelated) but another is on the way. This was handled well by phone. In the future I hope you give me more time before asking for a review.
Date published: 2018-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great course! I LOVE this course! If you are or have concerns for your own health, I would highly recommend this course. Very informative.Valuble insight, I have been enlightened. Thank you Dr. G, and Great courses.
Date published: 2018-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So informational This course is so informative and Dr G makes so much sense. I am going to listen again and this time take notes!
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Multi-faceted view of complex topic. Dr. Guarneri takes you step by step through the many areas of natural health. She discusses each concept thoroughly to give you the big picture of this fascinating health delivery system.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from instructor problems I am extremely displeased with this instructor's very slow speech. Customers are not in junior high. Honestly, I stopped listening after the first lecture because she talks like (in my opinion) the customers are 5 years old. Not a good course.
Date published: 2018-03-05
  • y_2021, m_4, d_19, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_182
  • loc_en_CA, sid_1986, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6.37ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
The Science of Natural Healing
Course Trailer
Shifting the Health-Care Paradigm
1: Shifting the Health-Care Paradigm

Investigate the fundamental paradigm of Western medicine-its strength in the treatment of symptoms and its relative deemphasis on illness prevention and long-term health concerns. In contrast, consider an approach to healthcare focusing on the whole human being, integrating the elements of your environment, genes, lifestyle, nutrition, and mental/psychological makeup.

27 min
Understanding Holistic Integrative Medicine
2: Understanding Holistic Integrative Medicine

Holistic integrative medicine creates a bridge between Western medicine and the world's other evidence-based healing traditions, making a spectrum of health-care approaches available to you. Learn the philosophy underlying integrative medicine, rooted in partnering with the patient, finding the underlying causes of disease, and caring for the body, mind, and spirit.

31 min
You Are More Than Your Genes
3: You Are More Than Your Genes

This lecture highlights the critical relationship between your genes and how you live your life. Investigate the ways in which nutrition, lifestyle, and stress can affect the outcome of your inborn genetic makeup. Explore the fields of nutrigenomics and pharmacogenomics, which study the interaction of nutrition and medications with the genes.

28 min
Food Matters
4: Food Matters

Holistic integrative medicine speaks deeply to the connection between food and health outcomes. Here, track scientific findings that demonstrate how the food you eat directly affects your heart health as well as numerous medical conditions. Learn about the benefits of the Mediterranean diet and the kinds of foods that promote optimal health.

29 min
Not All Foods Are Created Equal
5: Not All Foods Are Created Equal

Certain key foods have unique properties that set them apart as nutrition "superstars." Starting with the importance of whole foods and fiber, study the most healthful foods in different categories, including grains, legumes, fruits, vegetables, and proteins, and grasp how the way you cook food affects its nutritional value.

33 min
Natural Approaches to Inflammation
6: Natural Approaches to Inflammation

Inflammation, a fundamental protective reaction of your body, is also a pathway to many diseases. Discover the multiple causes of chronic inflammation, from pollutants and bacteria to stress and sleep disorders. Learn how to use food as medicine, emphasizing a variety of foods, herbs, and spices that prevent and/or reverse inflammation.

31 min
Food Sensitivity and the Elimination Diet
7: Food Sensitivity and the Elimination Diet

Perhaps surprisingly, numerous physical symptoms and medical conditions can be triggered by sensitivity to foods. Study the six primary food groups related to food sensitivity and allergy, examine the astonishing data linking them to conditions such as migraines and arthritis, and learn about the elimination diet, which locates the specific source of food-related symptoms.

31 min
Vitamins and Supplements
8: Vitamins and Supplements

This lecture introduces the central subject of natural supplements. First, investigate the natural products industry and how to determine the quality and purity of supplements you may use. Then study key supplements, including probiotics, selenium, and vitamin D, and their effectiveness in treatment and prevention of ulcerative colitis, diarrhea, and cancer.

32 min
Herbal Remedies
9: Herbal Remedies

Many natural herbal substances have proven and significant healing properties. Discover the remarkable medicinal uses of aloe, ginger, and licorice for the GI tract, and of cranberry and saw palmetto for urogenital conditions. Also follow a case study showing the diagnosis and herbal treatment for a patient with chronic migraines.

30 min
Lowering Cholesterol Naturally
10: Lowering Cholesterol Naturally

Pharmaceuticals are not the only avenue for reaching healthy cholesterol levels. Begin by investigating the two kinds of cholesterol and the triglycerides, and their role in your physiology. Learn about specific foods that raise and lower cholesterol and triglycerides, nutritious alternatives to animal protein, and key natural supplements for controlling your cholesterol.

28 min
Treating High Blood Pressure Naturally
11: Treating High Blood Pressure Naturally

A surprisingly rich array of natural treatments is available to counteract high blood pressure. Review the startling statistics showing how blood pressure is lowered by both weight loss and reduced sodium intake. Also study the marked effects of foods, including garlic and seaweed, and micronutrients such as magnesium, vitamin D, and the enzyme CoQ10.

29 min
Treating Diabetes Naturally
12: Treating Diabetes Naturally

Diabetes is the result of a continuum that begins with the preconditions of insulin resistance and metabolic syndrome. Learn how all of these conditions are directly linked to lifestyle, and how to prevent and even reverse them through the kinds of foods you eat, healthy sleep patterns, and consistent exercise.

28 min
Stress and the Mind-Body Connection
13: Stress and the Mind-Body Connection

In the first of three lectures on stress, you investigate the body's stress response. Study the three stress hormones, the physiological changes they produce, and the unhealthy effects of both acute and chronic stress. Also track the psychological impact of stress, and stress's effects on the immune system and aging.

29 min
Turning Stress into Strength
14: Turning Stress into Strength

Your response to stress is intimately related to how you view the world. In learning to neutralize stress, map your own emotional life and consider research on the effects of positive emotions. Then learn a technique, using focused breathing and imagery, for reaching a positive feeling state and disarming the stress response.

32 min
Meditation, Yoga, and Guided Imagery
15: Meditation, Yoga, and Guided Imagery

Mind-body techniques are now shifting the paradigm of Western medicine. Learn practical ways to use them in your own life, and review their remarkable clinical effects, including the use of meditation for lowering blood pressure, yoga for treating spinal problems, and mantra repetition in treating post-traumatic stress disorder.

32 min
Natural Approaches to Mental Health
16: Natural Approaches to Mental Health

Holistic medicine also offers many avenues for responding to issues of mental health and well-being. Here, explore research on the role of nutrition and nutrient deficiencies in depression and bipolar disorder. Consider holistic approaches to treating depression, including the specific uses of diet, exercise, herbal remedies, and light therapy.

28 min
Biofield Therapies
17: Biofield Therapies

"Biofield" or energy therapies, although controversial, show ample evidence of a positive impact on health. Study the principles of acupuncture, tai chi, homeopathy, and Healing Touch, as well as clinical data on their use in treating a spectrum of conditions, including pain, stress, and cardiac disease.

32 min
The Power of Love
18: The Power of Love

This lecture poses the question, "Do personal relationships affect health?" Review the extensive clinical research correlating supportive parental, spousal, and social relationships-as well as optimism-with more favorable outcomes for major diseases. Consider the evidence for social connections as treatment for illness and as key ingredients of good health.

29 min
Spirituality in Health
19: Spirituality in Health

Increasingly, research is showing a strong connection between spirituality and health. Investigate the evidence demonstrating greater resilience to disease among spiritually active people, and why this may be so. Explore the medical implications of depression and hopelessness, and how holistic medicine integrates physical, mental, and emotional healing.

31 min
Components of Spiritual Wellness
20: Components of Spiritual Wellness

Holistic integrative medicine views spirituality as an element of optimal health. In approaching spiritual wellness, track research on forgiveness and positive thought and their effects, both physiological and psychological. Learn specific ways to develop an affirmative emotional outlook, including working with your internal thought patterns and practicing gratitude.

33 min
Applying the Lessons of Natural Healing
21: Applying the Lessons of Natural Healing

Here, a patient case study demonstrates the integrative approach to healing. Follow the story of a woman whose profile showed diabetes, depression, high blood pressure, and arthritis. See how a comprehensive health plan for her included the factors of dietary changes, micronutrients, specific exercise, stress-reduction tools, and social connection.

32 min
Ecology and Health
22: Ecology and Health

In critical ways, human health is directly linked to the health of our planet. Track the effects on human bodies of environmental factors, including climate change, air pollution, greenhouse gases, the livestock industry, and industrial chemicals, and consider approaches to addressing these matters effectively.

28 min
Healthy People, Healthy Planet
23: Healthy People, Healthy Planet

This lecture looks at constructive actions that impact not only your own health, but the health of the planet. Investigate ecologically sound choices such as buying organic foods and reducing the use of plastics, as well as actions by governments and health-care facilities to eliminate hazardous substances and foster healthy food production.

31 min
You Are Your Own Best Medicine
24: You Are Your Own Best Medicine

The course concludes with a look at a final fundamental element of your healing: yourself. As provocative food for thought, review research on the question of why people heal and examine clinical evidence on the influence of the patient's outlook and beliefs on the healing process.

32 min
Mimi Guarneri

You have the power to be your own best medicine. It is my personal hope that the science of natural healing provides you with all the necessary tools, science, and wisdom to start your healing journey.

ALMA MATER

FACC The State University of New York Downstate Medical Center

INSTITUTION

Scripps Center for Integrative Medicine

About Mimi Guarneri

Dr. Mimi Guarneri is board-certified in cardiology, internal medicine, nuclear medicine, and holistic medicine. She earned her medical degree from The State University of New York Downstate Medical Center, where she graduated first in her class. She completed her internship and residency at New YorkñPresbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center, and held cardiology fellowships at New York University Langone Medical Center and the Scripps Clinic in La Jolla, California. While serving as an attending physician in interventional cardiology at the Scripps Clinic, Dr. Guarneri recognized the need for a more comprehensive and holistic approach to cardiovascular disease. As a result, she founded the Scripps Center for Integrative Medicine, where she uses state-of-the-art cardiac imaging technology and lifestyle-change programs to prevent, diagnose, and treat cardiovascular disease. In recognition of her leadership in the field of integrative medicine, Dr. Guarneri received the Linus Pauling Functional Medicine Lifetime Achievement Award in 2012 and the Bravewell Physician Leadership Award for Integrative Medicine in 2011. She was recently elected president of the American Board of Integrative and Holistic Medicine and is a fellow of the American College of Cardiology, Alpha Omega Alpha, and the American Medical Women's Association. She is also a diplomate of the American Board of Holistic Medicine. Dr. Guarneri has authored several articles that have appeared in professional journals such as the Journal of Echocardiography and the Annals of Internal Medicine. She is also the author of The Heart Speaks, a collection of stories from heart patients who have benefited from integrative medicine approaches. The Heart Speaks and her clinical work have been featured on NBC's Today show and PBS's To the Contrary and Full Focus. Her work was also featured in a two-part PBS documentary, The New Medicine.

Also By This Professor