The U.S. and the Middle East: 1914 to 9/11

Rated 4 out of 5 by from i'm not yet finished viewing all of it, but I think it's great! The instructor seems quite unbiased, and I'ave already learned a great deal from it. I think it should have more maps, photos, and diagrams.
Date published: 2019-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Excellent History Course Extremely well organized and delivered course on a complex and depressing topic. I would love to see an updated course of some kind since this one ends in 2002 and a lot has happened in the Middle East since then.
Date published: 2019-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Thorough Course I bought this course and found it well worth the money. The lecturer knew his stuff and presented a well argued and balanced assessment of this subject. The course gave me a greater appreciation of the complexity of US/Middle East relations than I already had.
Date published: 2019-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY WELL PRESENTED This course fills in many details that I had not appreciated. It is entertaining, informative and very enjoyable.
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly Recommended Remarkably clear presentation of a complex subject. I had just finished another Great Course that was full of minutia, technical terms not defined, and became a true struggle to complete. In contrast, Professor Yaqup was linear in his presentation, engaging, and truly educated me in an area I thought I had a good understanding. Quotes were appropriate, background was enlightening, and his depth of understanding impressive. On top of all that, his humor was right on. I felt like he lived within the events he was presenting. A true "page turner" in a subject that could have been very dry. Highly recommended One of the best courses of the 50+ I have purchased. I will be checking to see if he has other presentations
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vital for our time! A respectful and grateful salute to Profess Yaqub for this insightful course into how the US has become so caught up with -- and mired in quarrels with -- the various peoples and countries of the Middle East! I am 76 and have lived through most of the events covered in this course, yet there was so much that I now realize I either did not know about or, just as frequently, understood but one side of the issue. Professor Yaqub is a superb lecturer, opening each session with a brief overview of what he would be covering in the next 30 minutes, and then launching into a clear presentation of often extremely complicated events involving many players. I deeply admire how he was able to portray the points of view of people often at variance with each other. While never taking sides, he allows us to better understand both how and why events unfolded, even as it is clear that the historical outcomes were never fixed or predetermined. And yet, throughout the entire period covered by this course, there are a couple of areas of deep sadness. The first is how the states and peoples of the Middle East have, from the beginning of the 20th century, been subject to the whims, colonial ambitions, and rivalries of first the European powers, and then of the United States, the latter in competition with the Soviet Union for influence and power in the region. So much of the turmoil of the past century in the Middle East has been occasioned or at least heavily influenced by Western states, including the collapse of the Ottoman Empire after which the victorious nations at Versailles drew up the territorial boundaries of much of the Middle East, the scramble to discover and then monopolize the oil reserves of the region, and the fostering of a Jewish state in land occupied by Arabs. And the latter is the overriding second sources of great sorrow all by itself. After the horrific pogroms against the Jewish people of several nations that occurred during the 19th and early 20th centuries -- and the incredible evil of the Holocaust -- it was only right that the Jewish people could have a physical homeland in which they could hope to keep themselves safe from the predators who had persecuted them for almost 2,000 years. And, yet, the answer by the victorious powers of both world wars was to solve their guilty consciences by such a manner as to stir up the wrath of Arab peoples who felt imposed upon: meeting the just aspirations of the Jewish people by taking land from peoples who had not been responsible for the pograms or Holocaust was, from their point of view, unjust. Why should they be the ones to pay the price for how the Europeans and Russians had treated the Jewish people? This is a case where "rightness" exists on both sides, and only a miracle worker -- in 1948 or 2019 -- could find a way of justice for both parties. Given how "the world" -- and lately -- the United States, too, have basically just washed their hands of the problems involved in addressing legitimate Arab complaints while balancing them with the preservation of Israel, we should not be surprised at how the positions of both Israel and many Arab states have hardened. Often during these riveting lectures I found myself wondering just what I would have done differently, both at the time and even now when more of the "facts" are in. I am not at all sure how the most heart-felt and genuine diplomacy could find a just and mutually satisfying solution to the existing stalemate. Unfortunately, stalemates do not last long forever, and if diplomacy is not part of the solution, violence will be. I thank the Teaching Company for this marvelous, but deeply unsettling, course!.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful course! The lectures are consistently informative, and the presenter is excellent!
Date published: 2018-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from US and the Middle East: 1914 to 9/11 Just watched the first "class" today. Think we are going to like it. We have purchased several courses so far this year, and every one of them has had some distorted sections. For some reason the discs have spots where the discs skip or distort - and this throws off the timing in such a way that the voice and the picture are not "in sinc." It has not been bad enough to cause us to return the discs...but we do wonder why Great Courses does not have a way to correct this problem.
Date published: 2018-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Historical course, not propaganda. I am a professor of political science from France, living in France. So forgive my English. I have gotten history courses from the great courses from Amazon. It is better to spend time driving listening to great courses than listening to music. But here is my comment about this course..... Many people have commented that this course is a propaganda, that I decided to write my first review here. I will make it short. Imagine that a person from North Korea grew up in that country, and this person is 40 years old. Then this person watches/listens to a course where it shows facts about North Korea from the outside world. What would that person think? This person would abviously think it is a propaganda. How is the relations between Palestine and Israel showed in the public relations of media, both gorvernment and private? And how this influences the perception of the public?.... In other words, this course is good, and the professor is an academic, not journalist or public relations person working for the interest of a group. If you want to learn middle east history from the beginning of the 20th century up to the time this was produced, buy this course!
Date published: 2018-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clear, factual - a definitive series of lectures This is a remarkable series of lectures and one of the best series of the Teaching Company (I have watched and listened to many.) It is clear, factual and provides a very balanced assessment of Middle East - Western relations. I am from the UK and I can understand that the series may be particularly difficult listening for some Americans, for some Israelis and for American Jews - it is also not comfortable for those from the UK and France.... However, unless we are keen to keep repeating the mistakes of the past with the concomitant loss of largely innocent lives we need to be better and more subtly informed than by the clash of civilisations narrative that is being poured into our ears. If you rejected this course after first hearing, breathe, be brave, and listen again. Don't let your personal biases stop the growth of your intelligence. You can be better.
Date published: 2018-06-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting allegations but few facts Until the lecturer gets to the creation of the state of Israel he seems on uncontroversial ground. The exception is the statement that Hitler did not originally intend the extermination of all Jews (among other groups) but that Hitler only intended the expulsion of these peoples. Typically, no source is cited for this. Once the lecturer gets to the creation of the State of Israel the lecturer veers off into a world of his own. He cites as facts (no source given): (1) that fighting broke out between the Arabs (now known as Palestinians) and the Jews in Palestine resulting in the Palestinians leaving the area that eventually became Israel. (2) the surrounding Arab nations actually were willing to acknowledge a State of Israel (the lecturer does note that the Arab governments never went public with this revelation which causes the student to wonder how the good Prof. cane to know this rather shocking item (he never says). First, the issue of why the future Palestinians left the area is a subject of hot debate that decades of argument have failed to resolve. One side argues that the Grand Mufti of Palestine called for all Arabs to leave so they would not get in the way of Arab armies invading Israel. The other side argues that fearing a massive 5th column within their area with massive Arab armies invading from outside the Jews forced the future Palestinians to leave. Apparently no solid proof has been presented to end this debate over the exit of the Palestinians. The “right of return” has proved to be a major and so far insurmountable obstacle to peace. The lecturer neglects to mention that the demand for the right of return included not only the originally estimated 900,000 Arabs that left “Israel” but also their descendants now numbering in the millions. In essence the Palestinian demand was to establish a Palestinian State outside of Israel and at the same time repatriate enough Palestinians back into Israel to create a Muslim majority in Israel in a generation or two thus destroying Israel from the inside. This is why Israel has refused to concede this issue and it remains a major block to peace. The prof’s contention that Israel’s security interest in the West Bank and Gaza is the main obstacle to negotiations is simply not born out by the facts. The issue of who controls East Jerusalem is also confused by the lecturer. The Prof. fails to mention that Jews, Israeli or not, are barred from travel to many Arab countries. Since the Wailing wall is in East Jerusalem the Israelis fear that if this area is given to the Palestinians Jews will be barred from their most holy site. As to the contention that the Arab states were willing to recognize Israel in 1948 under any terms seems to be a fantasy of the lecturer. He cites no source for this novel proposition and I for one have never heard this even hinted at in any other source. Even “one state” advocates like former President Carter and the many critics of Israel's present policies have not even made an oblique reference to this. It would be better if Prof. Yaqub when he makes these astounding pronouncements would give the student the basis for what he says. This problem pervades the entire series of his lectures. The lecturer’s omissions of certain inconvenient facts may be unintentional but they sometimes give a slanted view. For example Ariel Sharon’s visit to the “temple mount” was not to the Mosque located on the site but to the “wailing wall” the remains of the last great Hebrew temple built by King Solomon. This is why the site is called the “temple mount” and is the most holy site in the Jewish religion. In failing to mention this,Prof. Yaqub gives the impression that Sharon’s visit was to the Mosque and was essentially done to humiliate the Palestinians./. Prof. Yaqub then blames Sharon for the subsequent unrest. In the section on Bin Laden, Prof. Yaqub neglects to mention that the main source of radical Islam is in fact Saudi Arabia itself. Bin Laden is merely an offshoot of the branch of Wahhabism , a reactionary form of anti modernist Islam taught in the Madras funded by Saudi Arabia in many areas of the Muslim world. Bin Laden, killed after the course was published, brought money and modern forms of attacks into the otherwise 7th century world of fundamentalist Islam. The rise of ISIS (ISIL) after the essential destruction of Al Qaeda shows that Bin Laden was not unique in his beliefs. The lecturer does get Bin Laden’s immediate motivation correct (the presence of US infidel troops in Saudi Arabia) but fails to correct the post hoc reason given (the Israeli- Palestinian problem). The lecturer’s statement that an invasion of Iraq after the Gulf War would have been easy was obviously proven wrong by the later disaster that ensued when George W. Bush actually invaded Iraq. Lastly, the Professor chooses to base his explanation of the dynamics of US-Middle Eastern conflicts solely on the past and present imperialistic actions of the Western world, undoubtedly one of the causes, but ignores the fact that fundamentalist Islamic beliefs are no more compatible with modern Western values than Puritanism is. The United States is not responsible for the right wing rule of Saudi Arabia or Iran or the Taliban. When the Shah was overthrown in Iran and other authoritarian regimes were overthrown in other Islamic countries the US didn’t install fundamentalist governments to replace them. This was an indigenous rising of Islamic core values using the US as an excuse to impose 7th century values in a 21st century world. Blaming the US is no more valid than 14th century Spain blaming the actions of Protestant England for Spain imposing the Inquisition. It is true that the US has during the cold war bolstered certain authoritarian regimes like Saudi Arabia against other countries but the Middle East has not until very recently had democratic uprisings for the US to oppose or support. The US has behaved very badly in the Americas during the cold war against arguably democratic governments (with a leftist leaning ideology) but as noted no such governments or movements have arisen in the Middle East until recently and the US has supported those democracies. The Prof. completely ignores the war of Muslim ideologies (Sunni vs. Shiite etc.) that has now gone on for 14 centuries and has been fought with words and often weapons. Similar to the Catholic-Protestant conflicts of the past (and not so past in Ireland) this Islamic religious conflict is at least responsible for the convolutions of Middle Eastern politics as much or more than anything done by the Western powers. As discussed by Prof. Taylor in the Great Courses “America and the New Global Economy”, there are problems in fundamentalist Islam,the autocratic nature of many Islamic nations, and their dependence on a single resource economy that have created a basic incompatibility between these nations and Western political, cultural and economic values. In summary, besides some of the unsupported allegations and omissions of important facts the lecturer essentially blames the US and Western powers for the mess in the Middle East ignoring the fundamental indigenous causes of the problems. The US et al may not have helped and have given some Middle Eastern countries good excuses for their bad behavior but they are not the source of the problems.
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Complex Relationships Deconstructed I am not an academician but lived for four years in the Middle East in the 1980’s. Ever since, the Middle East has held a special place in my heart. I have tried to understand its history and its ever present place in the news - typically negative. Professor Yaqub has helped me to see the series of decisions that has been the groundwork for current relationships between the US and the Middle East. He is interesting and well paced. I’ve listened to some of the lectures two and three times for their breadth of policy decisions and the personalities of the decision makers. I hope that Professor Yaqub is working on a next lecture series that will cover the United States and the Middle East from 1914 to the present.
Date published: 2018-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pure Propaganda This course is so biased and one-sided, that it can be characterized only as using this Great Courses excellent platform to deliver pure Propaganda. Very disappointing.
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super interesting! Professor Ressler is terrific: energetic and passionate about the subject. This is my third course with him!
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good review of history There is little material here that i didn't know. But the course brought it together in a useful way, giving it context and drawing a thread through the last 70 years
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great lecture series The lecturer did a fantastic job laying out the long and complicated relationship between the U.S. and the Middle Eastern region. I found his overall treatment of the subject very fair and balanced.
Date published: 2017-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Could be interesting material...ruined by delivery I really couldn't enjoy listening to this lecture as the professor's delivery was so poor. It was extremely obvious that he was reading from a teleprompter. This is the first Great Course that I've needed to return.
Date published: 2017-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from not 100% balanced, but very well-informed This is an important topic, because public opinion in the US is intense, influential, and overall remarkably poorly-informed. This course provides a deep and scholarly explanation of the modern background of this difficult region. You'd probably need to know more of the vast history of this region than provided here to gain a clear understanding, but it's a good start. I'd say the professor takes a mildly negative view of the US and a more distinctly negative view of Israel, but these are perhaps a useful antidote to what the US press provides.
Date published: 2017-05-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A mixed bag I found much of the course very interesting, and to contain an in depth and interesting analysis of how the relationship between the US and the Arab countries in the Middle-East evolved from WWI to 9/11. There was good knowledge to be had. Treatment of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, however was extremely biased. I found it disappointing that TGC would release such an unobjective and one-sided perspective of the issue as a fair analysis of the problem. Israel is viewed as an unscrupulous, unprovoked aggressor which is not even an integral part of the Middle-East, but much more of an unwelcome intruder. The parts that did not deal with Israel, however, seemed much more balanced and made a lot of sense, and did provide for me a lot of historical background which was new to me. This was quite valuable. So overall - a mixed bag in opinion.
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Invested view point Professor Yaqab presented a sensitive subject of which I have a limited knowledge. Most courses are presented by professors that have a back ground from western Europe or the U S while his back ground is from the area in question. The course presents a verifiable history that I have not been exposed to. I have done some research on the subject and must agree that our actions have rightfully earned us distrust with all sides of the issue. The presentation seemed to be honest and well researched with a well documented content. This is an area of great contention and a solution can only be found with a firm understanding of the issues. I would like to thank Professor Yaqab for his honest presentation. Finian Blake
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Balanced perspective and very informative This course gives a solid understanding of U.S. actions in the Mideast, including the motivations (practical, political, and personal) of many of the players. I ended up with a much better grasp of how this history unfolded, and how it looked from all sides. The content is highly interesting and informative, especially in the period since World War II. I only wish it could be updated to include the period since 9/11. The approach is historical and explanatory, not ideological, not pro- or anti- the U.S., Israel, Iran, or Arab nations. The lecturer describes good and bad actions by all participants as he sees them. Best of all he does a great job explaining how matters appeared to all participants. I found that the most useful part of the course. The lecturer is personable and engaging, but his speaking style is not good (annoying random pauses between words). I listen to audio recordings and was able to deal with it, especially because the material was so interesting.
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Should be titled "From the arab POV" The first part of the course was reasonable. After hitting the Reagan years it went down hill quickly and became very one sided.
Date published: 2016-11-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wide content, clunky speaking style The presentation is marred badly by awkward, halting use of Teleprompters. Really distracting, hard to listen to.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Understanding the Middle East I am loving this course! I bought it as a followup to your course on significant events in Middle East history. I am finally getting an accurate understanding of where we are today in Middle East relations as well as the big picture of where the Middle East has been since Mohammad reigned. The lectures in this course are concise, factual, non-biased and paints the picture from both sides of the fence, i.e. Middle East view and view of the Western world. I'm hooked on your courses. Paul Whitnig - poliwogg
Date published: 2016-09-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overall good, but could be much better 3.5 stars. I must say the first few lectures were very, very difficult to get through and almost put me to sleep a few times. I almost gave up on the course. However after a few lectures the professor finds his stride and improves a lot. Given this was published in 2003, an update would be warranted. A course on the Middle East from a Global perspective would also be of interest. Indeed, one from a Middle Eastern perspective would complement the series well. I do not agree with previous reviewers who perceive an anti-Israel sentiment in this course. On the contrary, I feel like the professor did well to stay objective and show both sides of the story.
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money. Presentation was so boring that I couldn't stay awake. A mistake to buy this.
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best of my 20+ courses This course filled in huge gaps in my knowledge of how the US relations with the Middle East came to our present status in the Middle East. The lectures are well organized & presented beautifully. I highly recommend this course to ever adult.
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Insight into Middle East History The lectures gave a fascinating insight into the historical context of current events in the Middle East. Great anecdotes and very nice capsule summaries of the attitudes and policies of each American president to the Middle East since Truman. Wish we could have had just a brief summary of events since 9/11 to give a sense of how the themes discussed have played out since then.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase This course was invaluable for helping me understand some of the issues in the Middle East today. It was well organized and easy to follow.
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Stars I had studied the Middle East extensively before taking this course, but it was still able to provide new information and insights.
Date published: 2016-01-26
  • y_2020, m_12, d_3, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_145
  • loc_en_CA, sid_8593, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 5.01ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
A Meeting of Two Worlds
1: A Meeting of Two Worlds

An introduction to the themes of increasing American power, indigenous political aspirations, conflicting interests and goals, and growing mutual antagonism sets the stage for World War I.

34 min
Wilson & the Breakup of the Ottoman Empire
2: Wilson & the Breakup of the Ottoman Empire

An examination of wartime and postwar American policy shows how Wilson's commitment to an ethnocentrically defined view of national self-determination drove his efforts to shape the postwar settlement in the Middle East.

32 min
The Interwar Period
3: The Interwar Period

A look at American interest in the Middle East between the wars reveals our focus shifting in the 1930s to American interest in Saudi Arabian oil and the increasing activism of American Zionism in response to Hitler's persecution of German Jews.

30 min
U.S. & the Middle East During World War II
4: U.S. & the Middle East During World War II

United States entry into World War II alters Americans' conception of the Middle East, whose geopolitical orientation is now seen as vital to American security.

29 min
Origins of the Cold War in the Middle East
5: Origins of the Cold War in the Middle East

Three Cold War crises culminate in the issuing of the Truman Doctrine-which would guide U.S. Cold War policy for a generation-while the evolution of U.S.-Saudi relations produces a formal pledge to defend that nation from possible Soviet attack.

29 min
Truman & the Creation of Israel
6: Truman & the Creation of Israel

A look at competing explanations for Truman's support for Israel's creation and its consequences includes the dispossession of the Palestinian people and the resulting decline in America's reputation in the Arab world.

30 min
Eisenhower, the Cold War & the Middle East
7: Eisenhower, the Cold War & the Middle East

President Eisenhower's responses to the challenge of Middle Eastern nationalists include a successful effort to overthrow the regime of Muhammad Mossadeq in Iran and a less successful effort to arrest the drift of Egypt's Gamal Abdel Nasser toward the Soviet orbit.

31 min
The Suez Crisis & Arab Nationalism
8: The Suez Crisis & Arab Nationalism

Egypt's nationalization of the Suez Canal and the ensuing crisis-with Great Britain, France, and Israel invading Egypt-marks a crucial turning point, with the United States replacing Great Britain as the preeminent western power in the Middle East.

30 min
Kennedy-Engaging Middle Eastern Nationalism
9: Kennedy-Engaging Middle Eastern Nationalism

This is an examination of President Kennedy's attempt to deemphasize Cold War themes in U.S. policy toward the Middle East. Paradoxically, the strategy initially improves America's Cold War position, but leaves a far less promising situation to Kennedy's successor.

32 min
Johnson-Taking Sides
10: Johnson-Taking Sides

Kennedy's efforts to strike a balance between competing interests with respect to Iran, Nasserist Egypt, and Israel are abandoned by Lyndon Johnson, who openly takes sides in all three policy areas.

31 min
The Six-Day War
11: The Six-Day War

The 1967 war dramatically alters the political, strategic, and psychological landscape of the Middle East with the diplomatic and political fallout of U.N. Security Council Resolution 242 and a devastating impact on Nasserist Arab nationalism.

32 min
The Nixon Doctrine & the Middle East
12: The Nixon Doctrine & the Middle East

Nixon relies on regional "cops on the beat" to protect American interests, while initially keeping the Arab-Israeli conflict on a separate policy track. But Israel, too, soon becomes an American ally within the meaning of the Doctrine.

32 min
The Yom Kippur War & Kissinger's Diplomacy
13: The Yom Kippur War & Kissinger's Diplomacy

An examination of America's response to this 1973 war includes Egypt's and Syria's divergent aims, Kissinger's diplomatic efforts during and after the war, and the legacy of that diplomacy for future peacemaking.

31 min
Carter & Camp David
14: Carter & Camp David

A thorough look at President Jimmy Carter's efforts to broker an Arab-Israeli peace settlement examines an assessment of the Camp David process and the divergent ways in which Arabs, Israelis, and Americans have interpreted that experience.

32 min
The Iranian Revolution & the Hostage Crisis
15: The Iranian Revolution & the Hostage Crisis

A quarter-century of simmering resentment against the U.S. boils over in revolution, topples the shah, sets the stage for a prolonged hostage crisis, and virtually ensures the outcome of an American election.

28 min
Era of Limits-Energy Crises of the 1970s
16: Era of Limits-Energy Crises of the 1970s

The oil shocks of the 1970s are strongly felt in the West, but also force changes that eventually bring the oil-producing nations of the Middle East face to face with a hard new reality.

31 min
The Soviet Invasion of Afghanistan
17: The Soviet Invasion of Afghanistan

The Soviets' 1979 invasion of Afghanistan has far-reaching implications for both the Soviet Union and the U.S., whose support for an Afghan jihad against the Soviet Union attracts tens of thousands of young men to the struggle, including a young Saudi named Osama bin Laden.

31 min
Reagan & the Middle East
18: Reagan & the Middle East

This look at President Reagan's policies pays close attention to his efforts to contain militant Islam, especially in Lebanon, and includes the Marine barracks bombing, the highjacking of TWA Flight 847, and the arms-for-hostages machinations of Irangate.

32 min
The First Palestinian Intifada
19: The First Palestinian Intifada

A detailed examination of the American response to the first Palestinian uprising in the West Bank and Gaza Strip discusses the American revival of the Arab-Israeli peace process and the involvement of the PLO.

30 min
The Gulf War
20: The Gulf War

A look at the first Bush administration's response to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait in 1990 includes America's "tilt" toward Iraq in the war against Iran, the events and implications of Operation Desert Storm, and the controversial end to the conflict.

31 min
The Rise & Fall of the Oslo Peace Process
21: The Rise & Fall of the Oslo Peace Process

An examination of the origins of the Israeli-PLO direct talks looks in depth at the terms of their preliminary agreement, the conflicting explanations for why the process ultimately failed, and what happened in its wake.

32 min
The United States & the Kurds
22: The United States & the Kurds

This lecture traces American relations with this single Middle Eastern people over a long period of time, examining who they are and the role of their aspirations in our own involvement in the Middle East.

31 min
The United States & Osama bin Laden
23: The United States & Osama bin Laden

Osama bin Laden's emergence in the 1990s as a sponsor of anti-American terrorism begins with the Soviet withdrawal from Afghanistan and continues with his formation of the al-Qa'ida network, its escalating campaign, the Clinton administration's sporadic efforts to counter it, and the ambivalent position of the Saudi government.

31 min
September 11 & Its Aftermath
24: September 11 & Its Aftermath

A look at the events of September 11, their aftermath, and Washington's immediate reaction brings the series to a conclusion at the beginning of 2002 and discusses the implications a more ambitious strategic agenda may have for subsequent U.S. policy toward the Middle East.

31 min
Salim Yaqub

Americans and Middle Easterners have more in common than they realize. They're divided by important cultural differences, and conflicts stem from this. But even the bitterest conflicts occur within a common moral framework.

ALMA MATER

Yale University

INSTITUTION

University of California, Santa Barbara

About Salim Yaqub

Dr. Salim Yaqub is Associate Professor of History at the University of California, Santa Barbara. He earned his B.A. from the Academy of Art College and his M.A. at San Francisco State University, continuing on to Yale University, where he earned an M. Phil and a Ph.D. in American History. Dr. Yaqub specializes in the History of American Foreign Relations, 20th-Century American Political History, and Modern Middle Eastern History since 1945. Professor Yaqub is the author of Containing Arab Nationalism: The Eisenhower Doctrine and the Middle East. His dissertation of this work earned him the John Addison Porter Prize and the George Washington Egleston Prize from Yale University.

Also By This Professor