Understanding the Human Body: An Introduction to Anatomy and Physiology, 2nd Edition

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supplement! These lectures have served well as a supplement to my college A&P course.
Date published: 2020-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good title for contents of course This is a great in-depth course that the average person can follow and learn a lot from.
Date published: 2020-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Understanding the Human Body The illustration of the different organs and body could be better. It should be presented in 3D. I think it will be easier to follow the Dr.'s presentation.
Date published: 2020-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dr. Goodman not only knows his stuff, he can keep the participants engaged and eager to learn. He has the expertise and knowledge AND can impart it in interesting manner.
Date published: 2020-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Teacher has excellent technical and teaching skill Gave me a good understanding of how our amazing body works. And I enjoyed it. Somebody without a technical background might have difficulty with some of it.
Date published: 2020-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What all humans should know The presentation style could be considered dated, but to me that was irrelevant. I was looking for good quality content and I got it. It's a bargain at the price now offered.
Date published: 2020-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Understanding the Human Body: A & P I love the videos. The best ever. I use it to teach and re mediate on my Anatomy and physiology course
Date published: 2019-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Outstanding Material - SUBSTANDARD Grap[hics I found this absolutely fascinating and Dr. Goodman is an outstanding professor as far as presenting the material in a logical progression. However, even though it is a 15 year old course, the graphics are substandard to pitiful. The medical images are obviously a key portion of the course and, in and of themselves, they are fine. The problem comes in with the unacceptable graphics production. At first, I thought I was not paying enough attention to see the specific elements that Dr. Goodman was obviously "pointing out." After replaying, I realized that many many times, Dr. Goodman was indicating areas with his cursor that he could see on his scree, but it wasn't duplicated on the video that we see. That is incredibly disappointing. This could have been easily rectified after the first edition. I encourage The Great Courses to do a little more work and make this a 5 star GREAT COURSE.
Date published: 2019-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! for med students and lay people I found this on great courses plus, and was so impressed I bought it. I've listened over and over. I'm an educated lay person (i.e. not a medical professional), and find it accessible yet provides more information than the usual garbage dumbed down for the general public. Detailed and informative. Several times, I've used information when discussing my issues with physicians. These lectures are a great way to go to sleep (e.g. circulation of the kidneys and pancreas - what could be further from the problems in my life?), yet totally engaging when awake and taking notes.
Date published: 2019-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A&P Primer As a paramedic, I keep coming back to this course It is a great refresher. I wish he used a few more slides to visual concepts better.
Date published: 2019-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best instructor Dr. Goodman is the best instructor I have taken. He explains the very complex subject in a way that I understand it without trying to master it. This sums up why I take The Great Courses.
Date published: 2019-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely amazing course! Wow! This Dr. doesn't mess around. He jumps right in with no wasting time, no fluff. Just the way I like it. This course is jam packed with clear, easy to learn info about the human body. I am a lay person and even though they get into some deep medical lingo for some reason he makes it easy to learn. Plenty of pictures and drawings of the amazing body we live in. I can't believe how few people know how the most important machine there is works, your own body. I think this should be common knowledge for everyone. Can't express enough how much I love this course. I've been looking for this kind of information for years and have finally found it.
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Course for Those Interested in Medicine This is one of my favorite courses. The material is fascinating and the lecturer is clearly an expert in his field. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in medicine.
Date published: 2018-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone should take this course Excellent course. Well presented, easy to understand. Everyone should take this course to better understand how the body works and the causes of common diseases and medical conditions. Should be available in high school.
Date published: 2018-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Content Taught by a Great Professor I completed this course several months ago and decided that it was worth writing a review. I am not one to usually author feedback on products, but this is an exception: Professor Goodman has a vast knowledge of medicine (as any surgeon should), and has a wonderful way of articulating his knowledge pertaining to anatomy and physiology. I began this course not even knowing the difference between a tracheostomy and tracheotomy and left being able to explain the portal circulation of the liver. I was shocked by how wonderful and beneficial these courses proved to be! Many thanks to Professor Goodman for making such an insightful course.
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great title I've only viewed about 4 hours of this course, but it's very well done and very, very interesting.
Date published: 2018-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A well put together course plus great presentation Dr. Goodman is obviously a seasoned anatomy professor. He takes pains to keep the viewer calm during the more difficult course material. While I'm sure the detail in this course if less than an anatomy course for students in the medical arts, the course provided me with a solid understanding of anatomy and would provide medical students with a solid context that would facilitate more in-depth learning in a college course. For me, this was just what the doctor ordered... a broad overview with just the right amount of detail. My only beef is that the course is rather old and some recent advances in medicine and biology aren't included. This, however, is not a show stopper. I imagine most people will benefit from viewing this course.
Date published: 2018-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Understanding the Human Body & Modern Electronics I am taking the Modern Electronics & Understanding the Human Body Courses. I tried using the books provided bu in the case of the Human Body, the pictures were not in the book. On another note, I would have appreciated Adobe copies of the text so that I could make notes as I listened to the course
Date published: 2018-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Introduction to Anatomy and Physiology I purchased this coarse several weeks ago, great review of subject matter and increased knowledge learned from sixty years ago when I studied this material. Recommended reading to all adults that are interested in health, theirs and family
Date published: 2018-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome and interesting! Only listened to the first six lectures and can't wait to listen to the rest. Dr.Goodmam is an awesome instructor that is easy to listen to and makes it easy to understand a very complex content.
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding. My highest recommendation. I've been through 8 of the 32 lectures at this point. I can only sing the praises of this course. The material is extremely interesting, the graphics are very good, and most of all I like the presenter. He's knowledgeable, of course, but he is very clear, articulate, down to earth. Not pompous. He just looks like a nice guy. He relates a few personal experiences and you know this guy is the real thing. You'll see him shift in his chair occasionally, look down at his notes periodically, all of which contributes to a very real experience. You'll think you're in medical school. Based on this course I've already ordered another one. If you are at all interested in medical matters, this course is outstanding. My highest recommendation.
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far I am only on the first DVD, but am pleased with the content and like how he reviews the last session when starting the next. I would have preferred that he look directly into the camera instead of looking around the room like he has students. Distracting. Also, the case the DVD's came in is extremely cheap and was broken on the inside when I opened it. My exercise DVD's come in better cases. I will have to purchase separate cases, which on top of the $80 some odd price (that includes shipping) is annoying.
Date published: 2018-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good job presenting information on a big topic I first purchased this primarily for myself in July, 2016, although my partner has watched some of this with me, with great interest. I wanted to be a doctor myself, but was not successful in getting into medical school. I became certified (and still am), as a basic, emergency medical technician. These lectures are very helpful and informative, and I learn(ed) a lot. The professor presents the material in an interesting and sometimes entertaining way, so that, to my mind, the presentation is not too dry. I purchased this again in December, 2017, as a gift for my niece, who became an emergency medical technician also.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Anyone Can Understand Their Body Better I have no special training in medicine. This course gave me a nice overview of how my body functions. It covers common disfunctions and diseases too. The professor gives a very good presentation. There are many, many graphics to help you understand the topic better.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Basic Anatomy & Physiology Introduction This course makes for a great introduction to anatomy & physiology topics; however, if you’re a student of the health sciences and/or a clinician, this course will NOT serve as a decent reinforcement of the real knowledge you need.
Date published: 2017-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In Depth Knowledge of Human Anatomy and Physiology In depth knowledge of human anatomy and physiology that everyone should know. Dr Goodman is a charming gentleman who presents complicated information in a pleasant and gentle manner. Of course everyone should understand how their body works, and should be alerted to problems that might require surgical repair. This is surprisingly profound. Some of the bodily systems, such as the heart, are fairly simple to understand; others like the liver and digestive tract are incredibly complicated. My father was a general surgeon and clinical prof. in Boston, and it is not impossible that Dr. Goodman knew him or even studied with him. I am finding the revelations about what my father did fascinating. I have studied physics and biology as well as other subjects, but this was an entirely different subject.
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Course I purchased this DVD series to give insight to my students of Reflexology into Western Medicine and how systems of the body work and terminology. . Excellent tool.
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This course is full of excellent information I enjoyed this course. It's very well organized and presented. The content is very educational and makes one realize how wonderful evolution is to make complex beings like ourselves. Expect a lot of details. If you do not like details, this course is not for you. The graphics are good, but at times were difficult to follow. The presenter was very informed, as one would expect. His delivery was relaxed and to the point. If you want to learn about the human body and how it functions, take this course.
Date published: 2017-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Basic Pathology/Physiology Course As an RN, I purchased this for family members, so that they may gain some basic knowledge of the body. It is an excellent course and is presented in a way that anyone and any style of learner can learn!
Date published: 2017-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly Enjoying the course This is a terrific comprehensive course on A&P. He goes into sufficient depth and detail without losing folks who may be entirely new to the subject. I'm currently half way through the course and I'm always looking forward to the next lecture. Dr. Goodman's personal accounts and experiences make the course ever more interesting.
Date published: 2017-06-02
  • y_2021, m_4, d_18, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_154
  • loc_en_CA, sid_160, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_teachco
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4.3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Understanding the Human Body: An Introduction to Anatomy and Physiology, 2nd Edition
Course Trailer
Cardiovascular System-Anatomy of the Heart
1: Cardiovascular System-Anatomy of the Heart

This introductory lecture examines the anatomy of the fist-sized muscle that pumps blood through the body. We review the distinction between arteries and veins and discuss the location of the heart, its coverings, layers, and subdivisions.

47 min
Cardiovascular System-Physiology of the Heart
2: Cardiovascular System-Physiology of the Heart

In this lecture, we examine the functioning of the cardiac cycle. We also examine the functioning of the heart's conduction system, the functioning of the valves (which produce the heart's distinctive "lub-dub" sound), and possible complications, notably atherosclerosis.

46 min
Cardiovascular System-Anatomy of the Great Vessels
3: Cardiovascular System-Anatomy of the Great Vessels

This lecture examines the anatomy of the three vessel networks that circulate blood. We identify and describe the structure of the vessels that form these networks. Next, we examine the major circulatory routes for the blood: arterial and venous systemic circulation, pulmonary circulation, and hepatic portal circulation.

45 min
Cardiovascular System-Physiology of the Great Vessels
4: Cardiovascular System-Physiology of the Great Vessels

In this lecture, we examine the physiology of the large blood vessels-how they control blood flow, regulate blood pressure, and control bleeding when ruptured. We will also examine the composition of blood and the functions of each of its parts-plasma, white blood cells, and red blood cells.

45 min
Respiratory System-Anatomy of the Lungs
5: Respiratory System-Anatomy of the Lungs

This lecture examines the anatomy of the respiratory system. After studying the integration of the respiratory system with the circulatory system, we review the anatomy of the structures through which air enters the body and passes into the lungs.

45 min
Respiratory System-Physiology of the Lungs
6: Respiratory System-Physiology of the Lungs

We turn now to the physiology of the respiratory system. We examine the four areas where respiration occurs and the consequences of blocking this respiration. We review the physiology of the movement of gases into the lungs and of their exchange with waste gases. Finally, we turn to the central respiratory centers, and we examine some respiratory disorders and their treatments.

46 min
Nervous System-Anatomy of the Brain
7: Nervous System-Anatomy of the Brain

This is the first of seven lectures on the nervous system. We examine the anatomy of the brain-its principal components and its main anatomical divisions. Next we examine the divisions of the cerebrum and the functional areas of the cerebral cortex.

45 min
Nervous System-Physiology of the Brain
8: Nervous System-Physiology of the Brain

We turn now to the brain's physiology. After considering how the nervous and endocrine systems work together, we review the functions of the nervous system and of nervous tissue. The main divisions of the central and peripheral nervous systems are reviewed. Finally, we distinguish afferent from efferent nerves and describe the categories of cranial and spinal nerves.

45 min
Nervous System-Spinal Cord and Spinal Nerves
9: Nervous System-Spinal Cord and Spinal Nerves

This lecture examines the anatomy and functions of the spinal cord. We review the reflex arc, which allows the body to react rapidly to changes in the external environment. Finally, the lecture examines the categories and locations of the spinal nerves.

46 min
Nervous System-Autonomic Nervous System and Cranial Nerves
10: Nervous System-Autonomic Nervous System and Cranial Nerves

We begin this lecture by examining the autonomic nervous system, which controls the body's basic functions without conscious intervention by the higher brain centers. We distinguish between the parasympathetic nervous system, which promotes rest and recovery, and the sympathetic nervous system, which promotes "fight and flight." Finally, we will review the 12 pairs of cranial nerves and ...

45 min
Nervous System-The Eyes
11: Nervous System-The Eyes

This lecture examines the eyes. We examine the anatomy of the eyeball, its coverings and functions, and the photoreceptors of the retina that allow us to perceive shades and colors of light. We also review the structure and functions of the lens, eyelids, lacrimal glands and ducts, and extrinsic eye muscles. Next, we consider how the eye perceives light and how the brain converts those perceptions...

45 min
Nervous System-The Ears, Hearing, and Equilibrium
12: Nervous System-The Ears, Hearing, and Equilibrium

We examine the anatomy of the organs of hearing: the external ear, the eardrum, the tympanic cavity, and the labyrinth. Next, the lecture reviews how these structures gather and transmit sound waves to the brain as nerve impulses. Finally, we examine the anatomy and functions of the vestibular apparatus, structures in the inner ear that govern balance.

45 min
Nervous System-Memory
13: Nervous System-Memory

This lecture examines memory and brain pathology and provides information about anesthesia and pain. First, we examine the nature, development, pathology, and mysteries of memory. We then examine kinds of damage to the brain and spinal cord and the results of such damage. We conclude by discussing anesthesia and referred pain.

46 min
Digestive System-Anatomy of the Mouth, Esophagus, and Stomach
14: Digestive System-Anatomy of the Mouth, Esophagus, and Stomach

This is the first lecture in a six-lecture examination of the digestive system. We examine the structures through which food passes before its conversion into nutrients for the body. We conclude by reviewing the four divisions of the stomach and its layers.

46 min
Digestive System-Physiology of the Mouth, Esophagus, and Stomach
15: Digestive System-Physiology of the Mouth, Esophagus, and Stomach

Having studied the anatomy of the mouth, esophagus, and stomach, we turn now to the processes of digestion, absorption of nutrients, and excretion of waste products. This lecture examines mechanical then chemical digestion. Next, we examine the three phases of gastric secretion, and the process of gastric emptying. Finally, we consider stomach and digestive disorders and their treatments.

45 min
Digestive System-Anatomy of the Pancreas, Liver, and the Biliary Tree
16: Digestive System-Anatomy of the Pancreas, Liver, and the Biliary Tree

This lecture examines the anatomy of the pancreas, liver, and gallbladder. First, we examine the gross and microscopic anatomy of the pancreas. We turn next to the liver. The location, size, and blood supply and routing of the liver are reviewed. Finally, the lecture examines the gallbladder and biliary tree-the duct system that drains bile from the liver into the gallbladder and the duodenum.

45 min
Digestive System-Physiology of the Pancreas, Liver, and the Biliary Tree
17: Digestive System-Physiology of the Pancreas, Liver, and the Biliary Tree

This lecture reviews the functions of the pancreas, the liver, and the biliary tree. The pancreas and liver secrete digestive juices and enzymes that aid in digestion and absorption. In this lecture, we review the components of the exocrine pancreas. After reviewing several pancreatic disorders, we turn to the liver and examine the various functions that it performs. We conclude with a review of c...

45 min
Digestive System-Anatomy of the Small Intestine, Colon, and Rectum
18: Digestive System-Anatomy of the Small Intestine, Colon, and Rectum

We turn now to the anatomy of the organs in which nutrients and water are extracted for use by the body and by which the resulting waste material is excreted from the body. The small intestine is the organ in which most of the absorption of nutrients and water occurs. We review its anatomical divisions, blood supply, and microstructure. We turn next to the large intestine, or colon, which absorbs ...

45 min
Digestive System-Physiology of the Small Intestine, Colon, and Rectum
19: Digestive System-Physiology of the Small Intestine, Colon, and Rectum

This last lecture on the digestive system examines the physiology of the small and large intestines and the rectum. First, we examine mechanical and chemical digestion in the small intestine. We turn next to the large intestine or colon, examining the reflexes that move feces into and through the colon for excretion. Finally, we examine the physiology of defecation.

45 min
Endocrine System-The Pituitary and Adrenal Glands
20: Endocrine System-The Pituitary and Adrenal Glands

This is the first of three lectures on the endocrine system, the glands that secrete hormones directly into spaces surrounding cells. We examine the functional differences between the endocrine and nervous systems, and the basic properties of hormones. Next, we look at the most important endocrine glands: the pituitary gland, the hypothalamus, and the adrenal glands.

46 min
Endocrine System-Pancreas
21: Endocrine System-Pancreas

This lecture examines the endocrine functions of the pancreas. As an endocrine organ, the pancreas produces insulin and glucagon. After reviewing the four cell types composing the endocrine pancreas, the lecture examines in detail several insulin-related disorders: two principal types of diabetes mellitus and hyperinsulinism.

45 min
Endocrine System-Thyroid and Parathyroid Glands
22: Endocrine System-Thyroid and Parathyroid Glands

This lecture examines the thyroid gland and the parathyroid glands. For each, we briefly review the gross and microscopic anatomy, its physiology, and the consequences of dysfunction. Thyroid dysfunction can lead to cretinism, myxedema, Graves' disease, and other pathologies. Parathyroid dysfunction can lead to disorders including bony demineralization, high calcium levels, duodenal ulcers, kidney...

45 min
Urinary System-Anatomy of the Kidneys, Ureters, and Bladder
23: Urinary System-Anatomy of the Kidneys, Ureters, and Bladder

This is the first of two lectures on the urinary system. We examine the anatomy of the kidneys, the ureters, and the bladder. We consider the kidneys' major functioning unit-the nephron. The lecture concludes by reviewing the conduits through which urine passes before excretion from the body.

45 min
Urinary System-Physiology of the Kidneys, Ureters, and Bladder
24: Urinary System-Physiology of the Kidneys, Ureters, and Bladder

This concluding lecture on the urinary system examines the physiology of the urinary tract organs, especially the kidneys. The primary function of the urinary system is to maintain the body's homeostasis. This lecture focuses on the physiology of the nephron and how it filters many of the blood's components, reabsorbs some, and removes others. The lecture concludes by briefly reviewing the physiol...

45 min
Reproductive System-Male
25: Reproductive System-Male

Lecture 25 is the first of three on the reproductive system. We examine the gross anatomy of the male reproductive system. The scrotum contains the testes, which produce spermatozoa. The lecture also reviews the functions of the prostate and Cowper's glands, the process of erection and ejaculation, and the composition of the semen.

45 min
Reproductive System-Female
26: Reproductive System-Female

This lecture reviews the female reproductive system. We begin by reviewing the anatomy of the external female genitalia, and the vagina, uterus, fallopian tubes, and ovaries. Next we consider the physiology of the menstrual cycle, fertilization, and early pregnancy. Finally, we examine the anatomy and physiology of the breast, the risk factors and treatments for breast cancer.

46 min
Reproductive System-Physiology of Genetic Inheritance
27: Reproductive System-Physiology of Genetic Inheritance

This lecture examines the physiology of genetic inheritance. It begins by identifying the differences between DNA in somatic and germ cells and between genetic and inherited changes in cell DNA. Next, it distinguishes between types of cells and reviews allele inheritance and the sex chromosomes. We examine several developmental abnormalities related to digestion, respiration, and cardiovascular ac...

45 min
Musculoskeletal System-Physiology and Physics of the Muscles
28: Musculoskeletal System-Physiology and Physics of the Muscles

In this lecture, we will examine the physiology and physics of the muscles. There are three kinds: skeletal, smooth, and cardiac. The muscles are innervated by motor neurons, which stimulate them to contract. Nerves connect with target muscles by means of a neurotransmitter, which conducts the electrical stimulation from the nerve to the muscle across the synaptic gap. The lecture concludes by exa...

45 min
Musculoskeletal System-Anatomy of the Muscles
29: Musculoskeletal System-Anatomy of the Muscles

In this lecture, we examine how muscles operate as levers in conjunction with the bones. We review the names of the muscles, as indicated by their size, shape, orientation of their fibers, mechanical action, number of origins, origin and insertion points, function, and location.

45 min
Musculoskeletal System-Bones
30: Musculoskeletal System-Bones

In this final lecture on the musculoskeletal system, we examine the divisions and functions of the skeletal system. First, we consider the gross anatomy of the bones, marrow cavity, blood supply, and surface markings. Next, we examine the cells that compose the bones. Finally, the lecture reviews kinds of bone fractures and their treatments.

46 min
Immune System-Anatomy and Physiology
31: Immune System-Anatomy and Physiology

This lecture examines the body's mechanisms for defense against invaders. The main components of the immune system are T-cells, B-cells, natural killer cells, phagocytes, and major histocompatibility complex antigens. The lecture also examines the ability of B-cells and T-cells to memorize past immunological responses and reviews clinical applications: transplantation surgery, HIV/AIDS, and autoim...

46 min
The Biology of Human Cancer
32: The Biology of Human Cancer

In this lecture, we will examine the subject of cancer. We will see how the fragility that allowed us to evolve has saddled us with susceptibility to mutations that can cause cancer. We examine environmental causes of cancer: chemicals, physical agents, and biologic agents, as well as the mechanisms that lead to the basic definition of cancer: failure to differentiate, potential to invade, potenti...

47 min
Anthony A. Goodman

It is the greatest gift to be able to explore the ever-changing outer edges of science and share them with my students.

ALMA MATER

Cornell Medical College

INSTITUTION

Montana State University

About Anthony A. Goodman

Dr. Anthony A. Goodman is Adjunct Professor of Medicine at Montana State University and Affiliate Professor in the Department of Biological Structure at the University of Washington School of Medicine. He earned his B.A. from Harvard College and his M.D. from Cornell Medical College and trained as a surgical intern and resident at the University of Michigan Medical Center in Ann Arbor. He completed his surgical training and served as chief resident at the Harvard Surgical Service of Boston City Hospital, the New England Deaconess Hospital, the Lahey Clinic, and Cambridge City Hospital. For 20 years, Dr. Goodman worked as a general surgeon in south Florida and served as Clinical Associate Professor of Surgery at the University of Miami School of Medicine. In addition, he served as a surgeon with the U.S. Army Medical Corps and on the hospital ship for Project HOPE. He was also Visiting Professor of Surgery at the Christchurch, New Zealand, Clinical School of Medicine. Founder of the Broward Surgical Society, Dr. Goodman is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and a Diplomate of the National Board of Medical Examiners and the American Board of Surgery.

Also By This Professor